We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Sapphire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sapphire Hotel
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 17 days in October. It has had a face lift and seems much improved. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The one meal I ate at the hotel restaurant was also very good. I followed suggestions from previous reviewers and asked for a deluxe room at the back. This location was great for my needs and I would certainly return.

Room Tip: rooms at the back seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yraglac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    69
    61
    27
    4
See reviews for
55
22
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel. The location is decent. A small walk from the beach which was a +1. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, although the beds do creak a wee bit at night. The tv channels are very grainy..
The breakfast was poor. Cold and not great.
The swimming pool was great. Small but very cosy.
If you're on a budget its not a bad option.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank komals3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was the last night of an Exodus two week tour of Sri Lanka, and we arrived from a beach hotel on the south coast, so there may have been a bit of a culture shock, but we were a bit disappointed with the hotel's location. It is a few km from the centre of Colombo on a busy road. Our room overlooked the pool and was fine. The food was good. Had we stayed longer we may have settled in better, but we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is on busy Galle road , a little away from the sea front.The rooms are small but comfortable however services are not very good.I stayed for three days and for this entire period none of the channels were available on TV .the problem was not rectified despite of my written complaints .The reception desk was slow and not helpful in many cases.The hotel has lot of potential if they improve services.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storyteller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Roques National Park, Venezuela
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Probably the most amazing small hotel I have ever stayed at. You will never want to leave. The property is spectacular and the service exceeded our expectations. The room and bathroom are great. Everything from the first greeting to goodbye was memorable. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our family stayed at the Sapphire hotel in Colombo few days ago. It was one of the best experiences we had in a 3 star city hotel. Friendly staff, Clean family room with all facilities, wi-fi, and the best part was the FOOD !!

Real value for the money you pay for your food, specially at breakfast. Amazing view of the city streets from the restaurant at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayDhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed for couple of days, i'm not satisfied with their service. There are many findings but i wants to highlight few now. The staff's are not friendly and no proper signboard!

1. Room's was not clean.(Upon several followup they did)
2. Floor is broken.(titles are broken but they never care for that)
3. No proper room-service!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iniyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#30 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.3 mi away
Mirage Hotel Colombo
Mirage Hotel Colombo
#32 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#28 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#24 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#40 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Property: Sapphire Hotel
Address: 371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing