We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a King Size Living...”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Yes...its feel like you are living in a palace...it is one of the finest hotels and according to me is a complete value for money...The location is perfect and nothing better than a room facing the ocean..The Sky Bar on roof top is superb...I celebrated my anniversary at sky bar and it left a ever lasting memory...

Good Experience
1. Property is like a palace..Rooms are very spacious and good.Go for sea facing room..
2. Sky Bar on roof top...must visit..

Bad Experience
1. Veg food is not at all good..

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms on top floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuj-Ranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Anuj-Ranka,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us such high praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Was waiting to write a comprehensive review about this hotel, but at about 1 am we are being kept awake by banging and metallic noises.
After complaining we were informed that certain things were being moved from the 10th floor. Really at 1 am??
This along with other problems have really disappointed me and I regret my choice of spending 4 nights in this hotel at the end of our trip in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StraightCirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear StraightCirle,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise late at night, my apologies, I have taken this up with the relevant section head.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at The Kingsbury this week. It's a very beautiful hotel with an amazing location. The hotel staff is very helpful and courteous. Definitely would like to go again to stay at this hotel. All views seem to be Sea facing.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms seem to be sea facing...however take room on 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnuragMathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear AnuragMathur,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise about the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This place is a castle. Top notch interior, facilities, comfort and absolute luxury; but the place is extremely jammed and no one has time for no one!

There are back to back functions taking place at the ballrooms and the staff are just too busy. You might be simple ignored as staff gets lost into their chaotic chores! The reception is a mess!

Everything else is awesome!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank salehlzeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear salehlzek,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear your comments about the hotel being "top notch and luxury." It's a very busy hotel at most times of the day and this is a good thing for the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is very nice, the rooms are confortable and nice, and some of them with oceanwiew.
Fantastic poolarea, On 12 etage evening and night bar with a beateful over the ocean and town .
The staff all over is very helpfull and service minded.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Annette S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise especially about the staff (who seem to be getting a bit hit on some posted reviews...)

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Charmless and trying to be an establishment it's not.
Bathroom smelt, corridors smelt of stale smoke.
Over staffed and awful service. Waiters standing around with hands in pockets chatting oblivious to customers
Plenty of better Colombo options

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear MikAllen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am sorry to hear of your complaints, my sincere apologies, we are working on improving our services.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Yes this hotel is beautiful and clean and comfortable but the customer service is TERRIBLE! I stayed here with a large group and when I (a female) asked to change some of the rooms around I was told that I couldn't because it had already been done. The man wouldn't even look at me while I was checking in. I then asked to speak to a manager and was told there wasn't anyone available to speak to. Another man sat next to me to try to work it out and I thought it was done until the rest of the group tried to check in and all the rooms were still allocated as originally done. My partner (a male) asked for the rooms to be changed and was invited to the bar with a manager to work it out. Service was poor in the restaurant and it took atleast 15 minutes to get coffee or tea with breakfast. The massages are overpriced and more expensive than they are in western countries. I just found people to be rude here. Certainly not what I expected of a hotel of this quality. I would not recommend staying here at all.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Christine M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. My sincere apologies for the customer related issues, rest assured that we are working on improving our services.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,257 reviews
1.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: £115 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing