We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely situated, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas
Ranked #6 of 156 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our stay in Ceilao Villas was an unscheduled one, forced upon us by the unaccommodating and uncompromising Lake Lodge in Colombo.

Managed by the highly professional and affable Gladwyn, Ceilao offers spacious accommodation and is situated close to central Colombo and a variety of the city's main attractions. Access to the main shopping areas was a priority for my wife whose credit card received a thorough workout at Odels and Paradise Road.

Breakfast at Ceilao is basic but very good. They served the best cup of tea that we had in Sri Lanka - no mean achievement that!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewabu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

We only stayed here one night but were very impressed by the decor the staff and friendly, helpful service. It is a quiet oasis in the bustling city of Colombo, big comfy beds and good food too. The pool is small but adequate. I will definitely be returning here.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jamiesiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The last years I travelled 2 or 3 times a year to Sri Lanka. I stayed at this hotel for my last night in Colombo before I left Sri Lanka in April 2013.
A hidden calm place with only a few rooms not far to all the places of interest and shopping.
If you are looking for a modern designed clean room/bathroom, nice terrace with swimming pool and an excellent service so you have to go there!
Usually they prepare a European Breakfast - I ordered a Sri Lankan - it was no problem at all though it was Buddhist's New Years day.
I enjoyed everything, was really satisfied and will definitely come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

This really is a little gem in Colombo. The hotel is a short tuk-tuk ride from the centre and very convenient for everything. We only stayed one night as we were flying home the next day, but the room was comfortable and clean with a large bathroom. The staff were really helpful and gave us some good tips on where to go in Colombo to get a feel for the city and a great place for dinner. The outside terraces are lovely and perfect for catching a few last minute rays before heading to the airport. The breakfast was also excellent. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandsworthit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Was booked for my last day in Colombo before my late night departure flight.

Very friendly welcome by the staff and manager.

Was booked for their Discovery room but was upgraded to the Classic Room (also on first level). While checking out the well-appointed room (see photos), realised the sliding fill-sized glass panels at the side don't lock properly. I was fiddling with it when the manager and the chef suddenly appeared from outside wondering what I was doing. I believe they wanted to discuss dinner with me (you can either choose from the set menu or get the chef to customise something for you). They verified that the lock has issues and immediately offered their 2nd level Classic Room to me. So onto Level 2 we went.

Wow, what a difference, be it size, design, furnishing, or ambience! Definitely bigger and more cosy and comfy! (See photos) The bathroom is hidden behind one of the full-sized wardrobe doors. Everything seems to be included: aircon, ceiling fan, LCD TV, side table, free wifi...

There's a small pool on the 2nd level and a bigger pool on the first floor.

Dinner was nicely done and ready at my requested time.

Had a comfortable sleep before waking up for my flight out.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank alejakisofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeilaoVillas, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 55 in Colombo
2,022 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 156 in Colombo
804 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highbury Colombo
Highbury Colombo
#17 of 156 in Colombo
319 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#4 of 156 in Colombo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas

Address: 47/1, Jawatte Road | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: £54 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fusion of minimalist design with vibrant and exotic features, this modern day boutique hotel offers you a blank canvas to paint your own, unique experience. Located in the very heart of Colombo, this 6-bedroom hotel provides an escape to a tranquil and peaceful environment that invites you to indulge in all that is refreshing and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing