We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old hotel but needs updating of fecilities.”
Review of Galadari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galadari Hotel
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Very good location.Large rooms with ver lively lobby.But you can see the property is not been updated for a long time..Cant sustain on old glory..Food is good the Middleeastern food on room service was bad and no semblence to Arabic taste..Must look into this very seriously..Otherwise i will recommend this hotel...The rooms in the road side is very noicy with traffic..so go to top floors on sea view.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kovaitravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Its a nice hotel and if you are with family or a group of friends you shall have a nice time. Its a little old in comparison to the newer hotels around so it sums up to be a 4 star deluxe and not a 5 star hotel as per our experience.

Having said that, nothing takes away the pleasantries of the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly, right from the Gate keeper, to the security officers to the general staff, they all greet you with an extremely warm Sri Lankan smile no matter what time of day or night.

The location of the hotel is excellent, it is right next to the ocean, request for a seaview room and you shall have a view of both their old presidential buildings and the sea. The rooms are pretty big, The only complaint was that the Air conditioning in some of the rooms was not upto the mark, so do check this feature when you check in into the room.

The breakfast is average and repetitive yet tasty and fulfilling.

We were in Colombo for the casinos, and the best part is you get a free taxi to and from the casino to the hotel as many times as you want, so the biggest expenditure in a foreign land(of taxis) is taken care of! The best casino Balys is just a 3 minute drive from the hotel.

We were a group of 10 guys and I must say we realy tested the house keeping and room service of the hotel. Though they were a little slow in getting things(maybe because the hotel was completely full), but they always managed to get it with a smile, we ordered ice buckets throughout the day and night, thanks to the whiskey lovers alongwith us.We also ordered quite a few eateries during our stay and at the end were fairly amused that the bill was much lower than our expectation.

The hotel had arranged lovely vans for our to and fro transfers from the airport and there was no inconvenience even though we were such a large group.

There is also a night club in the hotel but we didnt go there, so cant comment upon that.

Overall its a nice experience, and I recommend it if you are getting a good deal.

Room Tip: A seaview room with good Air con is the best option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveltodaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Its a huge hotel but hotel is run down and service is worst.
There was a big china group staying and was mess. have to wait long for lift
Staff also not cooperative

Breakfast was nice and location is also good

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank tappi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When we recently stayed 2 nights; we found the service quite inconsistent. Front desk at check-in was quite unfriendly and the tone would even probably be construed as rude by some. Concierge was friendly and helpful. Depending on which housekeeping staff you spoke with, you may or may not get your request attended to. Staff at the ground floor international coffee house were the only ones that consistently provided friendly and prompt service be it the restaurant manager, the waitress or the chefs (we dined there on 3 occasions). Alas the quality and selection of the buffet spreads was slightly lacking compared to the other hotels in Sri Lanka that we stayed during our tour. Overall, whilst location is good, we found the hotel to be a bit old and slightly rundown at the edges. This was also the only hotel we stayed in during our tour that did not provide free Wifi; not even in the lobby. Some rooms facing the Galle Face Green had fantastic views (but unfortunately ours didn't). Certainly for the price we paid; not value for money.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SLYeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I went to Colombo, on a 4 day business trip last week. I stayed in the Galadari Hotel. My experience was very good. The room which I was given was a room with a view. I had the Galle Face Road & the Expanses of the Ocean at one go. The view was simply 'WOW".
The hotel although an old structure, was well maintained and very nice. The room size was really big. The Breakfast & the Lunch buffet spread is also very good, especially the separation of the different menus like Sri Lankan, Continental, Indian etc. The hotel staff were very helpful & always jovial.
The different restaurants with in the hotel are also very nice & the food quality and spread was nice.
The vicinity to the main business center of Colombo is the best part of this Hotel.
This hotel has a colonial charm to it, which is really nice to have.
I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Always ask for the sea facing rooms, the view is simply marvelous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SujoyKanjilal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have visited and eaten in this hotel on many occasions, mainly for business meetings. It is in an ideal location for exploring Colombo by three wheeler. Shops, other hotels and restaurants, the Galle Face Green and other attractions are all very close. The hotel buffets are excellent and there are many other dining options. The hotel is immaculately clean and service is of a very high standard. As one of the 'top flight' hotels in the city it does not disappoint. Prices are comparable with other large hotels of is kind. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Situated closed to the sea and the Dutch hospital shopping complex, Galadari is good option while in Colombo. The buffet breakfast has a wide range and even vegeterians have a wide option!. Don't forget to check out the great variety of tea at Milensa tea Centre near the reception

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the old parliament building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frontiermail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Colombo
Ramada Colombo
#21 of 55 in Colombo
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#12 of 55 in Colombo
1,785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#19 of 55 in Colombo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#18 of 55 in Colombo
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,016 reviews
2.5 mi away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galadari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galadari Hotel

Address: 64 Lotus Road, Colombo 10732, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £73 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galadari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desirably located in the heart of Colombo’s the city center, Galadari Hotel excels in modern amenities sophistication and a stunning, unparalleled view of the Ocean...Step-in to be lost in cozy hideouts, pleasurable surroundings and the best of Sri Lankan hospitality... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Galadari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galadari Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing