We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with very disorganized front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with very disorganized front desk”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I'm often in Colombo and usually stay at the wonderful Taj Samudra but it was undergoing a major renovation so decided to try the Cinnamon Grand along with a group of ten fellow travelers. The reservation was made by an Indian travel agents that organized the group trip and had requested king size beds for most participants. We arrived late in the evening for a three-night stay and found that only rooms with two single beds had been blocked. We tried for an hour to correct the error but the duty manager was completely unhelpful. They offered to change me to a king the next day, but when it came time for the move, it was to a downgraded category. It took an hour then for the front desk to find a king bed in the upgraded wing and it only happened with a lot of pushing from me. To compensate for the confusion, the travel agent had arranged a late check-out for some of my group, but when it came to the actual check-out, the front desk had no record of the approved request and challenged me. It was a complete comedy of errors that wasted a lot of time and energy. The rooms are very nice, the housekeeping and other staff was very professional, but I'd recommend using either their reliable competition at the Taj which will be outstanding when their renovation is completed, or a very cool little boutique property called CASA Colombo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your feedback.

We have noted your comments and regret you did not have a good stay and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. If we may mention at this point, a clear request was made for non-smoking rooms but not for king-sized beds. However, we deeply regret your disappointment and hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,646
    1,202
    316
    120
    88
See reviews for
685
907
204
982
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Once again Tao Restaurant has delivered on all levels. Great food and outstanding service.

As always Guyan Wakista head waiter at Tao made sure that everything was perfect and that all of our culinary needs were seen to. The service he provides along with all of the staff make this restaurant what it is. My Husband and I very much look forward to dining at Tao again next year on our return to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: We stay in an apartment but our friends all stayed at the Cinnamon and we heard no complaints only c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
It is a pleasure to know that you and your husband have once again enjoyed your dining experience at the Tao Restaurant at Cinnamon Grand Colombo; and thank you for your complimentary feedback.

We appreciate your commendation of the services of Gayan Wakista as well as the team at Tao, and thank you for taking the time to compliment them in your review.

We are most pleased that our associates delivered their best service to you and your compliments will be conveyed to them all as we look forward to welcoming both of you to another memorable dining experience at TAO, on your return to Sri Lanka.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Me and my partner stayed here at the end of our tour of Sri Lanka - a great way to finish off the adventure!

A very big comfy room with lovely views out towards the sea and the Galle Face Road.

Quiet, clean with nice little touches such as the chocolates and the flower on the pillow at turndown.

The hotel is HUGE and there are lots of places to eat here - the lobby is very impressive with live classical music greeting you as you step through the front doors.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your compliments on the hotel and lobby.

It is a pleasure to know you had a comfortable stay with us and appreciate your feedback on our rooms, facilities and service. We do look forward to having you stay with us again, maybe for a longer time, to experience more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Wait 30 minutes for any response from housekeeping. TVs didn't work. Showers were not cleaned. Room drops in suite were inconsistent. Smoking hotel so if you allergies or any kind be warned that the corridors stink of stale smoke.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshellep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your feedback.

We are very much concerned about the issues you faced and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We would be grateful if you could give us more details of your stay to the email address given below in order to investigate this further.

Please be assured that necessary measures will be taken to prevent such a repetition, and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Thank you.
gm.grand@cinnamonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
begaluru
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We've stayed here twice, of our three trips to Colombo, the first time we stayed at the taj samudra but spent all our time hanging out at the lobby of the cinnamon grand or ate at their restaurants. There is a band in the lobby bar in the evenings, and it's a really nice atmosphere. Also, the rooms are well appointed, modern and comfortable. Their breakfast spread is really good, and so are the seafood n grill restaurants. The lobby pastry shop is a nice place to catch a bite, n the small shopping gallery is part of the hotel complex, it has a supermarket, a spa Ceylon store, n a dilmah store, very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazygalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review on the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you love staying with us and appreciate your words of praise on our rooms, facilities, location and food offerings. We are pleased to note you were able to experience two of our dining options in addition to enjoying your evenings at the lobby.

It would be great to have you stay with us again, so you could experience more of our facilities, dining options and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Really Nice clean and comfortable room with free wifi and television, it is a big hotel with a large selection of restaurants. Food is excellent, especially the breakfast. good service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muthu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your precise and complimentary feedback. We do look forward to welcoming you again for yet another enjoyable and memorable stay with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were impressed with the sheer size of this hotel and the luxury in all the detail around the hotel (impressive water feature at reception and mood lighting around the pool etc).

We were on the 9th floor in a nice double room with a bed that offered the best night sleep we had in a while, the en suite was disappointing as brown water poured out the bath taps.

The staff were all friendly and we sat in the evening at one of the hotels many restaurants and enjoyed some drinks and tapas by the well lit swimming pool.

This hotel has a business feel to it and the majority of the guests we saw appeared to be on business or conducting business around the dining table so perhaps not a place for couples.

The breakfast was great and the restaurant very clean. The staff here are busy so we struggled to get our table cleared or a top up on tea but the food really was to a very high standard. As this hotel is in the centre of the capital city I suspect it may be the best place to stay if visiting the city. (On that note we actually regretted going to Colombo as for us we found little of interest as not really big city people so our tip would be stay here if it works well with your trip ending or you are keen city explorers but do not go out of your way to visit, we should have perhaps gone from the tea factory straight to Yala national park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barber442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for taking time to share your feedback.

Whilst appreciating the compliments on our hotel and facilities, we are sorry that you experienced issues with service and for the inconvenience you faced as a result.

Thank you for recommending us and we do look forward to welcoming you, if you do intend staying in Colombo again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing