We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Currently sleepless in this "Luxury" Hotel.”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Currently sleepless in this "Luxury" Hotel.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Was waiting to write a comprehensive review about this hotel, but at about 1 am we are being kept awake by banging and metallic noises.
After complaining we were informed that certain things were being moved from the 10th floor. Really at 1 am??
This along with other problems have really disappointed me and I regret my choice of spending 4 nights in this hotel at the end of our trip in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StraightCirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear StraightCirle,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise late at night, my apologies, I have taken this up with the relevant section head.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    594
    211
    89
    84
See reviews for
355
493
86
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at The Kingsbury this week. It's a very beautiful hotel with an amazing location. The hotel staff is very helpful and courteous. Definitely would like to go again to stay at this hotel. All views seem to be Sea facing.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms seem to be sea facing...however take room on 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuragMathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear AnuragMathur,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise about the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This place is a castle. Top notch interior, facilities, comfort and absolute luxury; but the place is extremely jammed and no one has time for no one!

There are back to back functions taking place at the ballrooms and the staff are just too busy. You might be simple ignored as staff gets lost into their chaotic chores! The reception is a mess!

Everything else is awesome!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank salehlzeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear salehlzek,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear your comments about the hotel being "top notch and luxury." It's a very busy hotel at most times of the day and this is a good thing for the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is very nice, the rooms are confortable and nice, and some of them with oceanwiew.
Fantastic poolarea, On 12 etage evening and night bar with a beateful over the ocean and town .
The staff all over is very helpfull and service minded.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Annette S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise especially about the staff (who seem to be getting a bit hit on some posted reviews...)

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Charmless and trying to be an establishment it's not.
Bathroom smelt, corridors smelt of stale smoke.
Over staffed and awful service. Waiters standing around with hands in pockets chatting oblivious to customers
Plenty of better Colombo options

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear MikAllen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am sorry to hear of your complaints, my sincere apologies, we are working on improving our services.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Yes this hotel is beautiful and clean and comfortable but the customer service is TERRIBLE! I stayed here with a large group and when I (a female) asked to change some of the rooms around I was told that I couldn't because it had already been done. The man wouldn't even look at me while I was checking in. I then asked to speak to a manager and was told there wasn't anyone available to speak to. Another man sat next to me to try to work it out and I thought it was done until the rest of the group tried to check in and all the rooms were still allocated as originally done. My partner (a male) asked for the rooms to be changed and was invited to the bar with a manager to work it out. Service was poor in the restaurant and it took atleast 15 minutes to get coffee or tea with breakfast. The massages are overpriced and more expensive than they are in western countries. I just found people to be rude here. Certainly not what I expected of a hotel of this quality. I would not recommend staying here at all.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Christine M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. My sincere apologies for the customer related issues, rest assured that we are working on improving our services.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I had to stay 5 days at the Kingsbury and honestly I took some times before to book because the hotel infrastructures in Colombo are not great due to lack of investment during the last 20 years. So hotels are usually old. Hopefully they are now building 10 new hotels and soon the Shangri La and the Hyatt will open. I thought the Kingsbury was one of them as newly renovated. To summarise:

Good things: rooms are well renovated. Bed is comfortable .Bathrooms well designed. Big window. Nice location in front of the sea. The pool area. The food.

Bad things: do not look at the details as the renovation has been made quickly. The lobby is busy, noisy with good buffets all around making the impression we are in court food rather than an hotel. Do not book a room at the executive floor as you will be underneath of the disco and you will hear music half of the night. Do not ask anything as if you want to book a restaurant in town, she will ask you the phone number, dial it and pass you the phone to talk directly to them to confirm your reservation! Do not ask for a taxi, otherwise the bell boy will book you am hotel car at prohibitive cost and if you challenge him he will explain that they have received the instruction from their manager not to call public taxis (which are new Toyota Eco Hybrid with meter and not expensive at all). Do not go to the hair dresser as the place smell bad due to lack of aeration. Do not use the gym as everybody in the street can see you sweating and all Spa Staff and Gym Trainers are watching TV there.

This is a real shame as this place could be great with a strong management and a minimum of good taste!

Not recommended at all.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LM009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear LM009,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel and for your comments on your bad experience with customer service. I have taken up the issues mentioned with the relevant section heads. The issue with the taxi request has been addressed likewise the Concierge knowledge about the local whereabouts, my apologies for the inconvenience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
2,111 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Property: The Kingsbury
Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing