We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Palm Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Nest
Ranked #7 of 139 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Anomi & Vipul gave us a very memorable stay at Palm Nest. Anomi served delicious breakfast for a very reasonable price of 5 dollars which was cooked very hygienically so we didn't have to worry about any tummy bugs
Travelling was not a problem since Anomi & Vipul arranged tuk tuk from their door step. She advice the driver about the charges so that we don't get ripped off
The room, bathroom, floor area and linen were very clean
The room and the living areas in the house were naturally cooling and we had a relaxing sleep
The rooms are spacious
The location is convenient for all travel sites, restaurants and shops
All areas are bugs free
The house is in a quite, peaceful, clean and secured residential street
The Host's service is excellent
There is small beautifully landscaped garden to sit and relax
It is worth for money considering the service, location cleanliness and the hygiene
Definitely My next stay in Colombo would be Palm Nest again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi Ana..

Thank you so much for taking time to write a wonderful review about your stay at Palm Nest and what a pleasure it is to note that your experience has been fantastic and memorable and has made you want to return to us on your next visit to Sri Lanka.. Your review will definitely helpful for other travellers as well. See you again soon... Warm regards - Anomi & Vipul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    33
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
53
37
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bremen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

After a long train trip from Ella, we finally arrived at Anoma and Vipul's lovely house. As soon as we came in, the heat and stress of the day seemed to disappear. We crunched across the gravel courtyard to our 'nest' and found all we needed in a cleverly designed, clean space. It might be too small for those with lots of luggage, as a spiral staircase is not many steps from the door. But upstairs was a comfy large bed with mozzie net and ceiling fan (which suited me fine but my husband would have preferred A/C). However, once we were settled we were cool and got a good night's sleep. I did feel a bit leery of the stairs when I went down to shower and to use the WC during the night, but am guessing that younger folk would be fine.

Breakfast was very tasty: fish curry and coconut roti, bananas, papaya, and scrambled egg. We didn't meet Vipul, but Anoma was very kind and welcoming. She suggested a taxi firm and gave us the number to phone from a cafe where we had an interview set up later that day, as she wanted to see that we got to the airport on time and without having to pay too dearly. We only had one night at the Palm's Nest before having to fly home, but plan to stay there longer next time and take advantage of Anoma's knowledge of the city and prices.

One example: From Fort station the previous night, our driver spent nearly an hour getting "lost" on the way to Palm's Nest, stopping 3 times for directions. Guess he was hoping for a bigger fare due to his trouble, but Anoma rescued us when she came to the door and said what we had given him was plenty. Next time, we will ask her to arrange transport for us, as she has drivers she trusts and is happy to help with arrangements. She did so in about ten minutes the next morning, phoning a tuk tuk driver to pick us up and take us around Colombo the next day. He was a delightful young man and gave us a great price.
Thanks, Anoma!
N&A, Germany

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rutherwalkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi.. Thank you very much for choosing Palm Nest for your accommodation in Colombo and for taking time for your wonderful review. We loved reading your review of your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and stay with us. We look forward to have you again with us in the future. Stay safe on your travels.. Warm Regards : Anomi & Vipul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Anomi and Vipul, the owners, are a welcoming couple willing to assist on a range of different needs. We stayed there for around 8 nights all together and her help with transport and general organisation wes most helpful. The rooms are perfectly clean and spacious, the bathrooms match these, with a small table in the calm and peaceful back part of the house.
If you need a central base within good reach of Colombo but with very reasonable rates, this is an excellent option. Will certain highly recommend.

Room Tip: Small room outside cute and, both rooms inside big and good for 3..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JV28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi..

Thank you very much for choosing Palm Nest for your accommodation in colombo and for taking time for your wonderful review appreciating our services and hospitality. We really admired both of you for your very friendly attitude. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommending our place to other travellers as well.. Hope to see you again.. Good Luck and Warm regards - Anomi & Vipul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Anomi and her Husband were very accommodating and I have to say that our short stay in Colombo ( 2 nights at Palm Nest) would not have been as rewarding had Anomi not assisted us from the beginning. She organised a nice driver to pick us up from the airport ensuring that we did not fall into the trap of over tipping and being charged inflated rates as soon as we stepped out of the airport.

The house was beautiful and very clean, with the added charm of a birds nest in the living room with little chicks which my 7 year old daughter adored.

Anomi then organised for a local tuk tuk driver to escort us around the city for the whole of the next day so that we could see all that is worth seeing before we moved on to Kandy. It was a very reasonable price and again if it hadn't have been for this we would not have been able to explore and see Colombo to the fullest.

It was a pleasure to stay in such a lovely place with kind and accommodating people, to gain some insider knowledge about Sri Lanka. We would definitely stay again if we pass through Colombo. The only minor drawback was the lack of air conditioning in the room, but then the need for this fluctuated depending on the time of year you are visiting and your tolerance to the heat. My daughter and I were fine however my Husband was a bit hot. Saying that once we were in bed with the fan on full blast we slept fine.

Thank you Anomi for a lovely stay.xx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Candice.. Thank you so much for taking time to write a wonderful review about your stay at Palm Nest, and what a pleasure it is to note that your experience has been fantastic and memorable and has made you want to return to us on your next visit to Sri Lanka.. We loved reading every single word.

We greatly appreciate your support to be on top of Tripadvisor rankings which will generate more business for us.

Looking forward to seeing you and your family again really soon... Please convey our loving regards to your cute little daughter and husband... Wish you the very best in your future travels..

Best Regards.. Anomi & Vipul..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

During my holiday in Sri Lanka I was at Palm Nest for few weeks and extremely enjoyed the hospitality and service of the hosts. This beautiful house is situated in an excellent neighborhood and it provides a safe heaven for travelers. The double room we stayed was in perfect condition and had great ambiance. The bathrooms and amenities were in excellent condition we had no inconveniences. We loved Anomi's delicious Sri Lankan breakfast of string hoppers. She is an excellent host and helped us with information we needed. We loved every bit of our stay at Palm Nest. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RA19832014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Ravini..

Thank you very much for choosing Palm Nest for your accommodation in Colombo and for taking time for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor and for appreciating our services and hospitality. It was lovely having you stay with us.. We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommending our place to other travellers as well.

We look forward to have you again with us soon.. With Love.. Anomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Palm Nest advertises itself as a B&B, or homestay. Under that rubric, we expect more than a nice room and bath and a nice neighborhood. We hope for authentic, friendly contact and conversation with our hosts. Regrettably, we found the Palm Nest to be coldly businesslike. Breakfast is an extra $5, and a 10% 'service charge' is tacked onto the advertised tariff. The wi-fi signal is limited to the Palm Nest's dimly lit living room area, where use of a desk or table would have been appreciated. Excellent tuk-tuk service can be arranged; we paid 2800 Rs for half a day's sightseeing in and around Colombo, which is 10 km distant. For half-tariff, we were permitted an extra half-day's use of the B&B's sole guest room while awaiting the one a.m. departure of our homebound flight from Colombo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nworbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Palm Nest is known for its exceptional service, tasty food and the quiet ambiance. Therefore we have taken very serious note of all your comments and assure you that we will work on the same.
We thank you very much for taking time to review your experience with us and wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at palm nest for our first 2 days in Sri Lanka. We made use of their airport transfer, paying around 3000Rs (approx $20) for the one hour journey. Our hosts, Anomi and Vipul, were helpful and lovely company. They provided a beautiful local breakfast, with fresh bananas and dhal a particular highlight. We were given useful advice for the rest of our trip, and had some lovely conversations.
The palm nest is a bit further from central Colombo than other places, but Anomi helped arrange TukTuk drivers to take you to the centre of the city, and this means you can enjoy their peaceful garden rather than be in the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Fergus, How wonderful to know that we have given you an amazing stay at Palm Nest and thank you so much for your wonderful comments with regard to our ambiance,service and Food. It was lovely having you stay with us.. We look forward to have you again with us in the future.. Stay safe on your travels... Best Regards .. Anomi & Vipul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.4 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
5.7 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#3 of 139 in Colombo
368 reviews
4.1 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 139 in Colombo
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#6 of 140 in Colombo
387 reviews
3.7 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#4 of 139 in Colombo
85 reviews
5.9 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 139 in Colombo
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Nest

Property: Palm Nest
Address: No. 237/9B, Vijaya Mawatha | Rajamaha Vihara Road, Pita Kotte, Colombo 01100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Nest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an approved BnB and Homestay accommodation provider by the Tourism Development Authority of Sri Lanka under "Superior" category. Licence No. HSU/2013/0023 & Registration No. SLTDA/SQA/HSU/0363Owned and managed by a couple who worked as banking professionals.This is a modern newly built house, 8 km away from Central Colombo located in Administrative capital in Sri Lanka, which gives a a calm and quiet environment and a lot of attractions of exotic birds and the occasional Monkeys who cross overClose distance to Banks, Hospitals, Supermarkets, Restaurants (Thai, Chinese, Indian, KFC, Pizza Hut, Dominos, Mc Donald) and coffee shops, ODEL (Premium fashion store) and other shopping complexes, Ancient temples and churches and also the Parliament Complex and Ferry rides in the Diyawanna Lake.This guest house offers 03 specious, very clean Double Rooms with attached bath. All rooms are featuring Tiled Floor, hot and cold water, Double Beds, Ceiling Fans, Dressing Table, Wardrobe, writing table, chairs, Mosquito Nets, Chairs. Also a large common sitting area and a specious TV Lounge that can be used by all guests. Towels and bed linen is provided and changed on regular basis. Room Rate includes the regular room cleaning and bills.We ensure that all your needs are undertaken and provide you a friendly, caring and secure atmosphere, to make your stay a nice and memorable one. Free advices and guidance on your tour.. Arranging tours according to your budget on your request.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palm Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing