We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you need from city location. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Beds The Regent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Beds The Regent
Ranked #3 of 130 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“All you need from city location. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

All i can say is wow! I have visited colombo on many occasions often with apprehension about where i will find to stay, no longer! Feel like i am shooting my self in the foot by reviewing it as now it will be more difficult to find it empty. 'It is what it is 'a centrally located, comfortable, clean, small 'hotel' air con, hot water all included. Eshan the owner goes out if his way to make sure you are getting the best out of the city and the area. Tips for eating, drinking and the sights, will get you fair priced transport to make life that but more relaxed as you explore. Thank you for a great stay Eshan & Karoo. See you very soon i expect as city beds is now part if the attraction of coming to Colombo.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lookinglost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hey guys, what a wonderful opportunity to have met you both. Not only cos you guys are such amazing people, but it's always great to have people stay with us from the industry. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and also thank you so much for the lovely comments and great feedback. Knowing the local area, sites, attractions, and restaurants is an important part of our job. We aim to provide an excellent service whilst enhancing their experience here in Colombo. I know that we will be seeing you both again soon. Till next time, happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    121
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
17
197
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Upon our arrival my fiance and I were met by the owner who then welcomed us. Ensured that we were fine and checked us in. He even went as far as showing us around town the next day and at all times made sure we were comfortable and happy. As for the accommodation, it's possibly situated in one of the best spots in Colombo and offers clean comfortable rooms and great staff!
Highly recommended for anyone staying over in Colombo, be it one night or longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThurloA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hey Thurlo! Firstly let me thank you and your fiancé for staying at City Beds, and also let me say how wonderful it was to have met you both. I could safely say that you two were one of my favourite guests and it was most enjoyable and pleasant to show you around. It's always nice to host people who are open to seeing new things and learning about the country they are in. Thank you for the amazing comments you have left, it's definitely something we cherish and it means a lot to us at City Beds. We would love nothing more than for you and your fiancé to visit us again at anytime. Happy Travels and all the very best in your new careers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Wow, what excellent service. A great, central and clean place to stay at. I highly recommend it. The owner Hishaam is extremely helpful. The place is also located close the the Dutch Hospital which houses many awesome little restaurants. This was also one of the cleanest places I have stayed at. A great nights sleep in the city for a good price is hard to find!

Room Tip: When in a tuk tuk ask to be dropped across from the Lake House near the Hilton!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carima16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi Carima - what a wonderful treat it was to meet you both. Even though the stay was short and brief, I'm glad that I got to show you around Colombo and some of our historical sites. Most tourists who come to Colombo tend not to spend too much time at these sites due to accessibility, however, it's great that we were all able to get a glimpse of this. Thank you so much for staying with us at City Beds and thank you so much for the positive feedback and looking forward to seeing you guys again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Самара, Россия
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Its right place to stay in Colombo for 1 or 2 night.
Best free Wi-Fi in Sri Lanka.
They don't serving food - but u can use kitchen in common area, and its a lot of restaurants near.
The rooms is small but clean and with a huge bed, view to a Buddha Temple, and shower with hot water.
Pedestrian access to main attractions and railway station.
Very friendly staff!!!

In Europe this type of hotels called hostel =)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dreeeamdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear dreeeamdj thank you very much for choosing to stay at City Beds The Regent and we truly value your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure to have such wonderful guests like you staying with us. Glad to hear that you found our wifi useful. We hope that your entire holiday in Sri Lanka was memorable and hope to welcome you back at City Beds again soon. Happy travels!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were arriving late and just staying overnight in Colombo before catching an early morning train from Fort station so wanted somewhere nearby that was clean. City Beds The Regent was perfect for us and we could easily have stayed there longer - Fort Station is a 5-minute walk down the road, the bed, room and en suite were all very clean and comfortable, the hot shower did the trick to wake us up in the morning, and the staff (especially Eshan) very helpful answering all our questions very promptly before we arrived and he sorted us out with a pickup from the airport too which took away that hassle. All this for a fraction of the cost of the 4/5* hotels nearby - recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RSL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear RSL80 even though your stay was short, it was great to have met you guys. Thank you so much for the lovely comment on our page with the positive feedback and encouragement. In terms of being helpful, we at City Beds thrive in order to offer exemplary customer service to all our guests, this is our mission. We find that if we offer this service along with the basic hot water shower, ac rooms and a clean environment, we would be able to satisfy all our guests.
Thank you once again for your lovely feedback, it's always a pleasure to have you at City Beds. See you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and a smell of cleanliness. We were shown to our room which had everything we expected, refreshing air con, clean bathroom, hot shower and was throughly clean throughout.

We met the owner who was extremely helpful (and cute) and he gave us excellent advice on costs of Tuk Tuks and places worth visiting. The wifi was good and we felt safe and secure.

Would recommend especially with the excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lauraemily33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi Laura, what can we say, so happy to know that you enjoyed your 2 day stay us here at City Beds The Regent. We do thrive on the quality and cleanliness of the room. We aim to provide the best service and give out useful information about the local whereabouts to all our guests. Thank you for the positive feedback and it is great to know that you found the location and staff convenient and helpful. Very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at city beds for two nights and we really enjoyed the place.
The staff is incredebily friendly. The room are simple and everything was very clean.

The guesthouse is central located (less than 5 min. to walk to the World Trade Center).

A great stay for a fair price!

Room Tip: We had a room with a small bathroom (with hot water) which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Jens H - we are so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything perfect!!! As you and many others have mentioned, we at City Beds -The Regent thrive on providing all our guests with very clean rooms, this has to be the expectation from every traveller. As you did stay with us for two nights, I'm sure you enjoyed the fact that it is located centrally to all the major sites in Colombo city. Hope to have you back again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#16 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.2 mi away
ZMAX Fairway, Colombo
ZMAX Fairway, Colombo
#19 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#11 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Beds The Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Beds The Regent

Property: City Beds The Regent
Address: 20 Regent Building | Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mw, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Beds The Regent 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right near the Old Dutch Hospital Complex and Hilton Colombo, City Beds The Regent is a small little budget accommodation unit that offers travelers everything basic and necessary for an affordable option. We are right opposite the Lake House building and have 5 rooms which are all air-conditioned and have their own en-suite. We offer free WiFi, tea & coffee and always up for chat regarding what to do around the area and city, In most cases you will be able to join us along in most of our daily activities around Colombo that are designed to showcase all our guests, how NOT TO BE A TYPICAL TOURIST in Sri Lanka. We are a registered, licensed and approved budget motel by the Ceylon Tourist Board and among all our staff have a wealth of knowledge in creating wonderful memories and experiences for all our guests who stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your City Beds The Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing