We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay by the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colombo Beach Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colombo Beach Hostel
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay by the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Colombo Beach Hostel, made especially great by Raja who was always there to help with anything we needed and was lovely to chat to. The rooms are clean and newly done but I would say that the one aspect which tainted my stay was the manager, Angelo. Angelo was rude, grumpy and spoke to other employees in a foul manner as well as making them to do some ridiculous, and in my eyes demeaning, tasks. For example, rub cream onto his chest for him as well as call for someone to fetch things for him that were in arms reach. This caused quite a lot of discomfort among my group as well as another group we spoke to at the same hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davisrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    51
    21
    8
    0
See reviews for
1
42
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

2 minute walk from the beach, big clean rooms and bathrooms, and huge roof terrace. Very friendly member of staff called Raja who is an absolute pleasure to meet! Wifi in the lobby with cushions and tea and coffee facilities- good place to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tisfortravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights and loved it. The building is clean and modern. The dorm rooms are spacious with good lockers and excellent en suites. There's a communal room with free tea, coffee an filtered water and a great roof top area. It was a great place to chill out and meet fellow backpackers. Close to the beach and galle rd for shops and places to get food.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our room had four beds (bunker beds) and worked out well for us as we were a group of four guys. It cost $10 per bed per night (excluding breakfast). The hosts are very helpful and friendly. Good wi-fi signal. Good location - some 10 minute walk from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

i took a taxi here from the airport when i landed and was welcome to a friendly new clean place to stay by the beach for a few days. i spent a few days here relaxing, drinking beer and planning my trip onward. we had a great new years eve party on the roof with family and friends of the owners and other travellers. I've stayed in guesthouses and hostels around the world and this one is at the top of the list. incredibly clean, new, and at a budget rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nufan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

dorms or private rooms, a shared livingroom with TV and computer and outdoor area. really close to the beach and lots og bars and restaurants.(but go up the street if you want cheaper and more local food). downside is that it's far away from city center.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silje610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights. It’s a great place to stay because it is clean, minimalist and modern. I was a solo female traveller and felt very safe. Having a locker for my stuff in the dorm was great too.

If you want it to be, it’s a sociable place, with people drawn to the lobby/main room for the wifi. It also has a lovely roof terrace where you can sit at night and chat over food and drink you’ve brought in from outside.

It is very conveniently located, just a two minute walk from the beach, a 5 minute walk from several restaurants, an internet cafe, a supermarket. You can easily get an auto into town or there are very frequent buses that you can catch very nearby.

Room Tip: Get a bottom bunk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.0 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
5.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
5.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#5 of 127 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel at Galle Face
Hostel at Galle Face
#1 of 127 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
4.1 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 130 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Beach Hostel

Property: Colombo Beach Hostel
Address: 30 De Saram Road | Mount Lavinia, Colombo 10370, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colombo Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colombo Beach Hostel - #30 De Saram Road , a boutique city hostel conveniently located 15 minutes off Colombo City and at close proximity to the Mount Lavinia Beach .Within Walking distance to the beach ,banks, supermarkets , restaurants etc. CBH provides affordable, simple, clean & comfortable accommodation suitable for backpackers & budget travelers . Equipped with comfortable lounge and rooftop area to relax after the busy city. Room types :Dorm beds with private lockers - Double bed rooms with attached bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Colombo Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing