We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the rooms are a little old” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the rooms are a little old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

the rooms are a little old, but overall it is very nice. I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. The breakfast and dinner buffets are very good. my only complain would be the AC in the room is really really cold. I had to turn it off on my second night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiayang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food served at our international restaurants. We have also taken due note of your complaint and will seek to rectify the matter shortly. Having indulged in our Cinnamon hospitality, we do hope you will decide to stay with us again when you are next in Colombo. Thank you for your patronage.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    625
    188
    65
    48
See reviews for
416
495
114
579
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Cinnamon Lakeside is the crappiest 5star hotel in Asia. The hotel's tag line is 'how may we indulge you'; however they made my stay the worse possible with arrogant managers, uneducated servers and an ignorant PR desk. The AC in my room was leaking all night and there was constant banging and repairs through the day next to my room. It was almost like the staff was on a mission on how not to indulge me.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank nalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are deeply concerned to read your review. We have taken due note of your observations regarding the service issues encountered by you and thank you for bringing them up to our attention. We would like to profusely apologize for the inconvenience caused but can assure you that this is more an exception than the rule in this hotel. Please be kind enough to spare a few minutes to write to me personally on gm.lakeside@cinnamonhotels.com, so I could get more information on the incidents. Should you wish to stay with us again, please be assured that we will make every endeavour to indulge you in our true Cinnamon hospitality and make your next stay a pleasant one. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
443 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Located in the heart of the City and is an amazing hotel. Went for the lunch buffet at the Dinning Room on Saturday which was an international buffet with a French theme. The food was extra ordinary and the service is excellent. Loved the ambiance of the hotel and highly recommend this hotel for any occasion..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your five star review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We appreciate you affording us with a five star rating for our Dining Room. It is encouraging to learn that you enjoyed the afternoon in a relaxed atmosphere, with sumptuous food and great hospitality. We thank you for your recommendation and hope to see you again soon at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having spent two days in the southern city of Galle, we drove along the Southern Expressway to Colombo and checked in at the Cinnamon Lakeside Hotel.
Cinnamon Lakeside Hotel is one of the major Hotels, centrally located almost in the heart of Colombo. It has an impressive entrance and the lobby and reception areas have been tastefully designed. The check in process was efficient and smooth. The room we had on the fourth floor was spacious and had all the facilities one expects in a major hotel.
We were in this hotel for three nights. The breakfast buffet on all three days was excellent. The spread was quite extensive with the Asian / Sri Lankan and Western cuisines which I am sure, would have catered for every taste.
Both my wife and I were very impressed with the attention to detail and the efficient manner in which the whole dining room operation was conducted. The staff were extremely helpful, efficient and attentive. The food was well presented and tasty. My congratulations to the Chefs and all the dining room staff.
The staff at the Cinnamon Lakeside we found to be very efficient and knew exactly what they were doing. This applied to all the services one encounters, from the Door Men to the Porters, Reception Staff, Housekeeping, Dining etc.
Over the years my wife and I having been in almost every major hotel in Colombo. In our opinion Cinnamon Lakeside is the best Colombo hotel we have stayed in so far.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingsleyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your five star review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and indulged in our Cinnamon hospitality. We thank you for your encouraging feedback regarding the cuisine served at our international restaurant and deeply appreciate the kind words with regard to staff and service. We hope you will stay with us again during your next visit to Sri Lanka.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Centrally located in the heart of Colombo, adjacent to a lake (hence the name) .

Seek a room with a pool / lake view. Excellent restaurants with variety of cuisines to offer and a good breakfast setting as well (try the egg hoppers and coconut water)

All in all a very good property, not the cheapest but certainly worth it.

oh and I must add - very friendly and helpful staff. Check in / Checkout are not the fastest, plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Seek a room with Lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your five star review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are delighted that you liked the location and facilities and also enjoyed your dining experience at our many restaurants serving authentic cuisines from across the globe. It is heartening to note your sentiments regarding our staff and thank you. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded all our expectations in regards to service, quality, atmosphere and amenities. The pool and recreation facilities are wonderful. The setting of the huge pool is spectacular. Rooms are large and well appointed. Service is at the highest level. There is lots of beautiful common areas to enjoy. We welcome an opportunity to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WendelinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo enjoying the facilities on offer. Our large infinity pool and the fully-equipped gymnasium with sauna, are facilities that are relished by most of our valued guests. We are encouraged to note that you prefer to stay with us at your next trip to Colombo. Thank you for your patronage.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have been to Colombo 4 times on business staying 4-5 nights on each visit. First time I have stayed in Cinnamon Grand, which was OK. The second time I stayed in Lakeside - returned there 2 more times, and frankly I will not stay anywhere else. The location is great, view of the lake is tranquil, the staff is incredibly friendly and will do anything for you. The hotel had a perfect balance- it had all conveniences for the business traveller, but also really relaxing, cosy, atmosphere to enjoy after a long day. The selection of restaurants is good, but there is a lot of other choices in Colombo too (all of which are very close to the Cinnamon Lakeside). I have to say though, what I most look forward to on my visits is sitting outside at 7 North bar with the cocktail, listening to live music! All of these - great value for money! I can't wait till next year to come back again! Thank you for making my stay really enjoyable every time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kat2011MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your five star review. It is most delighting to learn that you had a memorable and an interesting experience at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are glad that you had the opportunity of tasting the many authentic cuisines served in our restaurants located overlooking the pool and lake. Our large infinity pool and the fully-equipped gymnasium with sauna, are facilities that are relished by most of our valued guests. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers and your continued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
3.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference; attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing