We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location and Good CP Value”
Review of Renuka City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renuka City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Location and Good CP Value”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here for four nights for business travel.
Comparing with the photos from others, I guess I stayed in the old wing as well.
The room in a little bit old but still comfortable.
For the wifi, you may need to call and ask front desk for id/ password.

I like the pool on the roof which faces Indian ocean even though it's smaller than the hotel homepage shows.
The food @ the basement is great.
From my friend's opinion, they offer one of the best Sri Lankan food which I love it.

Most important of all, the staffs I met are all friendly.
If I will come back to Colombo again, I will consider to stay here again.

Room Tip: try to get the room in new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Renuka City Hotel and was happy with the service provided by our staff. Many of our guest comment that our rooftop infinity pool is one of our highlights.
Our restaurant the Palmyrah serving authentic Sri Lankan cuisine has been world renowned for over 40 years. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meals there.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Renuka City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    276
    181
    39
    26
See reviews for
97
198
60
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent our first night in Sri Lanka at the Renuka City Hotel, our room was fairly basic- I think there are much newer rooms available from looking at other traveller's photos but the room was fine, the only issue was that it did smell vaguely of urine- it wasn't great, however we were tired, it was only for one night and it was fine. The porters were all really friendly- reception staff were a bit more frosty though! The best thing about this hotel was the restaurant in the basement- what a great introduction to Sri Lankan food!

Room Tip: From the looks of other traveller's photos there is quite a range in room quality- our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a first 2 nights in Sri Lanka. Very convenient location, room good size, comfortable and very clean! Pool and bar fantastic and a great place to relax away from hustle and bustle of city! Friendly staff.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VADODARA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

its located centraly and its worth if u want to shop and move around to buy stuffs at colombo the breakfast and rooms r ok the poperty is not that great i recommend that one should try for other hotels as rates of few hotels r similar but property is new

Room Tip: buy this only if u dont have options left out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYPATELVADODARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Goods:

Located near the shore - However, the views of the shore gets limited as the windows open towards the other side and not towards the shore.
Being a vegetarian, this hotel had less choice for us and I had a really difficult time. However, Hotel Amaravati is right opposite this place.
Banks are located right opposite and next to it.
You can reach to the shore in walking distance.
The Roof top swimming is beautiful as you can enjoy the sun set from there and the gym is fantastic as well.

Bads..

Can improve the lobby area.
Can improve the menu in the bar.
Can improve the options for vegetarians in the list.

I have stayed here twice, have used their banquets! h

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoravJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I booked looking at the pictures !. I booked a sea view room .. Look at the sea view that I had in the pic that I hve uploaded .! The staff refused to change saying they were full when surely the hotel was pretty empty .!

Apart from the pool being a nice place thre is nothing to this place! The other rooms have a beautiful view of the next door buildings wall and for the price this place is rubbish .!


Never her never wish it on my enemy .!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fabrizio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Please understand that we do not guarantee a sea view room. They are given only on availability, which was informed to you when you made the booking.
We have always strived to provide the best facilities and service possible in our price range.
All our 99 rooms (including 24 deluxe rooms) come equipped with a host of facilities, including flat screen TVs with local and cable channels, air-conditioning, safety deposit lockers, mini-fridges, 24hr room service, tea/coffee making facilities, bath amenities, Wi-Fi, IDD call facilities and much more.
We are centrally located in Colombo 3.
Our hotel facilities include a rooftop infinity pool with a fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, a restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan, Indian and Continental Cuisine, two well stocked bars, laundry and dry cleaning services, a business centre, airport transfers, parking facilities and much more.
I hope you will visit us again and try the full range of services we have to offer at Renuka City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

the only thing which is good about this hotel is the cleanliness..
the rooms was very small, the pillow was disaster ( cant sleep at my first night)the breakfast not much choices, the staffs lack of services..lucky near the hotel, u can find other restaurant to have meals..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaNtienya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Please note that we provide extra pillows on request.
We have a daily breakfast buffet that serves a full American breakfast with many Eastern options and Sri Lankan specialities at a very reasonable price.
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Roof top Infinity Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
1,759 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#17 of 52 in Colombo
101 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 52 in Colombo
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#20 of 52 in Colombo
284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#19 of 52 in Colombo
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Colombo
Ramada Colombo
#23 of 52 in Colombo
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renuka City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renuka City Hotel

Property: Renuka City Hotel
Address: 328 Galle Road | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Renuka)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renuka City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: Breakfast Buffet, 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renuka City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renuka Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing