We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful & quiet place with nice people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Havelock Place Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Havelock Place Bungalow
Ranked #9 of 130 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful & quiet place with nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

Right in the city centre. A very nice old house with only a few rooms. So peacefull.
Beds are also very old, but that's the only bad point.
Beautiful garden, with a small swimming pool.
Very nice people to take care of you.
Dining here is also a very special moment. An original menu to help you really feel out of that crazy world.

  • Liked — ambiance
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brigand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    113
    33
    7
    8
See reviews for
84
159
22
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

This is a wonderful place to stay in the heart of Colombo, though you'd never know you were in the middle of a busy, noisy city. Our room and common areas were beautifully decorated with wonderful furniture and provided a comfortable setting in which to relax completely. Though we didn't have an opportunity to use the pool, it looked extremely inviting. The dining area in the garden is exquisite and the food was superb. The attention given to detail, from the decor to the varying menus is extremely impressive. Overall, a comforting, relaxing place to stay, and a hotel with tremendous character (unlike a great many over-priced 'chain hotels' that have sprouted up all over Sri Lanka over the last decade).

  • Liked — Character/ambience/food.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller50Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2007

Arrived 2am, everyone asleep except huge cockroach in our room.Nauseating smell in rooms, in mattresses and bedding, Shabby holed towels. Tiny dark, cave like rooms with inadequate wardrobes. Requested vegan breakfast was rock hard polystyrene toast, dairy margarine and jam. The fruit was vegan! W'ed expected dahl and rice or something local. Dining area filled with mosquitoes. $150 dollars a night was robbery considering the damaged tourist market.We had planned to return to the Bungalows at the end of our 3 weeks,but cancelled.

Helpful?
4 Thank blondehcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2006

We found it good to be based outside the main hotel area as it felt safer (less security) and we found we could walk around without attracting too much attention. It was easy to get a trishaw to other places.

The room (no. 5) was interesting - bathroom partially outside and bed on raised stone platform. The space was limited and there was nowhere to hang clothes but it had a nice, cosy feel to it.

The food is quite good and the garden is pretty. The pool is small - suitalbe for a dip. We found the staff rather quiet and they seemed to be just hanging around a lot of the time. They were nice enough but no-one really bothered to talk to us.

Overall, we liked staying out of the usual area and found it a relaxing base.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2005

We stayed at the Havelock on our last night in Sri Lanka. Very nicely done although the pool on the web site is deceiving not really a pool more like the size of a pond and not really anywhere to sunbath/relax around. All the rooms claim to have there own garden off the room all we had was a very small dark and gloomy concreted area certainly not a garden. The actual rooms were nice enough, clean and simply done but I have never slept in such a hard bed in all my years of travelling.I had to check to see if they had left the mattress off but it was there though a plank of wood would of done the same job. Our room also had the very stong smell of cinnamon which we couldn't find the source of and as myself and husband dislike the smell it wasn't very relaxing as i guess was the aim.The hosts were friendly enough and as we were only staying for one night i didn't complain about the beds though there is no way i would of slept there for any longer and i can sleep anywhere normally.
The food was all home cooked and very nice desserts.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank soo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Colombo
Casa Colombo
#14 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
2.2 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 130 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Property: The Havelock Place Bungalow
Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Havelock Place Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governor, Hand-written Deed and Peppercorn The year was 1892 and what was known as "Ceylon" was under British rule. Governor Havelock transferred the title to the land (on which the bungalows are built), by a hand-written deed to the Havelock Building Company on the payment of Rs. 1307/- and a Peppercorn. The present owners purchased the properties in the mid 1980's and lived there. The Havelock Place Bungalow was first opened to guests in December 1999. In the city, yet miles away... If you've ever visited the Bungalow, you would have noticed how discreet we have been about our presence. To the casual passer-by, the Bungalow appears to be nothing more than an old colonial home. Only a plaque with the name 'Havelock Place Bungalow' engraved on it, indicates that we are open to guests. No wonder the Bungalow continues to be Colombo's best kept secret! We are conveniently located so if you are in the mood for a visit to the Museum, Independence Square, or Temples, or would like to go on a shopping spree, you can get to your destination in a matter of minutes. It's a jungle. But definitely not the concrete type... When you enter our gates and walk along the paved pathways, you realize you are in an oasis, away from the bustle of the city. Trees are an intrinsic part of the Havelock Place Bungalow experience. You can enjoy your breakfast while watching our garden come alive with a variety of birds and butterflies, or relax on a bench and gaze at the stars as night approaches. The surrounding foliage lends a quiet charm to every part of the Bungalow. Welcome to the Bungalow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Havelock Place Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing