We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre hotel with gardens in Colombo, Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“City centre hotel with gardens in Colombo, Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

A lovely city centre hotel in Colombo set in beautiful gardens. Very busy hotel but plenty of space for everyone. Lovely swimming pool and pool bar service for drinks and food.
Lagoon seafood restaurant excellent - choose your seafood/fish from a counter and then the menu is how you want it cooked. The best seafood chowder ever.
Tau fine dining restaurant - sitting outside by the pool with large fish - wonderful food, excellent service.
Executive room was very large and had every facility you could want.
Excellent breakfast to suit all tastes.
Next to a shopping mall.
In-house salon for hair and nails - or more in the shopping mall.
We attended a wedding here and it was organised very well with wonderful food.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndac00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

It was a pleasure reading your review on TripAdvisor and we are glad you had a memorable stay at our hotel and enjoyed the facilities, services, location and of course the food and choice of restaurants.

We note with pleasure that you particularly enjoyed your dining experience at the Lagoon and TAO, as well as the wedding organized at the Grand.

Your positive comments are a source of encouragement and we certainly look forward to welcome you back to our hotel, on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,663
    1,209
    318
    121
    89
See reviews for
690
910
207
989
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here for just one night and then had to get up early to catch our flight to the Maldives. Our room was very comfortable with everything you could ask for. The bed was excellent as was the bathroom. Service was very good. It would be nice to go back and spend a bit longer in such luxury!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leicestersaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for the appreciative feedback, though it was just for one night.

We are more than glad that your short stay with us was satisfying. It’s a pleasure to know that you will stay with us again and we look forward to delight you with our very best in service and hospitality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
275 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Out Company Officials and Business Partner's visited the Chutney Restaurant specialized in Indian Food. We went for the lunch. Welcome was good. Menu's were given but not explained. Food was good but not the best Indian food in Colombo.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjeewa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for dining at the Chutneys Restaurant at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Whilst thanking you for bringing this to our attention, we deeply regret the disappointment caused to you and I have informed my Managers to take action accordingly. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies.

We do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The last stop on our tour of Sri Lanka. Nice to check in to a non-tourist hotel for once (OK, a lot of tourists come here too!). Food was very good considering our voucher only let us eat at the "most downmarket" restaurant. Drinks not too outrageously priced considering the class of the hotel. Everything else as you'd expect from an international-class hotel. Breakfast box available when our driver came to collect us at 4am.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sTeamTraen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, though it was the last stop of your Sri Lankan Tour.

We are so pleased to have met with your expectations and look forward to have you stay with us again. In fact, a longer stay would enable you to experience more of our facilities and give us the opportunity to indulge you with more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Cinnamon Grand we weren't disappointed. A magnificent hotel with everything you need to make your stay in Sri Lanka extra special. All staff were helpful, friendly and always greeted us with a smile! The rooms are beautifully furnished, comfortable and clean. It was so lovely to come back to the room of an evening to find a flower and some chocolates on the bed with the turn down service. You are spoilt for choice when it comes to dining and the service and food is excellent! It was so hard to choose where to eat from the excellent choices. The cafe in the foyer was the centre point of the foyer. It had some good food choices including lots of delightful sweets to indulge in. The hotel facilities are great too. The pool and its surrounds are beautiful and relaxing. Nothing like sipping a fresh fruit cocktail while lying in the sun! We certainly enjoyed our stay hope to be back soon. To the management and staff at the Cinnamon Grand congratulations on maintaining first class accommodation and an excellent reputation . Keep up the good work!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the premium wing are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiesean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and thank you so much for your commendation.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Nothing is more important to us than the comfort of our valued guests and the team and I thank you so much for your very encouraging feedback, which is truly a reflection of that achievement. Thank you for appreciating our hotel, facilities and our friendly staff, as well as the food, service and of course our dining options.

We would be glad to welcome you again for yet another indulgence of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This has to be there on the top of the list! An excellent hotel, value for money, super service, awesome food and some breathtaking sights around! Be it for business or leisure, this is the hotel to stay in. Centrally located (not too far from the beach and markets around), some great restaurants within and outside the hotel. The swimming pool is just amazing and so are the bars and pool-side restaurants!

Room Tip: Try out the authentic srilankan restaurant in the hotel. A pool-facing (higher floor) room would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satyamjuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your glowing tribute and recommendation on TripAdvisor.

Many thanks for the kind sentiments expressed regarding our facilities and service, as well as the food and location. We are certain that you have had an enjoyable stay. Thank you also for your commendation of our Sri Lankan restaurant. The team and I appreciate your very encouraging feedback; no doubt we are pleased to have ensured guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again to indulge you with more of our facilities, services and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Visit colombo in Business and best to stay is this hotel , very convenient from the rooms, restaurants , gym , swimming pool , business halls , location and the service is excellent .
You must eat in Lagoona the live cooking sea food restaurant .....just wonderful .!!.
Attached to the hotel is small shopping mall .
Walking distance to a nice sea walk.
Even for families it is recommended . it is spotless and very clean .
i will definitely stay there again and again ... the only thin is the Internet is chargeable , it would be added to the advantages if it is free room internet ...in the breakfast , try the traditional dish called '' Egg hopper '' ...simply it is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waleed80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for staying at Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

It was a pleasure reading your review on TripAdvisor and we are glad you had a memorable stay at our hotel and enjoyed the facilities, location and service. It is also satisfying to know you enjoyed your dining experience at the Lagoon. If you do come again on business, our executive floor with additional facilities such as free internet, would be a better option.

We very much appreciate you recommending our hotel and do look forward to the pleasure of indulging you with more of our Cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
2,108 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
740 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing