We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic stay in the heart of Colombo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 130 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
western australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“fantastic stay in the heart of Colombo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We loved our stay at the Lake Lodge, beautiful boutique hotel in a very convenient yet peaceful location. The staff was wonderful and assisted us solving an issue we had with a bag forgotten in a tranfer taxi. The best bed in our 4 weeks in SL !!!
Highly recommended

Room Tip: originally booked a downstairs room but changed to an upstairs one which was more pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    240
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
88
436
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Great location for sights, easy walking around. The hotel and rooms are very nice, the only bad point is the noise. No walls are soundproofed in Sri Lanka.. We had a ground floor room and were waken up by staff preparing breakfast from 6am. 
Breakfast could be improved, you need to pay extra for a fresh fruit juice.. Wifi works well. Be careful with the tuktuk outside the hotel they charge tourist prices, double or triple a metered tuktuk price. 

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JessQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was by far the nicest stay throughout my whole trip to Sri Lanka. It was clean, had running hot water (something of a luxury in Sri Lanka), the food & beverages were good and the staff very helpful and polite. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank locrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a stunning small boutique hotel. Located in the centre of Colombo, only a few minutes riksha ride to places of interest. We felt super comfortable when arriving in Colombo from Europe to start our trip through Sri Lanka and were lucky to enjoy our last night before flying home. Quiet, stylish, clean and with a friendly and welcoming staff. The hotel not only serves an excellent sri lankan breakfast (you will remember this long time after you leave) but has nice drinks and tasty food to enjoy in the outside terrance/open lounge on the first floor. For the design and personal touch, it is more than worth to consider this place in favour to the large hotel chains and the price is also unbeaten.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilMoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our stay at lake lodge was very brief (one night) however we had a very nice time at this place. The Hotel in itself is very beautifully done up and the service is brilliant. It was our last day in Sri Lanka after a hectic week of travelling around the country, so we were very tired. Lake Lodge is a very quiet place right by the Lake in the heart of Colombo. Also very close by to most of the major restaurants and shopping centres which is a big plus! Overall a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: First Floor rooms have a nice verandah sit out with a beautiful view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyam2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stylish and sleek , think tasteful concrete and timber ,with attentive service this is a wonderful small hotel in the heart of Colombo. The food here was beautifully presented and very tasty and they mix a great mojito. Comfy beds, best shower in Sri Lanka - highly recommend

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elistaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at this very well run and designed boutique hotel. Located very close to the best restaurants,sites and shopping.the staff go out of their way to make sure your stay will be pleasant and enjoyable, whether helping to arrange transport,laundry and extended checkouts.lake Lodge is the perfect respite from the humidity and chaos that combine to make Colombo trying at times.during our stay every requisite was met with a warm smile,and a check that everything was as expected.we'll certainly recommend Lake Lodge to all our friends

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hardwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
2.2 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taru Villas - Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Property: Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 01000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taru Villas - Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing