We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, bustling hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Large, bustling hotel.”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This hotel has one of the busiest lobbies you are likely to see. The fact that coffee shop, pastry shop, bar etc are located opposite the entrance create a chaotic feel unbecoming of a luxury hotel. To top it all, there is a conference facility in the atrium lobby of the new wing! I can only wonder about the noise in the rooms due to this. There are people milling around all day and night!
The rooms in the old wing are adequate but not luxurious. Perhaps a tad old. The bathrooms have tubs and desperately need an upgrade. The rooms are quiet and comfortable enough, however ours faced into an empty lot used for dumping garbage. Nasty!
The service at the hotel is courteous but slow.
The restaurants are nice. The food is tasty across most of them and Nuga Gama a must try.
The hotel has all the facilities one would expect. However, going for a swim in the main pool late evening was an unnerving experience. It was dark and no lifeguard. And diners across 3 restaurants stared at you!
Overall, a nice hotel but the chaotic lobby situation requires a rethink by the management.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for taking time to share your feedback.

Whilst appreciating the compliments on our culinary delights, we are sorry if you were in any way inconvenienced due to the room and the view. We have also taken note of your comments on our service and will certainly ensure that such repetitions do not take place in the future.

We trust you will continue to patronize the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, on your future visits to Sri Lanka.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,762
    1,233
    325
    124
    90
See reviews for
728
927
209
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Initially we were a bit undecided on this hotel due to some of the negative reviews.

However the place has been refurbished.

First thing that hits you is the size of the lobby. Very spacious.

The rooms are nice and clean as well. It has all the basic amenities one would need. They have a pillow menu as well.

The breakfast was average though and has an international spread. Wish there was more local food to sample.

Only stayed one night so we did not have time to try any of the in-house restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveNLetLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted to learn you had a pleasant and comfortable stay at our hotel, and would thank you for the words of praise on our design and amenities, many a guest has complimented on the size and elegance of our lobby and we appreciate your sentiments on this.

It is our endeavour to provide the best possible experience for all our valued guests and we look forward to welcome you back, should you visit Sri Lanka again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

One of the best location in Colombo. Laways busy, crowded, nice music 'n good restaurents.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela Vladimir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here whilst visiting Colombo for the cricket and hotel prices were exhorbitent at this time due to the cricket. We were very pleased that we booked this hotel well in advance as although you pay quite a lot to stay there the standard was excvellent. The location was also superb. We could easily have paid far more for a hotel far inferior to this one. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkyPinkyPinkyPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for staying at Cinnamon Grand Colombo and we do appreciate your review on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back, to indulge you with more of our Cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I again stayed at the Cinnamon Lakeside in Colombo, the 2nd time this year and again was greeted at the door by the executive manager by my surname. All the staff were very polite and helpful once again. On this visit i took a tuctuc to the Cinnamon Grand. This hotel was even bigger with loads more to do. There was a caberet or band on every evening outside and was very relaxing and entertaining. This hotel is good for either the young or enthusiastic people looking for loads to do. I would still prefer to stay at the calmer but delightful surroundings of the Cinnamon Lakeside. Both outstanding and value for money. The only other sway to the Grand for me would be the superb Italian restaurant. Excellant!!

Room Tip: At the Lakeside, without doubt a Lakeside view executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eamonncotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for staying at Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We appreciate your valuable feedback on our facilities, service and entertainment and we are also very pleased that you liked our choice of restaurants, in particular the Italian restaurant.

Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back at Cinnamon Grand, in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grindelwald, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at the Cinnamon Grand at the end of our 14 day trip through Sri Lanka. On arrival, the entrance for is spectacular - huge foyer with a central water feature, comfortable chairs, coffee tables and grand light fittings. The reception desk almost is insignificant amongst the vastness! The hotel is situated close to the main shopping areas and the Galle Face Green which is a nice place for a stroll amongst the families enjoying the public space.

Check in was trouble free and efficient, even after we requested a room in an upper floor. Our room overlooked the lake and buildings of Colombo - not spectacular, but we were happy to have a view of the city. The room itself was lovely, marble bathroom with a bath and good selection of toiletries, big comfortable bed, flat screen TV with good reception! To my delight they had an iron and an ironing board which many of the other hotels did not..... If you wanted something ironed you had to send it to the laundry and pay a small fee - a nuisance when you wanted a T shirt pressed.

The selection of restaurants was great and really inexpensive for a hotel of this calibre. We ate in the Lagoon seafood restaurant and the food was excellent. The pool area was a nice respite amongst the city noise.

We had a late check out on our second day but when we came back to our room, we were locked out. We had to ask the reception desk to re - activate our room cards, apparently a computer glitch!

We enjoyed our stay here, but after staying in other hotels throughout Sri Lanka there was something missing from the Cinnamon Grand. Sure it's slick, efficient and attractive, but it lacks warmth and personalised service. It is used by many business people who no doubt would not be looking for a warm, fuzzy feeling from their stay, but we were.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for staying at Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our amenities, services and location very much to your liking.

We are also pleased that you liked the selection of our reasonably priced restaurants, the Lagoon Seafood Restaurant, in particular.

Whilst appreciating your feedback, we look forward to welcome you once again to Cinnamon Grand Colombo, in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinant, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I spent 4 days in the Cinnamon Grand from 30-Apr till 04-May. Very nice hotel!

Very convenient, executive floor rooms are simply great. Same for the executive lounge!

Very pleasant stay! I recommend the hotel and I'll for sure stay there during my next trip.

Laurent

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent_Dresse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for choosing the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are happy you enjoyed the comfort and facilities at our executive floor and thank you for the encouraging words on TripAdvisor.

We hope to have the opportunity to delight you with more of our Cinnamon Hospitality, on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 54 in Colombo
2,046 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#14 of 54 in Colombo
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing