We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Renuka City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renuka City Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Friendly staff, but way overpriced for the room/service you get.
Airport shuttle service is double the cost of a normal taxi,
The pool area is nice but lacking plants which make it quite sterile
They charge 10 USD for a b-fast that in an outside restaurant would cost 2 USD

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fulvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    272
    174
    39
    26
See reviews for
94
193
60
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed four nights at Renuka. We knew nothing about it but chose it for location (not too far from the city, temples, train station, etc, and being on south side, not too far from Mt Lavinia). We were very happy with it. Our room had a great view of the sea plus of an intervening lane way for interesting 'people watching'. The room was very comfortable - a good size and with a nice bathroom, everything fresh and clean. The laundry service was excellent and every staff member we saw had a smile and a greeting. The desk staff were very helpful and kind, including when we checked in at 4.00 am. The 'Palmyra' restaurant's Sri Lankan food was wonderful (we had all our breakfasts there, one lunch and I think 3 dinners, having tried 'outside' Sri Lankan food with limited success) and the rooftop bar with pool very welcome on a hot day (or any time). There is also a nice looking gym with views of the pool. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnAndJohn1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The locations is very good, staff is super friendly and helpful. Rooms are fine but totaly not worth
The price I paid for - almost 100$.
In addition, they overcharge for the airport pickup - 42$. Taking a taxi by yourself would cost Round 18-19$.
Would expect a better service from the hotel on that aspect. Not a bad hotel but I would recommend to find better value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The rooms in Renuka are large, well laid out and comfortable. However the roof top pool is tiny and the space around it also seems quite limited (although it never seemed crowded). Staff were helpful and friendly. My main recommendation would be to put more options for vegetarians on the room service menu; I stayed for several nights and found it very limited. There's a great Indian restaurant though just across the road and behind the bank - with lots of vegetarian options. Ask for rooms away from Galle Road if you want a bit more peace and quiet. My view was just the windows of the opposite Renuka block (and it felt a bit overlooked so mostly I kept curtains closed) but it was very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenGDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was my second stay here, it is an excellent hotel for a business stay with good laundry facilities and a reliable wifi connection. The pool and bar on the roof are a very welcome addition - excellent for watching the sunset.

The restaurant food is good and all the staff are helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the city wing at the back of the hotel if you like peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenLongsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked the old wing by mistake and the room looked like it was straight off a thai horror movie (think poor lighting and eerie atmosphere).

So we requested a change to the new wing (With a 15sgd top-up) and we were so glad with our decision. the room is very well furnished, mordern and clean. The porter was very friendly and offered useful tips to the city. (For info, the manager informed that they will be refurbishing the old wing soon.)

In terms of location, the establishment is great, and is conveniently located near eateries and shopping.

The infinity pool at the rooftop was very charming, and you should certainly try it.

Room Tip: Pick a room with the new wing (Renuka City)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We had read a number of reviews, and were not expecting too much-but we're pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It may be slightly expensive, but comparable with other Colombo hotels. We booked a room in the old wing and thought we may end up in a smoke tainted dated room, however our room was fresh and came with TV, room safe, toiletries, tea making, good AC, good shower.
Staff were really helpful. Having a drink near the roof top pool watching the sun set over the Indian Ocean was a bonus.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DEB0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renuka City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renuka City Hotel

Property: Renuka City Hotel
Address: 328 Galle Road | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Renuka)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renuka City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: Breakfast Buffet, 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renuka City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renuka Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing