We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
217
209
59
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
217
209
59
18
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2018

Good value for a good location.
No frills hotel, but very clean, plenty big room, friendly staff, and all you need (except for a TV).
If you need a quick breakfast (or dinner) before heading out, there is a small local place right next door that is cheap and quick.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Front Office Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

Dear stevek66-2
Nov 21, 2018


Thank you for the kind words! it was our pleasure to have been a service to you! We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again!


Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

This was out second consecutive stay at City Beds. We enjoyed it so much the previous year (2017) that we decided to return this year. We had the Super Deluxe Room which was so spacious, air-con & bathroom were great, always had a hot shower. After the humidity of Colombo, it was always great to return to City Beds. The staff are all so nice, helpful & friendly. Location was wonderful, just a short stroll each evening to the restaurants of the Dutch Hospital Precinct. I can't understand the negative reviews. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Super Deluxe Room is wonderful.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annemareec_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Front Office Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

Dear annemareec_11


Thank you for the wonderful recommendation!! it was our pleasure to have been a service to you! We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again!






Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We (me, my wife and my wife’s parents) on three separate occasions during our stay in Sri Lanka due to wanting to watch the cricket as well as explore the east coast. Each time our rooms were clean and well serviced. The staff were incredibly efficient and friendly. We organised all our internal travel through this hotel. Their prices were reasonable and the driver was courteous and always on time! It looks nothing from the outside, if anything, shabby. But the rooms are really modern and very clean. For the price we paid, the location, service and additional services provided was excellent. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Brent1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Front Office Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

Dear Brent1983



Thank you for the kind words! it was our pleasure to have been a service to you! We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again!






Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Location: The best thing about this hotel. It's located about 1km from the main entrance of Colombo Fort Train station, and 0.5km from the train terminal arrival gate (first exit). C

Staff: Adequate and pleasant. Quick check in / out (with prepaid booking).

Facilities: Room #1 is very noisy (right behind the front desk). Room #3 is a little better. Decent size, bathroom is clean. Like other customers have said, I find it odd that the hotel doesn't have blanket in the room. As Colombo is hot, and the AC is not very adjustable, I found out late in the night that it's too cold. Turned off the AC, and it's unbearably stuffy and hot. From the hotel's response to other reviewers, blankets are available on request. Letting customers know that they could request a blanket on check in would be a good solution. Not many people would know they could ask for a blanket in the middle of the night.

Common area has a kitchenette with microwave and water boiler.

Overall look is very quaint, more on the budget side rather than mid-range. Functional, not pleasant, neither a horror.

Services: Airport pickup / drop off are available, pricing is slightly cheaper than getting a cab. Colombo being an expensive city (for the quality of service it provides), I'd say it's an acceptable price. I took the big shuttle bus (AC, clean, and spacious) from the airport to Colombo Fort station (vs the normal $25-$35 USD cab fare), and on the way back to the airport, Uber slashes that cost in half.

Overall, the hotel is good for one night to transit to and from the train station.

Room tip: Avoid room 1, very noisy
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MAX C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Front Office Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

Dear maxxxc2017

Thank you for the detail review.

With regards to the Blankets; we do have a 24hr reception as an express service for all guest, therefore we are here anytime if any questions or problems arise.

Colombo, again, is not the coldest place. A simple adjustment to the A/C Temperature would have cleared any discomfort.

We do have a Super Deluxe room category, where the rooms are much bigger than the ones on the receptions floor.

Uber does slash the cost in half, yet we have drivers on call, anytime.

Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

The location is perfect. Walking distance to Fort railway station or Dutch Hospital Shopping Precinct within 10-15 minutes.
The room is clean, and you can enjoy some tea or coffee in public areas.
The hotel staff is very kind and enthusiastic, even we had a late check/in at midnight.
They will provide good recommendation for you trip. And help you call the tuktuk driver.
We had a great experience. Thank you so much.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scenic827853
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Front Office Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

Dear Elsa H

Thank you for the wonderful recommendation!! it was our pleasure to have been a service to you! We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again!


Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews