We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Global Towers Hotel
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is located opposite to the sea shore and is ideal for vacation or business stay. The rooms though small are comfortable and neat and clean. The reception is very courteous and friendly. The food is very good and all varieties available.

Room Tip: C type apartments are very small with little moving space. Opt for A or B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsk0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Dirty apartment room floors and kitchen, noisy a lot of the time, unattentive staff- except the front doorman in the hat. Tiny pool, noisy just about working ac, shabby fittings, generally worn and tired all over.
Really should be your last resort at the prices.
Really needs quite a few quid spending on it to bring it into the 21st century
Nice sea view to the front where you can see a place to get good food across the road in the beach restaurant Wadiya.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loggyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 8th November for 3 nights as all the 5-stars in Colombo were blocked for CHOGM dignatories. The location of the hotel is good and it faces the sea. The rooms ar every basic and do not justify the price of USD 155 per night that we paid. The rooms are extremely small, AC's noisy, inadequate draperies as the light seeps through the curtains in the morning. The service is bad as my request for an extra pillow took several reminders and then I had to finally hunt a housekeeping staff on my floor and literally beg him for an extra pillow. The amenities provided are pathetic - bathroom soaps and shampoo are poor quality, even the creamer sachet provided with tea/coffee maker in room is sub-standard quality! Wonder why the hotel cannot spend a little bit on these to make its guests feel better!! The restaurant food is bad and takes hours to prepare. we ordered Pizza and Club sandwich which took almost 50 minutes to arrive and both the items were downright BAD! I do not reccommend anyone to stay here at a price of more than 30-40 USD per night as it does NOT deserve any higher tariff!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amreekibilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

we have meeting in there in last week its nice location easy to reach . near to beach nice location but Average Service
food also Average not up to there level very small to choos..........
After 1 st day they change our meeting room they use bar change the setting its not fit to meeting......

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praba_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night and had an apartment. The quality of rooms was not that great. No blankets available in the room either and the beds were hard for some of us to sleep in. Food in the main restaurant was just ok. No good view either of the beach. We had a 23 inch TV amongst the two rooms.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Owaais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

You call house keeping or room service or reception nobody will be going to answer your call in evening time. We wanted a blanket, for that have to wait for one and half hour after going down to the reception twice. Rooms are very small and uncomfortable, when we asked the manager to give us a big room, he denied. Free wifi in the lobby is just a charity without any cause. It doesnt works at all. From god's grace able to find nice food in its restaurant and a good waiter who served us well...Rest the staff doesn't bother to serve you.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Priyanka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It's a below average hotel. Rooms are small and cramped with furniture. The air conditioning seems to be from a different era where the part of the room the duct faces is cold and the rest of the room is hot. There were no towels beside the sink in the bathrooms. There were no blankets on the bed. The bed only had a bedspread. The service was bad and it took about forty five mins for someone to come up and fix all these problems. The food was bad and the croissants served were stale. The internet connection kept fluctuating. The reception desk took half an hr to check us in. There was no one to help us with our luggage and we had to drag it up about 10 steps to reach the lift. All the electric sockets in the room were designed to cater to European gadgets. As the sockets in India and Sri Lanka are the same, we had not carried a universal electric socket with us. The hotel did not do anything about it, but it was an overnight stay and my phone pulled through the night. I will never go to this hotel again and unless there are drastic changes made in the all the above, I think it would be wise if you could put this one as the last hotel in your list of places to stay in Colombo.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sosale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 55 in Colombo
1,555 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pearl Grand Hotel
Pearl Grand Hotel
#28 of 55 in Colombo
300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Elyon Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.6 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#26 of 55 in Colombo
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Towers Hotel

Address: 11 Marine Drive, Colombo 00900, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £38 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Global Towers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Global Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing