We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet haven in manic Colombo ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 138 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet haven in manic Colombo ”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Lake lodge is a quiet haven in manic Colombo. Down a quiet private road and gated for security! Not that it is needed the area is safe.

Right by the lake. Feels very relaxed even though the city is manic. Walking distance to Gangaramaya Temple. Cheaply available Tuk Tuk.

Stayed in a beautiful first floor room. Spacious. Lovely shower.

Staff lovely and kind. Food great! Excellent breakfast!

Recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LexxieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    254
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
93
464
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We consider ourselves lucky to have found this hotel for our three-night stay. And wise to ignore those who said that Colombo was not worth visiting. I had a hard time internet searching for a hotel in Colombo. The spare but simply elegant decor at this relatively small hotel suited our taste, as did the price. The location was excellent. Excellent food, worth waiting for (and you will wait.) The nearby National Museum was worth a visit, notwithstanding its hot airlessness. And the nearby Seema Malakaya temple/meditation structure, designed by the late Geoffry Bawa, is a gem of modern Buddhist design.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was recommended to stay at lake lodge and am pleased that I was. We booked the garden villa it was a great choice. The room was beautifully appointed and the villa had its own private courtyard.
The food and wine was superb as was the management and staff.
We found this hotel very central and would recommend it.
Could not fault one thing
We will be back

Room Tip: Any room would be fine but we had the garden villa and it was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chez2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramsbottom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here in May 2014. Good position close to the lake. Very quiet and peaceful considering its position. Stayed 2 nights and had excellent food and service. Comfortable rooms and bed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazylady48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 for 2nights. Well located in Colombo city - walking distance but in a quiet location. Spacious, clean rooms. We had the Sri Lankan breakfast one morning and we were not disappointed - delicious! Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lava_tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location - you can walk to the excellent National Museum through the city gardens. Lovely hotel design and nice clean rooms - we stayed for two nights. The staff gave good service, and the bed was nice and big for the tall one. Impressive looking room, but no outlook and pillows like large bricks. Complimentary water bottle one day, but not the next. Food was fine - but we had better curries and breakfasts in vastly cheaper places... tough call for a hotel to be last in our 3 week trip of excellent food :) After 3 weeks of freshly squeezed juice, reconstituted stuff that was slightly off was an unnecessary addition to breakfast.
There wasn't hot water in the shower, and when we mentioned this on checkout, they said we should have mentioned it, as it was cloudy so the solar hot water wouldn't have worked so well, and they could have put on the booster. They could probably have predicted this and put on the booster without being asked. I realise this is good value for the location, but our expectations were high after staying in so many great places, and when paying 3 times as much as in regional areas.
I'd be happy enough to stay again, but I'd lower my expectations - understand completely where girlinagirdle is coming from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our stay in Lake lodge was broken into two. On our first bit, we stayed in the ground floor double room that was simple and comfortable. Just your typical double room. When we came back to Colombo for the second bit, we stayed in the Garden suite which was fantastic. The privacy we had while eating our meals out in the open was great. The room was also airier and had more space to work around with which served our purpose perfectly. The extra $25 for the room is totally worth it. The Complimentary breakfast was good though the other meals are a little on the pricier side. Also during our stay in the Garden suite; the A/C broke down which took about 4 hours to repair. A bit of an inconvenience but I guess such things do happen now and then.

Room Tip: Book for the Garden Suite for that extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FaisalKhatib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
1,758 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.3 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taru Villas - Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Property: Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 01000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taru Villas - Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing