We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull experience.”
Review of Galadari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galadari Hotel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 28 February 2012

we stayed at galadari in jan , we were upgraded to executive floor, visually this hotel is beautifull,also the service and politeness of the staff was very good. I ENJOYED THE BREAKFAST BUFFET.every type of food is served and the quality is great. We had a late nite flight on our check out date , but the lady at the reception was kind enough to let us check out late instead of 12 pm. so we wouldnt have to be checked out with no place to go ,.untill time for the airport. I was very impressed, there customer service is impeccabel.
this hotel is very enjoyable and close to city center. california grill upstairs is also very very good.One of the best hotels in colombo. thank u galadari for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: if u stay in executive rooms u have your own lounge area and your own breakfast place on that floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

i like there food there .nice view from the window

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poseidonsalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is very well located by the sea in Colombo. There is a very nice walk beside the sea where people have foods and rests. Interesting! The hotel itself is getting old and low level of confort since most of furniture and bed should be changed now. The hotel is clean and the room are big with a nice sea view but it does not work anymore... The food at the buffet restaurant for lunch was nice with a good diversity.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank X-O75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Nice, Clean and Spacious rooms. Nice view from the window for front rooms. Service staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Take the front rooms with Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aftabsiddiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The view is great but you cannot expect much from an old 5 star hotel which is not rennovated for a long time and running by government. Size is not as big as other 5 star hotels in other cities in Sri Lanka, even some 4 stars offer bigger sizes. Breakfast Ok, bathroom not very clean! internet is not free and you have to wait few hours for the ISP to check you in after asking lots of security questions! Dinner was OK. Swimming pool good but not excellent! Hotel needs to be renovated. Amenitits are not coniderable like 5 star hotels in South east asia.

for about 100 USD this is ok but they ask more for nothing more!

Room Tip: if you are able to pay 40-50 $ more choose Cinnamon hotel. otherwise, it is a very ordinary low leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayvan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Rooms - old rooms, ancient TV, size is OK.

Bathroom - it took the housekeeping 1 hour to repair a fault in the bathtub. More to this, they came after an hour of followup with the reception and housekeeping.

Buffet - Decent breakfast. Dinner was OK as they did not had any Indian chapati or naan, even though they had dal fry, paneer and other Indian curries.

Reception - Funniest of all, they did not have any hotel info brochure and the receptionist said that they will e-mail me a copy if I want to refer.

Wifi - They charge 5 USD per hour of WiFi.

Location - only positive was the prime location near the beach road and the old parliament.
But the receptionist advised me not to go to the beach road in the evening as it is not "safe". So we ended up sitting in the hotel for the whole evening. In the morning it was very hot and sunny to go to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor rooms with good view of the beach road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundeep_Soni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We spent 2 nights at Galadari Hotel during a private tour (selected by our travel agency, last week of December 2011).
Galadari is ideally located in the Colombo security area, in front of old parliament and at the beginning of the famous Galle Face Walk.
The hotel is supposed to be a 5*-hotel by local standards, which are quite different from South-East Asia standards. Hotel owners should really plan a comprehensive refurbishment.

We appreciated to have 2 connecting rooms with sufficient space.
But hotel rooms are old and not sound-proof (other customers or staff talking in the corridor woke me up in the middle of the night).
The swimming pool is OK with a nice view on the ocean.
Hotel Staff are generally nice and helpful (exception: a housekeeping man came into our kids' room at 8am, without knocking at the door before. When he realised the mistake it was too late ... and he woke our kids up while closing the door).
Catering is correct, though we deeply regretted not finding any true bacon for breakfast.

I am afraid Galadari is just another international hotel without a soul and without anything special.

Room Tip: Always require a room far from any PANTRY (noisy housekeeping staff speaking loudly) and far from el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPaul2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#19 of 54 in Colombo
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 54 in Colombo
1,735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#20 of 54 in Colombo
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Colombo
Ramada Colombo
#22 of 54 in Colombo
541 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galadari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galadari Hotel

Address: 64 Lotus Road, Colombo 10732, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £77 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galadari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desirably located in the heart of Colombo’s the city center, Galadari Hotel excels in modern amenities sophistication and a stunning, unparalleled view of the Ocean...Step-in to be lost in cozy hideouts, pleasurable surroundings and the best of Sri Lankan hospitality... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galadari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galadari Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing