We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice classic hotel ruined by poor decision making.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice classic hotel ruined by poor decision making.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The is a wonderful hotel. Great location, great rooms, pool and rooftop bar. We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip around Sri Lanka. The hotel was very busy but we were placed in a room on a floor right in the middle of some large families travelling together. We were woken at 6:30am, we had kids running around the corridor! banging on our door, screaming and yelling. We requested to be moved but nothing was done. Many people were waiting to check in upon our arrival, expecting a 2pm check in, however we could not get into our roo until 3:30pm. I get the sense that rooms were filled by whomever complained the most about the slow check in. Our stay could have been easily made excellent by just considering where we were placed in regard to other guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Adam B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you liked the hotel with the exception of the children running around in the corridor and the delayed check in. The hotel was running full over the days of your stay and there were some delays in getting rooms ready (not that the reception staff were slow). I apologize for the inconvenience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    568
    203
    84
    80
See reviews for
335
468
80
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
179 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very beautiful hotel located at the beginning of galle face making a nice stroll by the sea possible. The room and bathroom were flawless. Dinner and breakfast included both national and international cuisine. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Riana M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Once i was there for Lunch on meeting, there after business meeting, Family get to gather my first choice in Colombo city is "The Kingsbury" . In different events they have different atmosphere as well as food drinks etc. Staff was very helpful as well as well trained too.

It was 100% personalized experience.

Room Tip: Best place for business meetings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Hemal M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent visit to The Kingsbury Hotel, for lunch/meeting/family gathering, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you had a good experience with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise for the staff at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virum
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for one night after arriving in Colombo. Unfortunately there is some construction-work between the pool and the beach, but you can still see the ocean while enjoying the pool, so it is not a problem. The staff is helpful and polite and the breakfast was delicious with a vide variety of continental and Sri Lankan dishes.
All in all I would definitely like to go back - it is great place to start your trip with a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rejsende0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Rejsende0,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was in bussiness trip on ocober 2013 .. Every thing was fabulous ,
Reception,,the room ,Hotel restaurent,Location,Looby,Staff,Room service, And if i will have another visit to colombo , sure i will chose it again..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuwaiteiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kuwaiteiah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We state at the the Kingsbury for one night and we were impressed. The hotel is right on the beach and offers a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of the Colombo streets.

The staff were very attentive and the rooms were large and comfortable, with all the usual trappings of a 5 star hotel. We had a view of the beach and sunset, which was nice. The hotel had a good selection of food choices, ranging from in-house restaurants to buffets, with prices sitting a little above the standard for the area. You are also close to the "Old Dutch Hospital" precinct, which has more restaurants including the well know "Ministry of Crab".

The only downside is that there isn't too much else to see in the area and the beach isn't really accessible for swimming or even walking. So expect to grab a tuk tuk or car if you want to explore the city.

The rooftop bar is a great place for a cocktail to watch the sunset, although the cocktail and wine lists are quite limited.

If you are looking for a great hotel with great service and views, this could well be your spot.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the water and avoid the high floors on the weekend, as there is a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Jason H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I went this place to my Cousin brother wedding ceremony, Food is excellent, the staff is well trained, the Hotel was facing to Galle face & middle of Colombo city, swimming pool & restaurant facing to the Indian ocean, but this day some construction going on in Colombo Huber then little difficult enjoy the view of the ocean

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anushke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Anushke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your nice comments about the food and the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Property: The Kingsbury
Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing