We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't give them your credit card or they will steal your money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't give them your credit card or they will steal your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel from 4th to 7th April 2014.

At the time of checkin the hotel had blocked about Srilanka Rs 30,000 on my credit card and I was told this amount would be refunded at the time of checkout. I cleared my bill by payment of cash and I was told the blocked amount would be released in 2 to 3 days. It has been over a month and the amount is still charged to my card. After several calls and emails with the hotel I have not received any response and looks like they do not intend to return money once they take it.

Their customer service is pathetic and the overall hotel is so so. They rate it at 5 star but it should be 4 star maximum and with their level of service it's really 3 star.

And most importantly Don't give them your credit card or they will steal your money.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Haroon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Mr Haroon B

You see us sorry that you have not received your refund yet. We have written to you and also called you to let you know that our bank has released the money. The issue seems to be with the receiving bank. As we requested from you, would you be kind enough to contact your bank and let them know showing them the scan copy of the refund transfer we have sent you. They should be able to act on it. In case this solution does not work, please contact us again. We are there to help you.

With kind regards,

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    626
    188
    66
    49
See reviews for
418
497
116
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the end of our holiday before flew to London. The stay was very comfortable and we choose the lake view room and the view from our windrow was brilliant and our 2 year old daughter love to hang on to the window for most of the time while we stayed in the room.

The dining options were brilliant and most of the restaurants in the hotel are suitable for Fine dining. The food was brilliant and refreshing. The location of the hotel is very good for shopping in Colombo city. Had a wonderful in during the stay, I would recommend for sort stay in Colombo and fine dining.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are good for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NithiyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you and your family had a comfortable stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. The scenic surroundings of the pool and the lake are refreshing and relaxing and we are happy that you enjoyed the view from your room. It is encouraging to learn that you relished the many cuisines available in our restaurants. We thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again when you next visit Sri Lanka.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Took 86 cricket players and supporters last year and started our tour at Cinnamon Lakeside had a wonderful time went back on April 6 this year with 104 players and supporter from Brisbane Australia and it just got better.Checked in at 1.30 Am and Kasun Wickremasekera had everything organised so well it was a breeze. Our stay at Lakeside once again was fantastic. Great staff from manager Suresh, our co ordinator Tanuja all food and beverage staff to bell boy Gamini who I believe is a good cricketer could not have done any better .Thanks so much looking forward to being back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your five star review. We are happy that your group stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo has been a wonderful one. Your encouraging sentiments of our staff are thankfully acknowledged. We appreciate very much your continued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again at the hotel on your next tournament.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The location was in the center of city. The rooms were well done and comfortable. The breakfast spread was more than adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay in this property in my next trip to Colombo

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashyapmurli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and consider Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo as a centrally located hotel. It is great that you enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast buffet at the Dining Room and indulged in our warm Cinnamon hospitality. Thank you for your assurance to stay with us again and we hope to see you soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Was only at the hotel for 2 nights but the time spent there was a positive experience. Staff were very welcoming from check in to check out. The room had a fabulous view of the pool and lake. A shame it rained or I would have made use of the pool and poolside bar! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovefood125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you had an excellent experience at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo and enjoyed our warm Cinnamon hospitality. We hope your next stay with us would be longer, so you can indulge in our range of facilities on offer. Thank you for your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I've stayed in this hotel a few times over the past few year on business trips and the hotel is getting progressively worse. This stay in the last time. The chair is stained, desk is just dirty scratched and overall the room is worn and not clear. There is a plate for fruit, no fruit is given but is just grimy. Housekeeping staff knock and just walk straight into the room. I'm a frequent business traveler and this hotel is clearly on the downcycle. Avoid it, and go to the Hilton.Once new hotels start opening the Cinnemon will certainly feel the competition. For USD200, the value for money here is not existent. Its too bad as the location of the property is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thephuketinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
I am glad I had the opportunity to speak with you before your departure and to know that you felt comfortable with our handling of your complaint. We appreciate and value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

It was pleasant surprise when we arrive to Cinnamon to see such a nice place.
Hotel is well located near the lake and all rooms with great view.
Check in was not fast as expected from property like this but polite.
Our room great,bathroom spacious.
Pool wonderfull,several restaurants with great food and nice atmosphere.
Real value for money.I recommend this place

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asterisk1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We thank you for your time in reviewing us. We are delighted that you had a great stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. It is lovely to learn that you liked our facilities and enjoyed the great food in our many restaurants serving authentic cuisine from across the globe. Staying in a “Premium” room overlooking the lake provides you with the ideal picturesque view and relaxation. We thank you for your valued patronage and recommending our hotel to other travelers. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Colombo.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
3.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference; attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing