We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best possible welcome to Colombo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas
Ranked #8 of 150 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Tucked away just of the main streets of the south of the city, you walk through a half-hidden doorway and into another world – peaceful, secluded and intimate. The quality of the service is just wonderful, and nothing is too much trouble. The Villa itself is an architectural gem – the very best of 70's (I'm guessing) funkiness – and the atmosphere is relaxed and informal. Outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

It is a 6-bedroom villa in the heart of the town. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable, tastefully made. Though the best part is the service. We arrived very late in the night, but they reopened the kitchen and offered us dinner. We were a big group of 4 couples with infants and kids, and during the entire stay, the food was made to order. They have a nice little pool and a small garden with seating. Gladwin, property manager, was always available when needed and made our stay pretty memorable.

Room Tip: Room number 1 on the ground floor opens directly to the main pool. Room 3 on first floor is much big...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arpan-chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A small hotel in the south of the city, but still handy to everything you might want to see and do in Colombo. The team at the hotel were really friendly, helping with suggestions of things to see and do as well as restaurants. Great pool, nice rooms, friendly staff. Make it your city hideaway!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We arrived here after a long days travelling from London.
This small hotel offers peace, a good, comfortable room and bathroom. All properly equipped.
The breakfast was good, both European and Sri Lankan. The staff are very helpful and friendly,
We slept very well for the 2 nights we stayed it is quiet here at night. The small pool and patio areas are excellent. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: The two rooms we saw looked excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cally442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were a group of 5 and this was the first hotel we were booked at for our trip to SL. It is a house renovated as a hotel. The rooms were clean, beds were massive and extremely comfortable. One of our rooms opened to the pool and it was the highlight of our stay there. we had a great time at d pool. The bathrooms were clean. The staff were extremely helpful and provided us info on where to go to eat, club etc. The food was decent. Will definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LItty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Everything about our stay at Ceilao Villas was fantastic.
The room was very spacious and modern, with a lovely bathroom and extremely comfortable beds.
We didn't use the pool during our stay but the grounds outside are well maintained and very pleasant to relax in.
The food was delicious. On our second night we chose to have dinner there and it was great - we fell in love with Sri Lankan cuisine there and then.
But the best thing about Ceilao Villas is all the staff there. They were so helpful and accommodating literally on hand for anything we might need and always with a big smile.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ceilao Villas to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We went as a group of 7 and this was the perfect place to begin our holiday of Sti Lanka.
Extremely friendly and accommodating staff who were on hand to help us.
Big clean modern rooms and super comfortable beds.
Handy location to all the tourist sights.
So glad we didn't go for the typical hotel option, highly recommend Gladwin and his team !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#10 of 54 in Colombo
778 reviews
2.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.5 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 150 in Colombo
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas

Address: 47/1, Jawatte Road | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: £52 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fusion of minimalist design with vibrant and exotic features, this modern day boutique hotel offers you a blank canvas to paint your own, unique experience. Located in the very heart of Colombo, this 6-bedroom hotel provides an escape to a tranquil and peaceful environment that invites you to indulge in all that is refreshing and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing