We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel facing the sea and port”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel facing the sea and port”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Modern hotel, quite elegant but at the sae time you wont find the warmth. Rooms are ok, i would recommend room on a high floor facing the sea. Dutch hospital area is just outside the hotel, which is a happening place with good sea food dining options with live music, also some shops in that area. Overall good hotel in a nice location

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasim1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Nasim1975,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    581
    204
    87
    83
See reviews for
345
482
80
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I like the room's style an the stuff are fantastic. However the managers who work at the Sky Lounge could be rude and I honestly don't get the point of not been allowed to wear shorts and sandals in the open roof bar when it's hot even at night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Omar A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I have noted your comment about the dress code at the open air Sky Lounge, valid point. This dress code has since been changed to allow shorts/sandals.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

They apply (almost) international prices but quality, unfortunately, does not follow. Speaking about rooms, what they call a suite is just a big room with a sofa and two armchairs. Forget about separated living room....
Do not get fooled by pictures from their website: from the pool, you have a fantastic view onto a big pile of grey rocks that totally blocks any view you might want to have of the sea, from the "sea view corner suite" as they call it you have unabashed views over concrete platforms overlooking an industrial area. Let's not speak about decoration made out of cheap furniture.
Add to that the fact today they are hosting two big weddings, most of the restaurants are off limit, the noise level in the lobby is unbelievable, with only two elevators at hand, you have no solution other than taking the stairs. All in all, It is a sheer nightmare. Ah, I forgot to mention that all around work is in progress in surrounding building developments so, if you are keen onto drilling, hammering, etc noises, you might enjoy the pool area.
Reception desk is crowded at all times (not by staff!) and any basic enquiry takes ages.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Andyougo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am rather surprised to see your comments on the view from the corner suite, it has the best ocean views. Yes there is on-going land reclamation on a section of the ocean but it does not obstruct the views of the ocean. It's a busy hotel with functions which is a good thing for business, I am sorry that you did not like crowds in the lobby.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Yes...its feel like you are living in a palace...it is one of the finest hotels and according to me is a complete value for money...The location is perfect and nothing better than a room facing the ocean..The Sky Bar on roof top is superb...I celebrated my anniversary at sky bar and it left a ever lasting memory...

Good Experience
1. Property is like a palace..Rooms are very spacious and good.Go for sea facing room..
2. Sky Bar on roof top...must visit..

Bad Experience
1. Veg food is not at all good..

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms on top floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuj-Ranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Anuj-Ranka,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us such high praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Was waiting to write a comprehensive review about this hotel, but at about 1 am we are being kept awake by banging and metallic noises.
After complaining we were informed that certain things were being moved from the 10th floor. Really at 1 am??
This along with other problems have really disappointed me and I regret my choice of spending 4 nights in this hotel at the end of our trip in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StraightCirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear StraightCirle,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise late at night, my apologies, I have taken this up with the relevant section head.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at The Kingsbury this week. It's a very beautiful hotel with an amazing location. The hotel staff is very helpful and courteous. Definitely would like to go again to stay at this hotel. All views seem to be Sea facing.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms seem to be sea facing...however take room on 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuragMathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear AnuragMathur,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise about the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This place is a castle. Top notch interior, facilities, comfort and absolute luxury; but the place is extremely jammed and no one has time for no one!

There are back to back functions taking place at the ballrooms and the staff are just too busy. You might be simple ignored as staff gets lost into their chaotic chores! The reception is a mess!

Everything else is awesome!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank salehlzeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear salehlzek,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear your comments about the hotel being "top notch and luxury." It's a very busy hotel at most times of the day and this is a good thing for the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 50 in Colombo
1,649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 50 in Colombo
2,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#11 of 50 in Colombo
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Property: The Kingsbury
Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing