We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Global Towers Hotel
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here with friends. The location is simply superb. The beach is just across the road. You have a KFC next door. Also a sea food restaurant Beach Wadia just across the road - good food, but over priced. The restaurant in the hotel is reasonably priced, but the food is just fine, can not be called great. You have the hotel cabs, they drop you free of cost to the Casinos. For other places, three wheel metered taxies are available once you get on the road. They are reasonably priced. Insist on a room with the sea facing balcony. Service is not quick, probably the service team could not handle the full occupancy the hotel had during our stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

The location of this hotel is good. Its on Marine Drive and faces the beach. Its well equipped with a restaurant and bar. The bar has karaoke nights during weekends. The check in is a breeze as the front desk staff try and accommodate you as fast as possible even if there was a bevy of us checking in at the same time. The bar is well stocked, but the bar menu is sparse and the food is not that great. If you dont want to go out much, even the 'Beach Wadia' bar right across the property which is good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Staying with 3 couples we were assigned a 9th floor 3 roomed apartment. Nice clean rooms, great views, en suite with every room, nice lounge area. The A/C didn't work when we got to the room, took an hour for them to fix it but OK afterwards. Kettle in kitchen didn't work, took them an hour to replace it. We had to threaten to leave the hotel before above faults were attended to.

Telephone in the lobby outside our suite rang frequently with no one ever answering it.

Restaurant was good for dinner, fair prices and well prepared food. Breakfast buffet was dissapointing with fresh cooked eggs the only good thing available unless you like cold curry and stale pastries.

The wifi is free in the lobby (when it was working which was about half the time) but you have to pay to receive it in the room...not only that but at $8.00 per DEVICE per 24 hours this is ridiculous. Our party had 8 wifi devices in total, so two days internet would have cost $128.

Views from the front of the hotel are great but you'll get lots of train noise, especially morning and evening rush hours.

Room Tip: Great views from ocean facing rooms but very noisy trains during morning and evening rush hour. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times since I arrived in Sri Lanka in Nov 2012. I liked this hotel as it faces the sea and give an spectacular view. There are several restaurant around to choose and have fun. However, when it comes to services inside the hotel, I always had a complaints, especially on the quality of rooms as they promised. Since last 3-4 visits, I was not given the expected standard of room. Sometime, you don't find a safety box, TV, writing desk and sometime all in one, compacted in a very small room – making difficult to move. I have made this complaints and requested to have such improvement and hope when I check in again next time (next week), I will have no more complain. One big challenge here is the disturbance from the train moving round the clock from just in front of the hotel.
In addition, I would like to recommend the hotel management to teach some etiquette and principles of hospitality to their restaurant staff as every time, I visited the restaurant during the breakfast, I never saw anyone bothering even to ask if I need water or tea/coffee. Even to ask for something, one has to call them several times and finally when they come, they come with arrogant mood - no smiles at all. Looks like they are forced to work their.....but this should not be the case.

Beside these two issues, rest all okay in this hotel and I liked this very much.

Room Tip: High floor from the back side - not facing the road if you want to have quite sleep. In case you lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mukesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Worse hotel..thats the only one word is enough for this hotel to describe.pls ppl becareful dont waste ur money for this junk.front desk was not professional. Room was not for Two ppl at all its like a nest.no place to walk keep ur tiny luggage u can keep.pathetic

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bashonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

5 days of a very bad experience, internet pictures looked great, make sure that the kitchen is fully equipt with plates, pots and pans as well as cooking and eating utensil. .The staff telephone in the hallway never stopped ringing and sleep was impossible, bread van played music early in the morning and woke people up before day light. Be prepared to spend your own time cleaning and providing feed back.

Room Tip: Mae sure your room is clean and fridge and stove is working, also make sure that the kitchen is full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bente J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for three nights. As we were travelling as a family we took a three bedroom apartment. It was absolute value for money. To begin with,check in was smooth and guest friendly. Front office lady was real nice. The rooms were clean and fresh. The bathrooms too were clean and spotless. The view from the rooms were fantastic overlooking the Indian Ocean with amazing sunsets to gaze on. Global towers is located on marine drive and the iconic sea food Resturant of Colombo ...Beach Wadiya..is just opposite. On the whole a great place to stay with the family.
Flip side,kitchen though well equipped,smelled musty. No blankets here again. Also beds are all queen sized! A little passing train notice tends to wake you up early.

Room Tip: Take ocean facing rooms if you can bear a little railway noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2002arjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 55 in Colombo
1,551 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Elyon Colombo
1.3 mi away
Pearl Grand Hotel
Pearl Grand Hotel
#27 of 55 in Colombo
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#28 of 55 in Colombo
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo
0.8 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Towers Hotel

Address: 11 Marine Drive, Colombo 00900, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £38 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Global Towers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Global Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing