We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway in Colombo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Havelock Place Bungalow
Ranked #10 of 133 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hideaway in Colombo”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Havelock offers a good value retreat in Colombo with the main area of Colombo fort just 20/25 away in a tuk tuk. Retains an air of an old colonial villa though we felt the rooms were a little jaded and in need of some improvement. Charming garden area for a great breakfast. Did not eat there in the evening as only one Sri Lanka option was available on the dinner menu which was disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    113
    34
    7
    9
See reviews for
88
160
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Wonderful place to wind down in when arriving in colombo. Friendly and helpful staff fantastic bathrooms. Delicious food.lovely shaded seated area. Bedrooms very comfortable especially mattresses. Com

Room Tip: Charming outdoor bathrom in room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time off to review our property.Hopefully we will see you back at The bungalow someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Havelock Place Bungalow is a charming colonial house with several rooms/suites and a plunge pool. It was a great introduction to Sri Lanka with fantastic food on site (we especially loved the home made ice cream and slow cooked lemon curd tart!) I enjoyed the decor, but perhaps a little worn around the edges for the price? My only other criticism would be that some of the male staff were a little surly, especially when we arrived a little flustered off the plane. That aside, we would happily return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mirandatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.I am sorry you found the staff surly. I will definitely look into it as they are generally known to be helpful & friendly.Hope to see you back at The Bungalow someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Food amazing, room 5 quirky but lovely and private ( we were on honeymoon) and staff so kind and sweet. The best dinner we have had in Sri Lanka so far! Very impressive. Would return as such good value for money.

Room Tip: 5 has a small bedroom but enormous bathroom w outside shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecb186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.Glad you enjoyed the food and I am sure there would be something new on the menu if you do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in the oasis of Havelock town in January for one night and the restaurant at Havelock Place was recommended by friends. The cocktails, food and especially the desserts were great. As was the ambiance of the hotel which is really tastefully done - highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKelly186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble for reviewing our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you at The Bungalow someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This little place is calm, welcoming and very comfortable.

Possibly not the ideal location for those that want to hit the city's bars in the evening (it is a little far from the bars/restaurants), but it was a genuine pleasure the return to.

Pros: friendly staff; delicious breakfast; tranquil surrounds; comfortable & clean rooms.

Cons: not central (though an easy tuktuk ride away).

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JLASydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I haven't had the good fortune of staying at this boutique hotel nestled into a quiet by lane adorned with shade trees as every time I have made port in Colombo it's been full. Yet I have indulged in the ambience of it's outdoor dining area and savored the fare on their amazing menu and many a cold beer.

There's nothing quite like the Havelock Place Bungalow in the whole of Colombo. It's welcoming staff, almost homely atmosphere are exactly what jaded travelers like me, who've had enough of the ubiquitous 5 star hotel experience and would rather have something a little more relaxed, need.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to show your appreciation.Maybe you would be able to get a room with us when you are passing through in february
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.3 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Property: The Havelock Place Bungalow
Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Havelock Place Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governor, Hand-written Deed and Peppercorn The year was 1892 and what was known as "Ceylon" was under British rule. Governor Havelock transferred the title to the land (on which the bungalows are built), by a hand-written deed to the Havelock Building Company on the payment of Rs. 1307/- and a Peppercorn. The present owners purchased the properties in the mid 1980's and lived there. The Havelock Place Bungalow was first opened to guests in December 1999. In the city, yet miles away... If you've ever visited the Bungalow, you would have noticed how discreet we have been about our presence. To the casual passer-by, the Bungalow appears to be nothing more than an old colonial home. Only a plaque with the name 'Havelock Place Bungalow' engraved on it, indicates that we are open to guests. No wonder the Bungalow continues to be Colombo's best kept secret! We are conveniently located so if you are in the mood for a visit to the Museum, Independence Square, or Temples, or would like to go on a shopping spree, you can get to your destination in a matter of minutes. It's a jungle. But definitely not the concrete type... When you enter our gates and walk along the paved pathways, you realize you are in an oasis, away from the bustle of the city. Trees are an intrinsic part of the Havelock Place Bungalow experience. You can enjoy your breakfast while watching our garden come alive with a variety of birds and butterflies, or relax on a bench and gaze at the stars as night approaches. The surrounding foliage lends a quiet charm to every part of the Bungalow. Welcome to the Bungalow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Havelock Place Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing