We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star really?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Five star really?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here at the conclusion of a two week trip around Sri Lanka but to be honest was underwhelmed with the hotel. Facilities terrific, number of restaurants serving wide range of fare. Breakfast was fantastic with Sri Lankan food as well as other international offerings. However, whilst booked in for three nights hotel only had us booked for one night, no welcome drink ( as noted for other guests), no complimentary papers as suggested, no turn down service and the bathroom drain was smelly! Rooms large and well appointed. Wi Fi very fast indeed and like other hotels in Sri Lanka offered immediately upon check in and with no charge. Noise level loud coming from another room until after 1 am made it difficult to sleep on the first night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_CLS, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your time in reviewing us. We note that your stay with us has not been to your expectation eventhough you enjoyed some memorable moments. We have taken due note of your observations and thank you for bringing them up to our attention. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused to you but can assure you that they are more an exception than the rule in this hotel. However, we do hope you would give us another opportunity to indulge you in our true cinnamon hospitality. Thank you for your patronage.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    626
    188
    66
    49
See reviews for
418
497
116
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

When you have your wedding in a hotel you have a special place for it and that is what Cinnammon Lakeside is for us, although it was many years ago when it was called the Transasia.

We have been back many times to patronize Long feng, The royal thai and have had many a meeting at the Library which provides a unique setting for a quiet gathering. The dining room is a good place to have a quick buffet lunch with guests if you are rushed for time.

The service has always been very good and the food has always been up to the standard one would expect from a hotel of the star rating it has.

I am a regular customer at the coffee shop goodies and it is a very good place to buy excellent pastries and cakes at decent prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_CLS, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to note that you have fond memories of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo and your continued patronage. It is heartening that you have indulged in our sumptuous authentic cuisine from across the globe served in our many restaurants and recommend them. This would indeed assist other travelers to find the perfect place to stay in Colombo. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel with excellent service. The restaurants in the hotel have very good food and offer various cuisines. The pool is quiet large with view over the lake. The rooms are spacious and are very clean. Some have a balcony with a view over the city. The location is pretty nice as well. You are at a reasonable distance of touristic sites and the business areas of Colombo

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurens M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_CLS, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We are delighted with your five star rating of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. It is heartening to learn that you have indulged in our facilities on offer in totality and experienced the authentic cuisine from across the globe served in our many restaurants. We appreciate your feedback assisting other travelers to find the right place to stay in Colombo. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I could say this place just the place to be if you in colombo ,reception staff is friendly,and food is okay too,i have spend one day there ,and visit many many times.but one thing this place has that non other than any place in colombo is resting with nature. backside pool to the lake is very stylish ,you come for a business visit to colombo on a stress day this is the place to be.on down side parking space can be really annoying but there is always place to park.10 of 10 for the location and service they provide

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panitha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_CLS, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We are delighted with the five star review of your stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. Your feedback would indeed help other travelers to find the right place to stay. We are glad that you like the location and the facilities on offer at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. The pool area is one of the best attractions for nature lovers and is relished by many a guest. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us and we hope we would have another opportunity to indulge you in our Cinnamon hospitality. Thank you for your patronage.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is the second time I have stayed with Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo hotel. I was amazed the very first time when I stayed here. The service was impeccable and everyone there were all smiles. Unfortunately, this time round, there were very few smiles and very few hellos. The room was as usual, great. Spacious, comfortable and relaxing. We stayed there for 2 nights and the second night we ordered a jug of mojito and 2 serves of nasi goreng. It was good and delicious. However, what bothered me the most was the breakfast area. It was extremely busy and the staff seated us along a walking pathway where many others are selecting their breakfast cheeses and biscuits. There was no room for a decent conversation as our table was co-joined with a family's. The staff looked unprofessional when many guests started to walk in. It was a messy situation and poor communication. Tables were cleaned in a rush and etc. For a 5 star hotel, you would expect professionalism and better service.
I enjoyed my stay the last time but not as much, this time round. Even the check out was pretty rough as the guy at the counter seemed inattentive and the lady who was seated elsewhere acknowledged us better. I felt a bit turned down. the pool is nice but I am not sure whether there was chlorine in the pool. The pool bar was excellent. I still wished they would bring back the other staff who were cheery and bubbly throughout the day and night. Miss the smiles at that place.
Anyhow, would i stay here again? Maybe.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellylovesburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_CLS, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your time in reviewing us. We note that your stay with us has not been to your expectation eventhough you enjoyed some memorable moments. We have taken due note of your observations and thank you for bringing them up to our attention. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused to you but can assure you that they are more an exception than the rule in this hotel. However, we do hope you would give us another opportunity to indulge you in our true cinnamon hospitality. Thank you for your continued patronage.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

me and my friends had lunch at Lakes side, place is nice food taste great but that's all about it. I took a chocolate mouse from the buffet table and was about to have the first bite. luckily i just had a quick look at it, then only i noticed there was a pin sitting on top of my mouse, the shard side was sitting straight up. then Mr. Kariyawasam waled up to our table and i told what has happed. i saw they had a big discussion in the kitchen and he told me that he need to look in to the footages after while we was about to leave, the bill came up to the table then again i said what happed, i said that's ok il settle the full payment. Mr kariyawasam came and apologized for what has happed. he asked me to give my contact details and we left. then the next day or so the exertive manager i guess spoke to me said that they need to follow it up and need to go through footages. so i gave them few days, this incident happed on JUNE and it's MID AUGUEST haven't herd from them after at all. disappointed how they handle this sort of incident and it is NGEGLIGENCE , LACK OF SUERVION BAD MANAGEMENT. management haven't realized how bad the situation was. i truly dont know how it was sitting on top of the dessert .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dilania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_CLS, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We apologise for the delay in responding, as we were under the impression that this matter has been resolved with the manager in charge at the time of your complaint. We were disturbed to read your review and we are equally concerned with the incident in question. Therefore, we have re-checked the records pertaining to the issue thoroughly. We find that at the time the food left the kitchen and was placed on the dessert table there was no foreign object on the dessert as mentioned. With regard to the pin that was found in the dessert, we can confirm that this type of pin is not used in the hotel and our CCTV footage fails to reveal any circumstance in which such a pin could have contacted with the dessert. In the circumstances we are compelled to reach a conclusion that the alleged pin in the dessert was not caused by any act or omission by us. We also have stringent service level practices in place and the food that is served is checked thoroughly. Nevertheless, we thank you for bringing this to our attention and we do hope that this isolated happening would not deter you from visiting us again.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is brilliantly located, not too far from the city centre, but secluded enough for relaxation. The staff and service are all extremely helpful and the views from each room are incredible. Mine had a view of a makeshift Sri Lankan cricket ground.

Rooms were sized brilliantly, and the choice of food from restaurants is unbelievable. Breakfast was extremely tasty, and the native egg hoppers were absolutely delicious .Happy hour on the terrace bar was also a great way to unwind in the afternoons.

We would happily return! (We were here in April 2012, a bit late writing this review)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_CLS, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted to note that you have taken fond memories back home of your stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. It is encouraging that you remember to-date the details of your relaxing experience, choice of food available and other facilities on offer. Thank you for your assurance to return and we look forward to indulging you in our Cinnamon hospitality once again soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
3.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference; attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing