We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & relaxing accomodation”
Review of Palm Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Nest
Ranked #8 of 148 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Excellent & relaxing accomodation”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

During my holiday in Sri Lanka I was at Palm Nest for few weeks and extremely enjoyed the hospitality and service of the hosts. This beautiful house is situated in an excellent neighborhood and it provides a safe heaven for travelers. The double room we stayed was in perfect condition and had great ambiance. The bathrooms and amenities were in excellent condition we had no inconveniences. We loved Anomi's delicious Sri Lankan breakfast of string hoppers. She is an excellent host and helped us with information we needed. We loved every bit of our stay at Palm Nest. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RA19832014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Ravini..

Thank you very much for choosing Palm Nest for your accommodation in Colombo and for taking time for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor and for appreciating our services and hospitality. It was lovely having you stay with us.. We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommending our place to other travellers as well.

We look forward to have you again with us soon.. With Love.. Anomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    33
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
53
37
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Palm Nest advertises itself as a B&B, or homestay. Under that rubric, we expect more than a nice room and bath and a nice neighborhood. We hope for authentic, friendly contact and conversation with our hosts. Regrettably, we found the Palm Nest to be coldly businesslike. Breakfast is an extra $5, and a 10% 'service charge' is tacked onto the advertised tariff. The wi-fi signal is limited to the Palm Nest's dimly lit living room area, where use of a desk or table would have been appreciated. Excellent tuk-tuk service can be arranged; we paid 2800 Rs for half a day's sightseeing in and around Colombo, which is 10 km distant. For half-tariff, we were permitted an extra half-day's use of the B&B's sole guest room while awaiting the one a.m. departure of our homebound flight from Colombo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nworbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Palm Nest is known for its exceptional service, tasty food and the quiet ambiance. Therefore we have taken very serious note of all your comments and assure you that we will work on the same.
We thank you very much for taking time to review your experience with us and wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at palm nest for our first 2 days in Sri Lanka. We made use of their airport transfer, paying around 3000Rs (approx $20) for the one hour journey. Our hosts, Anomi and Vipul, were helpful and lovely company. They provided a beautiful local breakfast, with fresh bananas and dhal a particular highlight. We were given useful advice for the rest of our trip, and had some lovely conversations.
The palm nest is a bit further from central Colombo than other places, but Anomi helped arrange TukTuk drivers to take you to the centre of the city, and this means you can enjoy their peaceful garden rather than be in the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Fergus, How wonderful to know that we have given you an amazing stay at Palm Nest and thank you so much for your wonderful comments with regard to our ambiance,service and Food. It was lovely having you stay with us.. We look forward to have you again with us in the future.. Stay safe on your travels... Best Regards .. Anomi & Vipul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The lady and gentleman running the place are marvelous ! Friendly and helpful. They helped me plan my trip around sri lanka and the maps they provided were if use my entire 9 days. There was a minor incident that i am willing to overlook due to how much i want them to succeed at their small homy business

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MaryamRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Maryam,

Thanks for your positive response. We hope you had a great time in Sri Lanka.. It was lovely having you stay with us. You were so interesting to talk to...We look forward to have you with your friends again in the future.. Stay safe on your travels.. With love - Anomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Anomi and Vipul's homestay Palm Nest for three nights in November 2013. It was a bitter sweet experience for us, as there were some good things but also some not-so-good things about our stay here.
We liked:
- The house: Open, bright and airy interiors and quiet neighbourhood; the room was clean too
- Access to tuk-tuks: Anomi has phone numbers of some tuk tuk drivers, so if you plan to head out you just need to inform her an hour or so in advance
- Sightseeing tips: Anomi is well informed about the tourist spots in the city and gave us some tips, but it would be nicer if she spent more time in guiding the guests like us who are first time visitors to Colombo.

We disliked:
- In our email conversation with Anomi before the trip, she said that she would arrange for our pickup from the airport and it was a "service" that she offered to her guests; but when the cab dropped us at Palm Nest, she just asked us to pay up the cab fare which was close to 2500 srilankan rupees! a total shocker since we thought that "service" meant it was complementary! She should have informed us early on what exactly she meant by "service", whether it is just arranging the cab or paying for it too
- Food: When we reached Palm Nest at about 9.30 pm in the night, we were hungry but did not know where to eat. Anomi did not bother to enquire with us early on, whether we would need dinner that night or not.. but thankfully, she arranged for a tuk tuk to take us to a nearby restaurant which served good dinner. As for breakfast, i must say we were not too pleased with our experience since the portions were quite "measured"
- There was no wi-fi connectivity in the rooms when we were there, we had to use Anomi's laptop to access internet.
- Beds: We got one light blanket each. Maybe it was not supposed to be cold in Sri Lanka in November, but we did feel cold on one of the nights and it was a little late to disturb the hosts asking for blankets. We would suggest that they keep an extra pair of blankets in the cupboard (just in case some guests need it).

Overall, our stay at Palm Nest was a mixed bag, it could have been better. But our stay in Sri Lanka was enjoyable because of the Srilankan peoples' warmth, friendliness and helpful nature.

Room Tip: Discuss about cab fare for airport pickup and drop early on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manis_AD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Palm Nest is known for its exceptional service and the quiet ambiance which it exudes. Therefore we have taken very serious note of all your comments and assure you that we will work on the same and improve where ever possible.

We thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with us and wish you the very best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Anomi made us very welcome when we arrived at her beautiful house which is in a quiet corner away from the hustle and bustle of Colombo. The accommodation is very comfortable .We soon felt part of the family Anomi helped us plan our sightseeing trips and Vipul helped us to get our mobile phone up and running. One of the best things about our stay was the food. Anomi is an excellent cook and introduced us to Sri Lankan breakfasts which we then had throughout our stay in Sri Lanka . Palm nest is an excellent place to stay and we will certainly return if we visit Colombo again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Barbara,

Thank you very much for choosing Palm Nest for your accommodation in Colombo and for taking time for your wonderful review and recommending our place to other travellers as well. We really admired both of you for your very friendly attitude. It was lovely having you stay with us. We enjoyed your company very much.. Looking forward to host you guys again.. Good Luck .. Anomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for 4 Nights (FEB) on our arrival in Sri Lanka, all we can add to the already excellent reviews is that you will recive a warm welcome, good accomadation, and good food, for the price you pay you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi John,

Thank you very much for choosing Palm Nest for your accommodation in Colombo and for taking time for your wonderful review on tripadvisor and for appreciating our service and hospitality.
We look forward to have you again with us in the future..Good Luck - Anomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.4 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
3.8 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#28 of 54 in Colombo
260 reviews
4.0 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#5 of 153 in Colombo
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#3 of 148 in Colombo
381 reviews
3.7 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#4 of 148 in Colombo
90 reviews
4.1 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 148 in Colombo
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Nest

Property: Palm Nest
Address: No. 237/9B, Vijaya Mawatha | Rajamaha Vihara Road, Pita Kotte, Colombo 01100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Nest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an approved BnB and Homestay accommodation provider by the Tourism Development Authority of Sri Lanka under "Superior" category. Licence No. HSU/2013/0023 & Registration No. SLTDA/SQA/HSU/0363Owned and managed by a couple who worked as banking professionals.This is a modern newly built house, 8 km away from Central Colombo located in Administrative capital in Sri Lanka, which gives a a calm and quiet environment and a lot of attractions of exotic birds and the occasional Monkeys who cross overClose distance to Banks, Hospitals, Supermarkets, Restaurants (Thai, Chinese, Indian, KFC, Pizza Hut, Dominos, Mc Donald) and coffee shops, ODEL (Premium fashion store) and other shopping complexes, Ancient temples and churches and also the Parliament Complex and Ferry rides in the Diyawanna Lake.This guest house offers 03 specious, very clean Double Rooms with attached bath. All rooms are featuring Tiled Floor, hot and cold water, Double Beds, Ceiling Fans, Dressing Table, Wardrobe, writing table, chairs, Mosquito Nets, Chairs. Also a large common sitting area and a specious TV Lounge that can be used by all guests. Towels and bed linen is provided and changed on regular basis. Room Rate includes the regular room cleaning and bills.We ensure that all your needs are undertaken and provide you a friendly, caring and secure atmosphere, to make your stay a nice and memorable one. Free advices and guidance on your tour.. Arranging tours according to your budget on your request.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Palm Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing