We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip to colombo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Global Towers Hotel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Worse hotel..thats the only one word is enough for this hotel to describe.pls ppl becareful dont waste ur money for this junk.front desk was not professional. Room was not for Two ppl at all its like a nest.no place to walk keep ur tiny luggage u can keep.pathetic

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bashonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Global Towers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

5 days of a very bad experience, internet pictures looked great, make sure that the kitchen is fully equipt with plates, pots and pans as well as cooking and eating utensil. .The staff telephone in the hallway never stopped ringing and sleep was impossible, bread van played music early in the morning and woke people up before day light. Be prepared to spend your own time cleaning and providing feed back.

Room Tip: Mae sure your room is clean and fridge and stove is working, also make sure that the kitchen is full...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BenteJobsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for three nights. As we were travelling as a family we took a three bedroom apartment. It was absolute value for money. To begin with,check in was smooth and guest friendly. Front office lady was real nice. The rooms were clean and fresh. The bathrooms too were clean and spotless. The view from the rooms were fantastic overlooking the Indian Ocean with amazing sunsets to gaze on. Global towers is located on marine drive and the iconic sea food Resturant of Colombo ...Beach Wadiya..is just opposite. On the whole a great place to stay with the family.
Flip side,kitchen though well equipped,smelled musty. No blankets here again. Also beds are all queen sized! A little passing train notice tends to wake you up early.

Room Tip: Take ocean facing rooms if you can bear a little railway noice.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2002arjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Good hotel to stay if you plan to get around Colombo on your own. Easy to hire three wheelers outside the hotel. The staff are friendly and the room small but comfortable. The food is priced reasonably but not that great. However there are other fantastic options around Colombo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pazza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a good hotel to stay in Colombo if you are coming to Sri Lanka with your family or in a group of 2-3 families. They have 2 and 3 bedroom apartments without kichenettes. So its a comfortable place for families and also reasonably priced.

Breakfast is good and the restaurant A'la Ca-rte menu is also ok.

Internet is chargeable in the rooms and you can use the net on one device only which is a bit of a hitch. Once you log out of one device you should be able to login to the other device using the same username and id. Al least 2 devices should be allowed.

The staff is courteous and friendly. The response time form the House keepers is very very slow. Ask something in the morning and you will surely get by evening. They need to improve on that.

Overall a good place for the families and business travelers can also consider if they are OK with the apartment style rooms. The other rooms in the apartment will be occupied by different people with separate entrance to each room. Thank God all rooms have attached bathrooms.

In a nutshell "A reasonably priced hotel" for families and business travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pulkit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Global Towers Hotel is brilliant for family sight-see, we are 6 people went Nov 13, the hotel is very compatible and friendly staff and management. Also variety of food creates us very well-matched.
We were in the front sea view apartment rooms; Rooms and Apartments are located right in front of the beach & all rooms have attached bath & WC facilities. Our children are enjoyed pool and play garden.

Room Tip: Front sea view apartment
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel in November 2013 for one night. The nightmare started at the check in itself. They could not find our names even though we had booked 4 months in advance. After waiting for quite some time they finally managed to give us a room. The rooms are too small to be comfortable. The less said about the service the better. We wanted extra teacups in our room. After calling about twice they came after 2 hours, but by that time we had already gone to KFC next door and had tea! Will not recommend this hotel at all.
albizia09

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank albizia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#26 of 54 in Colombo
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#12 of 54 in Colombo
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mirage Hotel Colombo
Mirage Hotel Colombo
#30 of 54 in Colombo
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#24 of 54 in Colombo
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#23 of 54 in Colombo
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Towers Hotel

Address: 11 Marine Drive, Colombo 00900, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £41 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Global Towers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Global Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing