We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobby Coffee Shop”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Yesterday(26/6/14) again we went there in the afternoon round about 2-3pm. Ordered tea with cheese croissant. Your staff serves tea and goes away without giving any sugar!! got up and asked for the sugar, waited till the tea got cold, and asked where is my croissant, all the staff looked at each other’s face and they had no clue because the person who took the order was not there. when I got my croissant my husband ordered salmon sandwich and It was my husband's first meal of the day. Guess what the Bread was hard like a rock. By this time I got furious called the manager really really blasted at him. I know it was not his fault. the staff who served that should have at least had a decency to check before serving. Manager apologized and offered my husband to go for a high tea, instead of getting him a fresh meal. We really had no much time to spend for the high tea,

FOR GOD SAKE WHY CAN'T THE MANAGEMENT TRAIN YOUR STAFF??? WHY CAN'T YOU HAVE MYSTRY GUEST PROGRAMME?? SO THAT YOU KNOW WHAT IS HAPPENING IN YOUR OWN HOTEL?? WHY THE MANAGEMENT IS STILL SLEEPING?? WHY WHY WHY??

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sheena S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Kingsbury. I am sorry to hear about your experience at our high tea. I have taken up this matter with my Director of Food & Beverage and he will be looking into further staff training, thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is my last night in Sri Lanka. The foreground of Mr Look very ugly, very impatient. Room has a heavy smoke, a woman came, and his face too ugly... After a difficult communication, finally change the room. The room was very noisy and late into the night, heard about the wedding held in later. The faucet in the bathroom just fell off, just can use after maintenance. The mini bar is locked. The feeling is very bad.

Room Tip: Quiet room, the air is fresh
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xingruomuyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Xingruomuyue,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Kingsbury. I am sorry to hear about the problems you faced at the hotel. Rest assured that I will be looking into your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back if your travels do bring you back to Colombo.


Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Summary :

Kingsbury hotel is located in an outstanding location in the heart of Colombo and right next to the ocean. in usual reviews you look for what is available or offered in the hotel, well for this hotel you need to revers the question to what is NOT available ,, for me I tried my best to challenge them but they fulfilled all my requests and gone beyond my usual expectations.

Services & Facilities:

Well as I said I cannot type all what they have but I can say you might not need to get out unless you have a planned trip or site seeing day out.

Details:

" Offering guests unparalleled comfort and opulence encompassed in a classically designed property along with a team of professionals set on delivering the highest levels of service.We invite you to unfold memorable experiences with us. " -- This statement is one of the first thing you see when you visit the Kingsbury website, for me I thought its a usual attraction sales statement, however, I found out that this statement is just only the summary of the reality .

Very professional well-trained staff is just waiting for a sign from you to fulfil your request/demands with a great smile.

variety of activities, dinning options, relaxing areas, etc are available, the SPA is just one of the outstanding luxurious facilities in this hotel that will amaze you.

Room Tip: ask for Sea view rooms 5th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK-Abouasleba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Mr AkBlack,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Kingsbury. I am glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations and that you really enjoyed you stay at our hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back if your travels do bring you back to Colombo.


Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went to the Harbour Court restaurant for dinner for 4 and it was much more than I expected. We had our weeding at the Kingsbury in 2012 and although the food was extremely good the wedding coordinator was horrible. But the dining experience this time was flawless with the staff extremely attentive and friendly. The food is always the best feature at Kingsbury so I was not disappointed on that area. Have to say the Harbour Court staff is excellent perhaps the event coordinators could use the same training!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank RanganaRadini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear RanganaRadini,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Kingsbury. I am glad to hear that you had a nice experience at The Harbour Court.

I am sorry to hear about the coordinator who handled your wedding event in 2012, it's a while back for me to take any action not knowing the staff concerned. Rest assured that this was a one off rather than the norm at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Kingsbury.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Certainly a nice looking hotel but the amount of noise which kept us awake until 1am is completely unacceptable for a hotel of this calibre and price range.

Extremely loud music from a function upstairs kept us awake until midnight and then after that what sounded like staff maintenance and constant talking in the corridors kept us awake for another hour. The doors have no acoustic seals and the walls appear to be very poorly sound insulated.

When you spend an entire day travelling and all you want to do is sleep, I dont expect to be told that we will have to wait until the function finishes to do so.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Will D,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Kingsbury. I am extremely sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise created by an event held on the 10th floor and the subsequent noise caused by apparent staff etc.

Rest assured that this is certainly not the norm at the hotel, had you let us know this issue on the night, we would have changed rooms for you and upgraded to the next category (although it would have most likely been inconvenient at this time of the night for a room move).

Rest assured that this was a one off rather than the norm at the hotel. If your travels do bring you back to Colombo, we look forward to welcoming you back. Meanwhile, I have kept a profile note in our system about your complaint.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We ate dinner at the Ocean restaurant at the Kingsbury Hotel in Colombo, Sri Lanka on the 30 th of May 2014. It was my mother, Tara Jafferjee's 94 th birthday. We were a table seven persons. Very impressive selection of sea food. Nothing like it exists in Colombo. Pleasure to see true lobsters, not langouste but Hommarde. The scallops were so fresh.
The strawberry margaritas were a picture. Beautifully presented. The stir fry vegetables were perfect.
Service good and friendly. Keep it up.
The ambience and location, lovely. Watching the waves crashing so near was a magnificent sight.
Happy to see Sri Lanka rocking once again. I am a Sri Lankan and live in Karachi, Pakistan.

Room Tip: Did not stay at the Kingsbury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saberatapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kingsbury, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

Indeed we're delighted to receive your compliments and thank you for taking the time to do so.
As mentioned by you, The Kingsbury being the latest 5 star city hotel is making every effort to enhance Sri Lanka's culinary and hospitality standards to bring Sri Lanka on par with the world's best.

Please send us your contact details to mgrccpr@thekingsburyhotel.com as we would like to update you - as a proud Sri Lankan on our progress.

Yours sincerely,
Dinithi Somaratne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The first time we visited the microwave in the coffee shop was broken, so they kept serving people ice cold food, instead of spending just half of one rooms price on a new micro!

The second time i ordered a veg spring roll, and they served me a chicken spring roll!

Finally on our third visit the staff were milling around the counters so we literally couldn't see what items were there, like this was perhaps a roadside cafe, rather than a 5 star hotel!

Either they have the worst staff in the hotel industry in Sri Lanka, or the management is terrible, and don't know how to train them to 5 star standards!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SamAndSheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kingsbury, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

It's with much regret we note your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies in this regard.
We take your comments very seriously and its such input from our guests that help us fine tune our training and formulate employee recognition schemes.

If you could kindly provide us with your contact details to:
mgrccpr@thekingsburyhotel.com
we would very much like to have another opportunity to delight you.

Yours sincerely,
Dinithi Somaratne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#9 of 56 in Colombo
2,349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#8 of 56 in Colombo
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#13 of 56 in Colombo
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: £112 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing