We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable price. Good rooms. Poor view”
Review of Renuka City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renuka City Hotel
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Got a triple room. Good staff. Comfortable stay.poor view.renovation going on on the other block..Did not use the restaurant asi was trying out the surrounding eating out places. But supposed to be good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank armu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our Renuka Wing which is housed in the adjacent building to the Renuka City Wing (which is fully operational) is currently undergoing a complete refurbishment and it is expected to be completed by March 2015 to service you!

We hope you get to try our Palmyrah Restaurant which is renowned for its Authentic Sri Lankan cuisine for the last 40 plus years, on your next visit to Colombo. We have been known to have the best hoppers in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Customer Service - excellent and friendly. Make sure you tip the workers for there help. They rely on it a lot.

Food - Breakfast was phenomenal. The restaurant is also great during the day.

Room - okay, without being spectacular, but the shower and toilet worked well, which is the important thing. Rooftop pool was a highlight.

Location - Galle Road, where everything happens and good shopping and walks are all nearby. Be sure to visit Galle Face Green at night for excellent street food and kids toy stalls and also Crescat Towers for top end shopping nearby. One last recommendation for food is a place called Pilawoos which is walking distance from the hotel. Ask the staff for directions.

Beware - do not catch a tuc tuc from the front of any hotel in Sri Lanka. These drivers always say their meter doesn't work and overcharge. A 50m walk down to the main road will ensure you get a tuc tuc with a meter and are charged the correct price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear Mr. Damian

Thank you for your feedback. Service is our hotel’s main focus and we are glad to note that you enjoyed the warm hospitality of our staff.

Our front desk staff will always be ready to help you with your transport requirements; so kindly contact them should you require a metered taxi / tuc tuc and they will be happy to help.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Room modern and well presented with a view of the sea. Staff friendly and courteous. Good breakfast in the restaurant in the adjacent building. I think this hotel might be a mix of old and new so check out where you are booked. Great location for Central Colombo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear Mr. Craig,

Glad to note that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

You are right in noticing that we have 2 wings in our hotel, constructed at different times. We wish to keep you informed that the older wing (the Renuka Wing) is currently undergoing a complete refurbishment and is expected to be in operation with all the modern facilities and amenities by March 2015.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to see you again at Renuka City Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights when we landed in columbo. It's in columbo 3 which was 2800 which we organised at the airport after arrivals.

The hotel is clean and pleasant. Staff were really helpful.

The good points to this hotel are the pool area and restaurant. The pool is on the rooftop with loungers, chairs and bar as well a small pool and larger pool. We used the pool during the day but also had a drink before dinner up there on an evening. The pool area overlooks the beach. It also had an air conditioned gym with a number of pieces of equipment.

We got a tuk tuk to columbo fort train station to catch the train to matara. The tuk tuk was about 200.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Tink1981-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

We appreciate your review of Renuka City Hotel and are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is encouraging to note that our guests recognize the quality of our product and service.

We look forward to having you back with us on your future visits to Colombo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here for one night and had a decent experience. We were given the new part of the hotel and the room was spacious and well kept.The vantage of choosing this hotel is the location as its very near to good restaurants and other hotels.
The pool is small but good, thought the changing rooms are not all that great. the pool over looks the Ocean which reasonably gives you a minute of "WOW: moment.The food is a bit overpriced and the buffet breakfast options is pretty limited,but overall I will surely choose this hotel for my next visit to Colombo again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasha_pnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. While we are happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us, we are always trying to improve our product and service and would appreciate if you would take the time to give us some feedback on how we can improve our pool changing rooms and what specific items you would like to see on our breakfast buffet. We will try our best to implement these recommendations before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights before traveling around Sri Lanka. The new part of the hotel is much nicer and I had a better experience than friends who stayed in the older part. The room was spacious and clean with all the amenities needed. The pool area was average, however a welcome place to relax away from the busy city below.
I would stay here again and recommend it to others for a short stay in Colombo. The curry house down the road opposite to the hotel was fantastic.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new part of the hotel - not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Halcyon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is one of the worst hotel I have stayed.
Rooms are small which are not clean.
very little choice in breakfast
I stay with family, July 2014 period. Management didn't not oblige my request for late checkout; though I was willing to pay. They said I can stay for 3 extra hours after paying $180 dollars.
Hotel Manager did not have time to meet me when I wanted to speak to him for late checkout
He called me in the room after I asked several times that I want to see him
Arrogant manager who instead of listening to my complains about untidy room, mosquitos in the room said that I am unhappy because I am not being given late checkout.
Only plus point in the hotel is location. For the price you pay for this property; better pay some extra and stay in a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RajeshShahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#9 of 54 in Colombo
1,927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#12 of 54 in Colombo
145 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#19 of 54 in Colombo
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#20 of 54 in Colombo
225 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 54 in Colombo
1,440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Colombo
Ramada Colombo
#22 of 54 in Colombo
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renuka City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renuka City Hotel

Address: 328 Galle Road | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Renuka)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £58 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renuka City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: Breakfast Buffet, 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renuka City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renuka Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing