We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transit hotel in Colombo”
Review of Galadari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galadari Hotel
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I were given this hotel while on transit in Colombo on our return flight from London to Kuala Lumpur.
The Galadari is a large hotel. We were given a good room with all the amenities.
The hotel in general looks a bit dated (especially the carpets along the corridors and in the room).
Staff are friendly and attentive. All arrangements i.e. airport transfers, meals etc were well taken care of by Sri Lankan staff at the transit desk. We were impressed with the variety of food served at the buffet. However, we found Srilankan dishes rather spicy inspite of coming from a country like Malaysia. My disappointment was there was no free WiFi even at public places. You have to pay for Wifi. In this day and age, WiFi should be either free in rooms or at least at public places. The Galadari is not too far from the city but we did not visit the city as it was raining.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Zainal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at Galadari Hotel on BB basis. Hotel staff was very helpful. We got a room on 4th floor and the view of Galle face from the room was stunning. Room and the washroom was very well maintained and very clean.We have ordered some items from Ala Carte menu and they arrived so quickly.

We were entitled to their international breakfast buffet and that was awesome. We enjoyed the stay very much. i would highly recommend this hotel for a stay which located stunning edge of the Colombo city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Location of the Hotel premises and the surrounding best suits for our needs. The Cocktails after the event was excellent, Also the services provided by the hotel. The Hall (Grand Ballroom, Galadari Hotel) that we choose to host the event is very good, classy. The lighting, space etc .. is very good. I definitely recommend this for my friends also.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuwan4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Emirates kicked us into this hotel when their plane failed in Male... I hope Emirates got a discount... Now there are some good points: Staff - the front line staff could not have been more helpful, however, as soon as you give them a jacket they take on an attitude! Also the location is interesting... and right next to the sea.

Downside, it is VERY old, everything is tired. By no stretch of anyone's imagination could this possibly be a 5 star hotel, by international standards the rooms are, at best, 2* I would choose a UK budget hotel over this. So main issue was when I was checked in I was allocated a room on the 5th floor, which had clearly been taken off for maintenance - the floor - not the room, as the public lift would not stop there! After returning to reception, I got a "better room on a higher floor" - oh dear! Not that much better. However, what really annoyed me was the Hotel was still checking people into floor 5 - totally unacceptable behavior. I suspect they are also charging Emirate for these rooms too.

Everything about it is dated. Any they even charge for wifi!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We Stayed with my Friends in this hotel for 4 days and we enjoyed the Hotel. The Swimming Pool is a must go in the evening and its just beautiful view that will relax you completely. They Serve nice Cocktails during sun set by the Pool.

The Room are nice and Clean, Breakfast is quite good but I felt that they should improve the Menu since I did not see any change in Menu in the 4 days of our Stay. I would not rate this as a 5 Star Hotel but surely it does get quite close to it.The Restaurant on the Terrace is really nice to sit in the evening. I did not go for Dinner there but in the Morning visited the place and it look pretty cool.

The Indian restaurant at ground floor, serves every nice veg and non veg food. They have free Pick up and Drop to the Casino which is a very nice service.

Overall a Good Stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms on Higher floors (9th,10th) & sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_happy_days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I have been to hotels that are better than Galadari but since we are talking about Colombo so, I think that its a great hotel. I was a bit disappointed that my reservation was not there when I reached the hotel. I had to call my tour agent to confirm whether he made the reservation or not. He was all clear from his side and later we came to know that the problem was from the hotel itself. Anyhow, after like half an hour they gave me the keycards and I checked in to my room. The rooms are spacious and we had the Galle facing view room so it was good. Room service was extraordinary with great food. Dining at one of the restaurants named Flavors is a must there. I have never had Indian cuisine that good before. I believe I will stay there again if I get a chance to visit Colombo again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Abeer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Galadari hotel is well placed next to Galle Green and also beside the Hilton. I arrived at the airport at 2am, and a Galadari car taxi driver was there to pick me up and deliver me to the hotel. Usually the cars are much mre expensive than normal taxis (kangaroo etc), and the trip cost alsmot 5,000 rupees, although it does take around 30-40 minutes, so I guess reasonable when you consider the trip.

The lobby and ground floors of the hotel are very nicely presented. I was quickly checked in and the hotel staff were prompt and helpful to assist me, although the main motivation is tipping. My host during my stay ensured my hotel room was upgraded and on the 11th floor (near the top of the hotel) with lovely views and a fruit basket on arrival. The room was clean and tidy and nicely presented, although the master control of electricity outlets and lighting was a bit of a mystery to me at first. The bathroom was clean adn tidy, if a bit older. Lighting is not strong, especially in the bathroom. A good range of tv channels, adn wi fi was paying ($7 USD per 24 hours). Two free bottles of water per day, and even though I placed mine in the bar fridge, and didn't always drink them both, I always got two fresh bottles each day.Slippers, bathrobe, safe and toilet amenities including razor/toothbrush, cotton buds etc were available. No place nearby to get snacks, apart from a little hotel shop which is only open from 8am-8pm, but as I was working at these times, I kept missing out on making a purchase. The breakfast buffet is nice quality, with plenty of fresh fruit and savoury dishes. I asked for pancakes several days and these were highly varable. Only once I managed to get a cooked and edible pancake, the other days it was a thick uncooked lump of dough. Please teach your chefs to perfect a pancake..it isn't that hard. Tea is either plain or green tea, although on occaisons when I asked for green tea, I got sweet milky tea...beughk! The smoothies are very good, and made fresh each morning. Some days it was mango, others passionfruit or watermelon juice.

The door staff were always very friendly and the service desk helpful with maps and advice, although for hours of shop openings and other minor details, they didn't have much of an idea. I also like to use public transport when visiting new places and the fromt desk weren't often able to help me with bus routes etc, although the 100 bus stops just outside the door (don't take the 101 bus unless you want to walk around 1km back to the hotel). I guess 'rich' tourists don't take the bus!

After one week, the continuous pipied pan flute music in the lobby started to annoy me. I tried the arabic restaurant one night for dinner and it was very nice, although a little expensive 3000 rupees, as I don't have a large appetite and it was a buffet. I used the money exchange facilites in the hotel which was only a bit less than the money exchangers at the airport. I also used a few atm machines around the place, with one conveniently placed just outside the hotel. I didn't swim in the pool, although the pool looked lovely and deep.

Value for money...probably not, although as I wasn't paying my hotel bill, it didn't matter too much. I was touched that everyone always enquired as to how long I was staying and when I was leaving, to the point where they told me they would be there to see me off. As I got into the taxi I suddenly realised with 6-8 faces peering in at me that they all expected their tips before I left....coming from a country which doesn't do tipping, not being prepared for it, I gave out what little money I had left. An enjoyable stay, but the assumption that all white foreign females are rich is a gross understatement. Unfortunetly my budget didn't permit me to be as liberal with tips as their expectations, so come well armed with notes or a thick skin.

Room Tip: I was on the 11th floor. Even numbered rooms look over Galle Face Green and the ocean. It does seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiki_kiwi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Colombo
Ramada Colombo
#21 of 55 in Colombo
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#19 of 55 in Colombo
334 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 55 in Colombo
1,849 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#20 of 55 in Colombo
363 reviews
3.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#13 of 55 in Colombo
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galadari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galadari Hotel

Address: 64 Lotus Road, Colombo 10732, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galadari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desirably located in the heart of Colombo’s the city center, Galadari Hotel excels in modern amenities sophistication and a stunning, unparalleled view of the Ocean...Step-in to be lost in cozy hideouts, pleasurable surroundings and the best of Sri Lankan hospitality... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Galadari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galadari Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing