We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveller rating
210
388
255
105
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
388
255
105
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews california grill arabic restaurant high tea parliament building coffee shop five star hotel indian ocean dinner buffet hotel is located sea facing galle face dutch hospital indian food sea front colombo city breakfast spread conference
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

I can clearly see that it was a top hotel at one time, but it is definitely starting to slip. Lot of the finishes are more than a little worn and the rooms are short on the latest amenities. But, it does have a great location and their prices were reasonable.

I did not find the staff to be particularly friendly or helpful.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Armadillo_of_Doom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Needs new deco. Never been renovated, only advantage is that it's not far from the airport and the food is amazing both breakfast and dinner you get a huge spread of international and local dishes. The food is cheap but drinks are extremely expensive. There is a roof top swimming pool with complementary sauna and steam room which is always ideal and a gym.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 855helenao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Excellent Location in the city Centre, All shopping and dining areas nearby Outstanding service . Very courteous staff. Great dining experience and buffet spread. very nice. Good value for money

we had a couple which was physically Challenged .The staff went out of their way to make their stay very comfortable

Overall a great experience

Room tip: All rooms have good view but corner ones give better view
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoeb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as part of a custom made tour around Sri-Lanka. Flight got into Sri-Lanka at 4am so room wasn't ready (check in was at 2pm) so my tour guide arranged an early check in (an additional 40 dollars) Apart from initial problems as the bed linen not being changed and the toilet not flushing (consequence of an early check in I guess) the service I received was brilliant. Staff opening lift doors for me and my girlfriend, showing as around the facilities and just being generally nice and prompt. But the crowning jewel was the food..... Seriously the breakfast buffet and the dinner buffet selection needs to be seen to be believed! Amazing choice and great tasting food. I have never seen such a spread in the many hotels I have frequented over the years! In addition the pool was pretty good, overlooking the parliament building in Colombo. All in all, a great experience just a tiny bit marred by my early check in.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TonyJAMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel a few years ago and had good memories of this hotel but in this trip found this hotel to be very average. The only positive is that it is in a good location and friendly staff. However, the hotel facilities are quite poor. Rooms and facilities require a major overhaul. The air conditioning in the room was very bad. Overall a very average experience especially for the price paid.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Saqib A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews