We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Customer to Cinnamon Lakeside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Return Customer to Cinnamon Lakeside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Centrally located in the heart of Colombo, adjacent to a lake (hence the name) .

Seek a room with a pool / lake view. Excellent restaurants with variety of cuisines to offer and a good breakfast setting as well (try the egg hoppers and coconut water)

All in all a very good property, not the cheapest but certainly worth it.

oh and I must add - very friendly and helpful staff. Check in / Checkout are not the fastest, plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Seek a room with Lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your five star review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are delighted that you liked the location and facilities and also enjoyed your dining experience at our many restaurants serving authentic cuisines from across the globe. It is heartening to note your sentiments regarding our staff and thank you. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    623
    188
    64
    48
See reviews for
415
493
114
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded all our expectations in regards to service, quality, atmosphere and amenities. The pool and recreation facilities are wonderful. The setting of the huge pool is spectacular. Rooms are large and well appointed. Service is at the highest level. There is lots of beautiful common areas to enjoy. We welcome an opportunity to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WendelinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo enjoying the facilities on offer. Our large infinity pool and the fully-equipped gymnasium with sauna, are facilities that are relished by most of our valued guests. We are encouraged to note that you prefer to stay with us at your next trip to Colombo. Thank you for your patronage.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have been to Colombo 4 times on business staying 4-5 nights on each visit. First time I have stayed in Cinnamon Grand, which was OK. The second time I stayed in Lakeside - returned there 2 more times, and frankly I will not stay anywhere else. The location is great, view of the lake is tranquil, the staff is incredibly friendly and will do anything for you. The hotel had a perfect balance- it had all conveniences for the business traveller, but also really relaxing, cosy, atmosphere to enjoy after a long day. The selection of restaurants is good, but there is a lot of other choices in Colombo too (all of which are very close to the Cinnamon Lakeside). I have to say though, what I most look forward to on my visits is sitting outside at 7 North bar with the cocktail, listening to live music! All of these - great value for money! I can't wait till next year to come back again! Thank you for making my stay really enjoyable every time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kat2011MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your five star review. It is most delighting to learn that you had a memorable and an interesting experience at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are glad that you had the opportunity of tasting the many authentic cuisines served in our restaurants located overlooking the pool and lake. Our large infinity pool and the fully-equipped gymnasium with sauna, are facilities that are relished by most of our valued guests. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers and your continued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I just came back from Sri Lanka and the thing that I enjoyed the most was cinnamon lakeside. ...room was excellent view was the best with big terrace .....service is very good. ..but I am not so happy with food ...it shouldn't be like that in a five star hotel as the choice was bad not that much varieties but overall I enjoyed my stay there....

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank caesardr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, Sector Head at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your five star review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We appreciate your feedback on our services and facilities and also have noted your observations. We hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you for your patronage.

Rohan Karr
Sector Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night only in the Cinnamon Lakeside, but would have liked to stay longer. The rooms were clean and well equipped with stunning city views. The staff were very nice. The restaurant was ok, but the choice of food was not as good as the other Cinnamon/Chaaya hotels we had stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We appreciate your feedback on our services and facilities and also have noted your observations. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

As I visit Sri Lanka regularly, I have tried a few hotels but my choice is very clear. Cinnamon Lakeside provides the very best value for money. Although WTC has some hotels closer to the towers, the Kingsbury rooms are small and the service way below par. The Hilton should be closed for renovations as the rooms are in very bad shape. The Cinnamon Grand is a good alternative but the staff there are arrogant and not friendly at all. It is not enough to tell the guests they are the best hotel in town, they have to demonstrate it and they failed.
Cinnamon Lakeside on the other hand is a great place to stay, fast and efficient check in and check out. Someone in the lobby greeting you with a great smile at time of the day. Great restaurants (Mediterranean Restaurant by the terrace overlooking the lake being the best for me)
Kasun at the front desk is a real asset. ever so pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EllieBellie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your great five-star review. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo enjoying Cinnamon hospitality, authentic cuisine from across the globe and other facilities on offer. It is encouraging to learn that you opt to stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo to other accommodation in Colombo. Thank you for your valued patronage and we do hope you will visit us again soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I would like to thank Karen Gro for her first class customer care we received from her during our stay at this hotel last December it has taken me this long to remember her name but just wanted to share my view with everyone else, if you are planning a trip to this hotel you will not be disappointed we where lucky enough to have a room on the executive floor and access to the lounge which was fantastic I do not have a bad word to say about the service we received. Thank you once again Karen Gro

Room Tip: Sea rooms have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orangeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. It is most delighting to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Executive Floor room which enables you to a multitude of facilities with our compliments and a panoramic view from the room. We appreciate very much your recommending the hotel to other travelers. Having indulged in our hospitality, we welcome you to visit us again soon. Thank you for your valued patronage.


Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
3.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference; attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing