We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay for a short trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Reed Boutique Hotel
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Amazing place to stay for a short trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a wonderful time thanks to Arun the manager of the Boutique Hotel. He helped and guided us where to go and what to see in Colombo. He arranged for us a vehicle with driver to bring us to kandy. We were really amazed by his organized skills and honesty. Thanks again for helping us durning our few days stay in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1947Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    28
    10
    5
    13
See reviews for
4
42
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a night with breakfast included and we are satisfied..
we even had an upgrade for a minimal problem..
Arune was very kind and all the staff too.
You even have the chance to.choose Singalese or american breakfast.
we had a good journay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea82trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

+Helpful staff. Special thanks to Mr. Arun Kumar for being so helpful during our short stay in Colombo. Without him Colombo would have been horrible.
+Lovely rooms and lovely hotel!
+Sri Lankan breakfast was great! They even made us sandwiches when we left for the airport :)

If you go to Colombo, stay at the REED Boutique Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristaCMikkiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I booked a room for 4 nights at the hotel on March 2th but had to cancel my booking on April 1st because of an unexpected change in my plans. I booked through Booking.com, which has a no penalty cancellation policy. I was however wrongly charged for my booking by the hotel, and it is now 3 months since the charge but the hotel has still not refunded it. I have been working with Booking.com on this issue, but they too seem to have run into a brick wall with Reed Boutique Hotel. I see that at least one other customer, 1980_verena, has posted a review citing similar problems. Hotel bookings are made in trust. If that trust is not respected, then everything the hotel promises comes under question. I would recommend caution before you give your credit card details to this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Raji M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

An absolutely pleasant stay in this small boutique hotel. Feeling like at home coming from faaaaaaar away.
Arun, very young front desk manager, always competent, helped us to get to discover the wonders of Colombo.
We enjoyed excellent breakfast every morning, from full English to an amazing traditional Sri Lankan.

We'll come back luckily soon!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel Ángel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Unfortunately our whole experience at the Reed Boutique Hotel was a rip off. First of all, I am dealing with credit card issues, as they have charged me for six nights, even though we only stayed one night - so watch out for your credit card details. The bedroom door, that we tried to lock was broken - basically the key that should have locked the door broke. The staff were friendly but only for money. I am very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1980_verena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here on three occasions during our recent holiday to
Sri Lanka. The manager Arun, speaks good English and he and his staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms were, although basic, very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were very good indeed. It was like returning home, when we arrived there for our last night in Colombo. Arun will help with any transport you require. The hotel is tucked away down a side street, off Havelock Road and I definitely recommend having a map with you because the taxi and tuk tuk drivers usually don't have a clue where it is. We used this hotel as a good base for touring Sri Lanka. It is approximately 50 minutes from the airport.

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms, standard and superior. The superior do give you more space but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.1 mi away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#37 of 50 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#27 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Colombo
Casa Colombo
#15 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
2.5 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#30 of 50 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reed Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reed Boutique Hotel

Property: The Reed Boutique Hotel
Address: 291/8 Edward Lane | Havelock Road, Colombo 00500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reed Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Colombo, The REED Boutique Hotel offers six well appointed air conditioned rooms, decorated with Antique Furniture warm colours and equipped with LED TV/Satellite channels, seating area, tea/coffee making facilities and free toiletries. Business Center Free WiFi and Breakfast Included with room. Restaurant with specialty local foods. Tour Desk and Luggage Storage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing