We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sapphire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sapphire Hotel
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our family stayed at the Sapphire hotel in Colombo few days ago. It was one of the best experiences we had in a 3 star city hotel. Friendly staff, Clean family room with all facilities, wi-fi, and the best part was the FOOD !!

Real value for the money you pay for your food, specially at breakfast. Amazing view of the city streets from the restaurant at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayDhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    69
    60
    26
    4
See reviews for
54
21
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed for couple of days, i'm not satisfied with their service. There are many findings but i wants to highlight few now. The staff's are not friendly and no proper signboard!

1. Room's was not clean.(Upon several followup they did)
2. Floor is broken.(titles are broken but they never care for that)
3. No proper room-service!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iniyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed here twice in last month and last year. Both time I had fantastic experience. Helpful staff and rooms are good. Good vegetarian restaurants around the hotel. Free wifi at rooms at good speed. We can do shopping nearby. But only problem is little far in Galle Road. I had to spend half an hour more to come to center of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malgudiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was arriving late in Colombo (around 11:30pm) and I knew the airport was a fair distance from Colombo itself (about a 45 minute drive) so I wanted to arrange for a hotel to pick me up at the airport. Sapphire quoted a price of US$119 for pickup and a nights stay, which I took being a first time traveller to Sri Lanka and not knowing my way around. When I got to arrivals I had to wait around for 15 minutes for a driver to meet me and take me to the hotel (even though I confirmed with Sapphire twice my arrival time). When I arrived I found the sole receptionist working to be very cold, unhelpful and unfriendly. Nevertheless, I just wanted to get to my room and get to sleep. Wow, was I surprised when I got there (after walking up 2 flights of stairs as the elevator wasn't working). The room was big but looked like it hadn't been updated since the 60's. Furthermore, there was literally a gaping hole in one of the bathroom walls (I can only assume meant for a window?) which made the entire night noisy, even with the bathroom door shut.

The next morning I caught the train to Galle and stayed in far better places for atleast half the price I payed at Sapphire. For the money, Sapphire is a complete rip-off. Its nowhere near downtown Colombo, the staff (particularly reception) are terribly unfriendly and even many of the hostels throughout Sri Lanka are nicer. (I rated Spa and Fitness centre 'average' as I did not use them).

Oh, and the pictures on the Sapphire's website are either not from their hotel or 30 years old, don't get tricked!

Room Tip: Just don't, honestly. I spent 3 weeks in Sri Lanka and it was amazing. My first night at Sapphir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We visited Sapphire hotel in dec 2012, it was situated around 45 min. distance from airport.which was quite far. Staff attended us with warmly and immediately given us room keys, Service boys were really quick.
Although rooms were spacious and clean but it was looking quite old, i can say in spite of everything was old style like furniture, bed sheets. cleanliness was what overcoming everything.
Food can be more better as it was not that tasty.

If you consider money, then in this sum of money this can be worthy deal but if you are ready for spent little more to have luxury and beautiful interior then i don't think this will suit you.

Room Tip: Go for floor having internet cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuneetSinghRelhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Fantastic everything... this is not a resort but a hotel in the city and the area named Wellawatta... rooms and huge and nice and toilets are decent.

Food is pretty tasty as most of the cooks are from india.

Swimming pool and gym is worth mentioning as they have good equipments...

Welcome area is good and aesthetically built upon...

All shopping centres are quite close by i.e Majestic City, House of Fashion and ODEL.

Room Tip: Try to get a Deluxe room. It is simply the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varunbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

First off this hotel is a fair way from the town c.4km - some of the other reviews here indicate that it's centrally located which isn't the case. However we had no trouble getting a tuk tuk into the centre for around 500 rupees. The rooms were drab and we complained and looked at two other rooms including one "luxury" room (apparently the presence of carpet means it can be called luxury) - they were all dated. The food wasn't the best and the service was poor despite there being ample staff. The pool was however reasonable. It's located on the busy Gallee road so it's quite noisy but this didnt effect our sleep. I didn't use the spa or fitness centre so I've rated these average.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdJames087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.6 mi away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#30 of 52 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#22 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#25 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#40 of 52 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mirage Hotel Colombo
Mirage Hotel Colombo
#31 of 52 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Property: Sapphire Hotel
Address: 371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing