We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with supportive staff”
Review of Sapphire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sapphire Hotel
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Kerala, India
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Good hotel with supportive staff”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for a day and is very close to all business establishments, restaurants, very near there is a south indian food joint. The whole stay was memorable as there was no problem at all. We needed to leave by 4 am and they even packed our breakfast for us to have at the airport. Overall it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose rooms not facing the road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSCNAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    70
    63
    27
    4
See reviews for
58
22
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

basic hotel but lovely if not pricey food. wonderful gor the price and very good service. great pool. we stayed over night on our way out of sri lanka and it was really great for the change over. everything you need is available and close to the supermarket

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

It is not possible to edit a review hence a new one. I just recently returned to this Hotel and still find it to be a good place to stay.

They have some issues with their wifi but the staff are willing to try and reset it and that helped.

The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The food was great - I enjoyed many breakfasts and a dinner at the restaurant.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Deluxe room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yraglac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The location of the hotel was fine, not too far from the airport, far enough from the chaotic centre of Colombo. Pool looked nice but didn't have time to use it. Restaurant Ok but staff there not very efficient. room would have been fine apart from the faulty aircon which rattled, clunked & banged all night, eventually spitting out chunks of ice & dripping water on the floor!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lepidoptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Sri Lanka, when we arrived in Colombo.

Check in was quick, and we were brought up to our rooms. We had a corner unit, and it was incredibly spacious, clean sheets, comfy beds, good blankets, and firm pillows! Good A/C too.

2 complaints -
first the room was on the second floor, and by the main road. So even with the windows closed, you can hear the cars and the horns, well into the night.

second- toilet was very cramped, and weird door mechanism for the shower cubicle, along with the bathroom being a step above the regular floor. If you're a stickler for clean white bathrooms, you'll find a bit of black moss in corners, but nothing TOO invasive.

It's in a good location, along the main road, and you can find a number of restaurants if you take a stroll down.

They have a Chinese restaurant that serves western and Indian cuisine, but nothing too impressive. Even the breakfast was below average. They do have some Sri Lankan food, but a limited variety of 2 to 3 dishes.

Room Tip: Don't take room 202!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deadhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at Sapphire hotel for 2 nights in the family room. The check in was smooth and quick. The rooms are really big and spacious. The beds are really big and there were extra sofas too. We had 2 king size beds which accommodated my family of 2 adults and 3 kids really well. There were so much space, that we had enough space to have our 6 big suitcases and still have our little one run around and play well. We had a pool view room. We didn't have any issues with the noise at all. The beds, pillows and the sleep quality were really good. The A/C worked extremely well and we had a ceiling fan as well. The washroom is a bit small, but still had enough space. We had hot and cold water all times without any issues. The rooms still have older style parkay tiles. The staff are doing a great job keeping this hotel clean. All the staff were very friendly and polite. The room service had some very tasty delicious meals. Breakfast was pretty simple with different variety both days. The quality of the breakfast was really good and tasty. The restaurant in the 3rd floor was really good and has some great views of the famous Galle road. The staff at the breakfast were extremely well and they took care of all the guests really well. Overall, our stay was pretty satisfying. We had a excellent sleep, big and awesome room and the services were well okay. This hotel does seem to get older a bit and the staff trying their best to keep it fresh and shiny. The elevators were really small, but they were quick. The Topaz bar adjacent to the hotel has a very nice ambience to it. The setup of the bar is very nice and we had a good time there. I will definitely return to this hotel, when I'm travelling with my family. If I'm travelling alone, then I might choose to stay somewhere else closer galle face green or something.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SERAN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

After a midnight flight from India, the Hotel welcomed us with the usual fruit juice on arrival. Our room was average, service was average, and menu on offer was average.
Its location - on a busy, noisy road, but far from the city centre - was far from optimum.
The usual tea/coffee/electric kettle was useful and the place was clean.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor, where it may be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broomefarmstayspune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.6 mi away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#30 of 55 in Colombo
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#24 of 55 in Colombo
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#40 of 55 in Colombo
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#28 of 55 in Colombo
260 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#21 of 55 in Colombo
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Property: Sapphire Hotel
Address: 371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing