We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience….”
Review of Galadari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galadari Hotel
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 1 April 2014

During one of my official trip, I had stayed at Galadari and my main reason to chose this hotel was that they served Halal Food. Hotel is securely situated near to many official buildings with lots of surveillance and security. Just behind the hotel is the ocean side which is serene with no crowd and apt cleanliness. Hotel itself is quite good although a little old property but well maintained. The buffet breakfast was lavish with many varieties of local ‘sambal’ a Sri Lankan signature dish. The menu consisted other international selections as well which were quite good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

i stay only one night this hotel i think in the past time was 5 star hotel but i think now is 3 star only.
the good things : location is close to beach - food was good .
the bad things : their was no free wifi - the room was old a bout bad condition - out side hotel is too many scammers so be careful - also their is a caution about the staff you will find it inside the room i think its important to read it .
i prefer try to find another hotel .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AHMED-pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here and found the accommodation excellent. The hotel staff are friendly and willing to help at the time. The room did not face the ocean but that is not an issue. The room was clean, bed king size and comfortable. The next most importand feature in room is the shower. This was sufficient. We had an issue with the toilet flushing but it was fixed straight away. There are ample restaurants to choose from and the hotel buffet is awesome. The Blue Margarita bar located in the hotel complex is a must.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HasoClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

As part of our srilankan tour, we had to stay in galadari hotel colombo on March 18th 2014. The location of the hotel and the restaurants are good. But the foremost important part, the room was in very poor condition. The room is pretty old and not at all suitable for a holiday (may be okay for a business trip).
The carpet is pretty old and have the visual signs of its age. The window of the room is having very old fabricated frame and does not open. If you succeed in opening the window, you would not be able to close it. The part of the window frame is broken and I had to get the help of room service to get the window closed. Room service is pretty poor, if you request for any item, no guarantee that it would be available for you. I had repeatedly requested for a fruit knife, but never received. The reception seems to be pretty busy and my calls went unanswered. We had to carry the bags ourselves for checkout. I would rate the overall experience as very poor.
I would never stay in this hotel again and would not recommend to any one who visit srilanka for a family vacation.

Room Tip: Better to avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayamohan_vd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I visited Colombo recently and stayed at Galadari. I would say it is perfectly located right opposite to the old parliament building with a picturesque view of the beach. Spacious room, lavish buffet spread, friendly staff are a plus. We really liked their North Indian restaurant. Though the buliding is a bit old but that is fine given all other pluses.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jai_vish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I've been at Galadari Hotel on a business trip to Colombo. The best thing about this hotel is its buffet. More than 100 mouth watering cuisines. The pub and bar on the ground floor are also good to explore. the band keeps you entertained. The location is also great. Near the Ocean, Parliament all banks. It's the posh locality of Colombo. Staff were also good.

explore streets, beach and some good clubs located nearby.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manish K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

It was my 2nd time on 1st Feb.14. Very fresh, elegant, close to sea & President Palace. You can spend late time at sea side. Rooms are very specious. Good staff & service. Breakfast is full of variety........yummy. Just 1 thing I don't like.......wi-fi is chargeable. But yes I love to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SumantJadhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Colombo
Ramada Colombo
#21 of 55 in Colombo
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#19 of 55 in Colombo
335 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 55 in Colombo
1,853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Oriental Hotel
Grand Oriental Hotel
#36 of 55 in Colombo
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#14 of 55 in Colombo
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galadari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galadari Hotel

Address: 64 Lotus Road, Colombo 10732, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galadari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desirably located in the heart of Colombo’s the city center, Galadari Hotel excels in modern amenities sophistication and a stunning, unparalleled view of the Ocean...Step-in to be lost in cozy hideouts, pleasurable surroundings and the best of Sri Lankan hospitality... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galadari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galadari Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing