We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremelly Disappointed, will not recommend”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at the Suite room 710, The website claims
"With breathtaking views of the ocean and the lush expanse of the Galle Face Green, and bathrooms equipped with a Jacuzzi overlooking the sea" actually the room did not have the lush expanse of the Galle face green and the bathroom was not overlooking the sea.
The website states" Daily Bowl of Fruits & Chocolates
International newspapers & magazines" but there was none of these, when I checked with the reception they said they will send immediately but even after complaining to the manager it took more than 1 hr to receive the so called Bowl of Fruits & Chocolates I was shocked to see a plate with a few Sri Lankan sweets and one green apple. The shower cubicle was too small and door opens inwards and you have to step away so that you don't get knocked off by the door as you open it. The morning buffet was another big disappointment the dishes were barely filled, most of the chaffing dishes were empty and they did not bother to refill even when requested, the egg station had a Que with more than 10 guest waiting and it took 1/2 an hour to get my egg omelet, hoppers I had to forgo because there was no way of getting one due to the crowd, the auto closing lids of the chaffing dishes kept closing before we could pick up the food, it needs to be repaired, the staff in the restaurant were very rude.

Conclusion: misleading web site information, bad service, rude staff, worst dining experience.

Room Tip: Not in a position to recommend a room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prakash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
There are newer reviews for The Kingsbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had a great experience in the high tea at kingsbury. Atmosphere and the location is good. Enjoyed the food and services are great. But the price will high on the high tea. Overall the high tea is good and feel to come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sashika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The pluses: This hotel is absolutely stunning and in a good location near the ocean. The view from the Sky Lounge is spectacular. The lobby is very attractive, with black and white marble, fresh flowers and chandeliers. The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner were spectacular and of good value. The Sri Lankan options were delicious, and I was thrilled to get good cheese and bread, not easy to come by in Southeast Asia. The infinity pool is large and inviting but the temperature of the water could have been a few degrees cooler. As others have mentioned, the view of the ocean from the pool has been obscured by huge boulders, but that is not a real issue. The staffs were very friendly, and the travel desk was very helpful and booked me a reasonably priced car/driver for a one day excursion. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was more than adequate.

A few minor issues:
1. The hotel asked me upon checkin whether I intended to use the minibar. I told them it was hard to say as I was planning a several day stay. They then locked the minibar because I didn't leave a deposit. I realized the minibar was the only refrigerator in the room and I wanted to use the fridge, so I called housekeeping who unlocked it for me without a deposit. Do they really think that guests who are paying high prices for the rooms are going to abscond without paying for their cokes and mini vodkas? It is ridiculous to lock the minibar and deprive guests of use of the refrigerator.
2. The pool boys never once came and asked me if I wanted to order any drinks or food, even though I spent several hours by the pool each day, over a period of several days. If I wanted anything, I had to get up and walk up the stairs to their station to ask for it. Why not ask the guests if they need anything, while walking by to serve food to the customers?
3. It seemed to me that the security could be beefed up a bit. The pool faces a main road, and there was a lot of traffic going by, including foot traffic, military and civilian vehicles. Nothing really separates the road from the pool, and it seems there is a lack of security there, as the passers by can just stop by the roadside to see the pool action. There should be more privacy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eramakri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I am a regular traveller to Sri Lanka and choose to stay at this hotel for 3 nights, with a tour group. Check in was smooth as we arrived about 2:00am. Room are nice, small and a little claustrophobic but the king size bed was very comfortable. Bathroom is tiny and not much room to put your stuff, but a lovely rain shower. TV control. Is a nightmare and very difficult to negotiate, they have a frame around the tv and I don't know wether this impedes the effectiveness of using the control. I did talk to others in my party and they also complained about this. Breakfast is ok, with a satisfactory assortment, but the service is not up to standard. Had to ask for tea and coffee three times, before a cup was placed in front of me. Only one cup, even though all six on the table had asked for coffee/tea. The foyer of this hotel is impressive, but the staff do not seem happy, not friendly at all. We spent the day at the pool, very big and impressive pool, limited shade and very exposed area. Service in this area not to bad, however encountered a very big overcharging problem and a manager then refunded a very large sum of money to our party. Not good at all.
We also witnessed an argument in front of guests of the bar boys. No manager on sight to sort them out. In room bar fridges were locked and at no time was it explained at check in the they require a fee to open them. Charges to room, at the start of our stay were not allowed, cash only. We then spoke to management to work this out but it took two attempts for this to be cleared up.
Skybar is a good venue and very enjoyable, spectacular view.
Overall this hotel has a long way to go . Overall friendliness of staff needs considerable in house training to match up to other hotels In the near vicinity. Not sure if I would bring another tour group here?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grubbaangaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Hotel is the heart of Colombo city and right of the sea shore.View from hotel is breathtaking rooms are very nice and comfortable.Swimming pool is a must visit place in the hotel.
Staff is vet cooperative and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hrishikesh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to Sri Lanka. Rooms were small but comfortable and clean. Pool area is nice and there's a café that provides snacks at reasonable prices. We ate here one night (buffet) and it was ok. Breakfast good in the morning with plenty of choice. It does feel like you've gone back to another age here. Perfectly suitable for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The Kingsbury is a delightful experience. It has an old colonial feel but is also very modern and has been renovated to a very high standard. The pool was lovely and the room was great.

We ordered room service for breakfast and lunch and both times it turned up cold which was a shame but it was still tasty. My suggestion would be to supply slightly harder pillows as they only had feather and very soft pillows so an alternative would just make the hotel that much more accommodating!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Kingsbury as a great choice for your Colombo stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poshw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#9 of 54 in Colombo
2,209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,073 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: £110 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing