We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Havelock Place Bungalow
Ranked #9 of 136 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect end to our trip”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

me and 2 of my friends stayed here for the last 2 nights of our trip in Sri Lanka and it was perfect, the rooms were beautiful and the staff were amazing. The food was grand (our room included breakfast) and my two friends ate here one night aswell and said it was really tasty. The pool was nice (no where to lounge about by the pool), we just placed towels on the grass area around as we wanted to soak up the last of the rays. There were various living room areas to sit if you didnt want to be in your room the whole time. Overall so pleased with our stay, it was like being in a home from home!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelodyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I am happy you did enjoy your stay with us after coming for one night and extending for two! Thank you for taking the time to review our property.See you back at The Bungalow someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    113
    34
    7
    9
See reviews for
88
160
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Havelock Place Bungalow Colombo, for 5 nights from the 27th March to 1st April.
We were absolutely delighted with the homely and friendly atmosphere the management availed to us.
The food is all home cooked and it was amongst the best we have eaten anywhere.
The room (no 5) we had was delightful. It had an open air bathroom that made our stay even more memorable.
Havelock Bungalow is not a hotel. It is stated in their brochure and therefore has an atmoshere completly different to the normal hotels. This place makes one feel that one is in Sri Lanka as it has a distinct identity.
We cannot recommend Havelock Bungalow highly enough, especially for those who seek out the uniqueness in places and want something different from the usual international anonomous places to stay.
We will always come back here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shahid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly room 5.It was a pleasure having both of you and hope to see you back at The bungalow sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here for our first 2 nights in Sri Lanka- and we don't think anywhere else will measure up! Service was outstanding and staff delightful.
We enjoyed the pool and sitting on the verandah in the morning and evening.
The food was absolutely amazing. The owner told us she enjoys cooking, and the menus show her love of food and flavours. On the first night we were tired after our flight and asked at 17.00 what time dinner was served - 'whenever you want it,' was the reply! So we had early dinner, early night, and good recovery from our flight.
The owner kindly looked at some old photos I had with me and told us where to find the buildings they showed. We were thrilled to see them, and would never have found them without her help.
Just wish we could have stay there for longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alternomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

by far the nicest and most welcoming place i stayed in during my stay in Sri Lanka. The owner is a superb chef worthy of a Michelin star and the old colonial style of the hotel made me feel as if i was living the life of a character from a novel written long ago..... Sri Lanka with all it's beauty can overwhelm you from time to time so the Havelock Place Bungalows with its squirrels and abundance of birds is the place to recommend to catch your breath........

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEEELA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.Hope you enjoy the next leg of your holiday in Bali.See you back at Havelock again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is simply beautiful place to stay. It has the sense of a Balinese villa mixed with the old world charm of colonial Colombo in a quiet and safe environment. The food was amazing - such a welcome treat to end my trip after a month's travelling around the island. I had a three-course lunch with some nice vino. Staff are very helpful and will do anything to help.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KatebAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Manager at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time off to review our property.I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and maybe we will see you back here sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastad, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed one night in this amazing place, amazing food, homemade ice cream, wonderful breakfast. And not forgetting a wonderful pool with jacuzzi that our family loved to swim in .The staff was very helpful. Would love to come back to this oasis.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time off to review our property. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed for a couple nights. Very polite and helpful management and staff. The grounds are lovely. Room #5 was great. Loved the unique raised platform bed. Oddly enough though, the high point of the room is the bathroom. Difficult to explain except to say that it's open air. Lovely concrete and stone design.

Try the homemade ice cream.


  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time off to review our property.I am glad you liked Room 5 and it's unique bathroom. Our ice creams are very popular and I am glad you had an opportunity to try them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,283 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Property: The Havelock Place Bungalow
Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Havelock Place Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governor, Hand-written Deed and Peppercorn The year was 1892 and what was known as "Ceylon" was under British rule. Governor Havelock transferred the title to the land (on which the bungalows are built), by a hand-written deed to the Havelock Building Company on the payment of Rs. 1307/- and a Peppercorn. The present owners purchased the properties in the mid 1980's and lived there. The Havelock Place Bungalow was first opened to guests in December 1999. In the city, yet miles away... If you've ever visited the Bungalow, you would have noticed how discreet we have been about our presence. To the casual passer-by, the Bungalow appears to be nothing more than an old colonial home. Only a plaque with the name 'Havelock Place Bungalow' engraved on it, indicates that we are open to guests. No wonder the Bungalow continues to be Colombo's best kept secret! We are conveniently located so if you are in the mood for a visit to the Museum, Independence Square, or Temples, or would like to go on a shopping spree, you can get to your destination in a matter of minutes. It's a jungle. But definitely not the concrete type... When you enter our gates and walk along the paved pathways, you realize you are in an oasis, away from the bustle of the city. Trees are an intrinsic part of the Havelock Place Bungalow experience. You can enjoy your breakfast while watching our garden come alive with a variety of birds and butterflies, or relax on a bench and gaze at the stars as night approaches. The surrounding foliage lends a quiet charm to every part of the Bungalow. Welcome to the Bungalow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Havelock Place Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing