We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$42
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/21
Priceline
US$44
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/21
Trip.com
US$30
View deal
TravelocityUS$42
Orbitz.comUS$42
Agoda.comUS$30
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
66
238
256
90
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
238
256
90
83
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I was desperate to stay here after staying for a long time at other Colombo hotels. This is the original Colonial hotel and it still feels like it is 1950. Sure it is not The Kingsbury or The Galidari but it has an old world charm of its own.
The rooms are huge with wood panelling and archaic furnishings but that is part of the charm. If you want a slick hotel then go somewhere else. If you want evocative charm, a great restaurant overlooking the harbour and the real 1950s feel then this is for you.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TangramUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Its a Dracula Mansion; kilometer long empty corridors, some places horrifying dark in night, rooms with ill-kept furniture and fittings, name-sake mini fridge useful to keep your shoes or used cloths, silent intercom, floor dusty that leaves your lasting black footprints on the wet floors of bathroom, just warm 'hot water' which will sure get you fever if a bath taken for the early morning flight, two restaurants always keeping buffet and cant serve your specific light dinner, no shops or restaurants in the 3 kilometer vicinity, morning coffee room served always horrible with smoky taste, good for nothing spa, barren night club, mostly untrained staff and what not...!

A management that can spend few millions can make it perhaps the best heritage hotel in Srilanka.

Room tip: Try other hotels
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnilG528
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Oriental M, Front Office Manager at Grand Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Thank you for your time in reviewing us. We are concerned to read your review and would like to profusely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have conducted inquiries into the observations mentioned .However, we do not agree. We have had back to back high occupancy and all guests have been satisfied. Thank you for bringing your viewpoint to our attention.

Front Office Manager
Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel which is the Oldest Hotel and one of the busiest hotel years long ago....
We as 8 people in four rooms had a great time there...
Need some maintenance here and there....
Food is good a good spread catering all...
On the whole I could say stay was not bad...

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 398stalinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

This made me feel like I was on the set of a scary movie. Classical music played in the halls until late and rattling trolleys could be heard constantly up and down the halls all night. The view from my window was a falling down building with air conditioners that had fallen off lying on the ground below. I later learned that this was actually the same building. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Bar has a good view of the harbours if you're into ships. Apparently Queen Elizabeth used to stay there. That must've been a hundred years ago and it hasn't been done up since then. Staff were the only positive for me.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Hollie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

There is nothing grande about this hotel. Most of the staff is very cold and unfriendly, rooms are outdated, dusty, bathrooms are small and smelly. We asked for a nonsmoking room, but the room had a horrible smoking smell. Needless to say, I will not book this hotel again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank danielatx2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews