We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kingsbury Colombo
Nearby Hotels
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Cinnamon Grand
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Colombo(Colombo)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Samudra Colombo(Colombo)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,939)
Filter reviews
1,939 results
Traveller rating
802
689
243
105
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
802
689
243
105
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungeharbour courtocean restauranthigh teasri lankaport citydutch hospitalrooftop barconstruction siteconstruction workchinese restaurantluxury hotelindian oceangalle facebreakfast buffet isbeautiful hotelsea view
Filter
Updating list...
1,338 - 1,343 of 1,939 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Strongly recommend this hotel for all kind of activities

They have excellent rooms with acceptable size

Rooms furniture excellent

They have high standards Of SPA with experience staff

Their open buffet excellent in huge area in/out door

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Oufiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Nice hotel, but fitness opens at 6 am (not convenient when you travel through time zones) and the view from the pool was not as nice since there was a huge pile of ruble on the beach. Staff member who works at the pool bar tried a scam at the ATM just opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is my first time in Sri Lanka (work/play). I had researched and read a couple of reviews when trying to choose a hotel and i found this one tick most of the boxes.

On our arrival at the Kingsbury Hotel i was pleasantly surprised as i was not expecting the lobby or service to be what they had portrayed in the pictures on their website, but that is exactly what it is like. Polite and helpful staff at the check in desk. We had a hiccup on check in (not their fault) but they were very accommodating, they took us to a room in which we could refresh and wait until the room we had actually booked was ready for us. Dylan, one of the floor managers at the hotel, was especially helpful. Nothing was too much for him. Ask for him. Very competent.

The rooms; I had booked room 601 this is a double suit room. the bed is facing the ocean, with uninterrupted views! Absolutely amazing. The beds are comfortable, the TV was a samsung flat screen and they had a good selection of channels and an even better selection of movies.
On our first night, we had experienced the thumping lots of previous Kingsbury Hotel guests complained about, but because of you guys and your reviews we were sure not to take a room underneath the SkyBar. Our room was on the 6th floor on the other side and the noise was minimal. My husband is a light sleeper and he knocked out, which says a lot lol.

The food, I myself am not a big curry fan, so yeah probably in the wrong country! hahaha...I didn't suffer, great choice of international food at the hotel, if you don't like their food you could always go to the neighbouring hotels and grab something there, the Hilton is literally a hop skip and jump away.

The Laundry service; very attentive, in fact i got two separate phone calls and a room visit from the laundry service to double check on certain pieces of clothing! Didn't get that service at the Burj Al Arab!

The Spa, DO NOT GO FOR A FACIAL, its not what you think it is. My friend went for a facial and was very upset. She said they had used baby oil on her face after she had specifically asked her therapist not to!
I had an Aromatherapy massage, not great but it helped with the muscle tension.

You must do the city tour, ok, it won't change your life but its a nice trip around and if you have a good guide you'll learn quite a lot about he history of the country...etc. You will finish Colombo in one day.
Your guide, if organised by the hotel will promise to take you to the "best of the best" I am a Gemologist and the places he took us for Gems, was not worth it at all, especially for the price they were asking! Be sure to ask for a guide from the GEM ASSOCIATION to go with you! you'll find them in the Trade Centre. If for whatever reason you are unable to do that don't buy the gem until you get it authenticated at the Trade Centre, its a free service and only after you get a certificate of authenticity should you go a head and buy it. When you get back to your country get it tested again! just incase.

In general, it was a good trip and hopefully next time i will get the chance to experience some other parts of Sri Lanka.

PS. check local festivities before booking Sri Lanka, we unfortunately, came on their new year and basically nothing was open!

In short i would stay at this hotel :)

Room Tip: room 601 not very noisy, spacious, sunny. bathroom comes with a bath and shower. room 603 spacious semi ocean view (it is advertised as an ocean view room) but in actual fact its not a total ocean view. quiet, sunny. if you don 't have the book "Tripin Sri Lanka" in your room on arrival please ask for it, it will help you organise day trips...etc. in fact buy the book and take it home with you.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank That_Je_Ne_Sais_Quoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Visited during the long holiday in colombo and the hotel is plush and modern and without doubt is the top star class hotel in colombo. Always get a room facing the 'galle face' as the rear harbor view is having some reclamation of the sea, so it makes you feel a bit dull.
Check in staff were a bit rusty and did not fulfill my initial reservation request of adjoining rooms, however the staff at the restaurant really made up for it.
Every other department really prove what they are trying to prove- 'Srilankan hospitality' only if they could improve the variety of there choice at there main restaurant I.e add some Srilankan options and polish the check-in staff will surely benefit the hotel as many competitors are due in the near future.

Will I return- DEFINETLY if the opportunity does arise as I live 2km away from the hotel

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank FiyazIsmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Seven of us visited Sri Lanka as holiday from 04/04/2014 to 06/04/2014. We stayed at the Kingsbury. We had booked 4 rooms. We were pleasantly surprised by the view and the hospitality at the hotel. The buffet spread is one of the best I have ever enjoyed. The addition of the local cuisine in the spread was a welcome change to the regular buffets I have had in other hotels. The rooms are amazing and well planned. The beds are very comfortable and the air-conditioning was perfect. The view was brilliant. We could see the city and also the beach from the huge window.

The staff is amazing. I would like to acknowledge Ms.Vajra from the front desk office in helping us in accommodating my group on the same floor, even though there was some confusion in our booking. When the confusion popped up and I showed a little discomfort, she stepped in and made sure we got the rooms on the same floor as we had requested and all of us got smoking rooms. Thank you Ms.Vajra your help is much appreciated.

Even at the Bar, in the lobby, Mr.Gayan was a great attendant and made us really comfortable. At the bar they serve "Tapioca chips" along with the order, and we all loved it. We requested him to give us some for the room, and he was very kind and sent us generous amount of the chips to our room, where we continued our drinking spree.

The room service and house keeping were also prompt and provided what ever we asked for. the stay was truly comfortable and the hospitality very good.

At the hotel, the toiletries are from, "BVLGARI", which surprised us, and the stuff is great. we requested the house keeping to give us a few extra gels and creams and they did, and guys THANK YOU so much.

Am sure everyone wants a room with the view and here at Kingsbury you cannot go wrong with any room. but nevertheless, in my opinion, on all the floors the rooms to the left of the elevators are the best, room numbers 605, 607,609,611. and the same for all the floors. I was in the room number 607, and was amazing.

The pool is great, but sadly during our stay it rained through the day and we could not use the pool. And also couldn't visit the beach due to the rains.

The hotel is close to all the action of the city, the Dutch Hospital, the malls, the odel and the house of fashion and the BEACH, etc.

The hotel is close to the Secretariat and the President's residence, so it is a very high security area.

On the whole an amazing and memorable stay and once again, Thank you team Kingsbury to make our stay comfortable and hassle free. We had a great time at your hotel.

Room Tip: any floor but the room numbers ending with 05,07,09,11. In order of preference.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YogeshMadhwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews