We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay for a fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay for a fantastic experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The staff was very courteous. this being a big hotel, expect some wait time in check in and conseirge to take luggage to room. Our room despite being non smoking, was smelling of smoke. The staff changed the room and were apologetic about. Rooms were clean with good beds. The breakfast in the morning was sumptous and would certainly come back for a stay. We visited in Oct 2012 but since the date is not featuring in visit section, i am entering Jan 2013. Apologies for the same.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iabhinavdwivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. It is a pleasure to know that your stay with us was a memorable one.

We appreciate your feedback on our rooms and breakfast spread and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka to indulge in more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,619
    1,195
    314
    114
    87
See reviews for
677
895
203
966
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

There was an indian wedding going on so most of the room were booked they sent us to an executive room while we booked a delux room with extra bed through Agoda.com. They insisted that the extra bed should be put in the room there was simply no room for that!! after much arguing they agreed and sis not charge! the whole 2 days was filled with loud voices of guest even at 2 o clock in night loud banging of door! Pathetic hotel over crowded! and over rated! they just want your money... on checkout day we were doing the buffet breakfast at courtyard restaurant and the waiter brought us the bill as if we are going to leave without paying!!

Room Tip: dont stay if you want peace and quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniqa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your review.

We are sorry you did not have a good stay with us and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences faced by you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Contrary to the grandeur of the interior setting and decor my visit to the lobby for a stopover with my wife and kids ended up in a not so good experience. Firstly the Coffee Stop staff was very inefficient and couldn't properly manage the queue. Then when we were to sit down in the lobby lounge we were told that till 7pm there is a dress code and hence we were not allowed in since I was in cargo shorts. After I argued with the lady we were allowed to sit around the corner sofa by the right side of the Coffee Stop close to the lift lobby. The staff seem very loosely trained and the evening ruined our outing.

The car park was manned by some nice gentlemen who were very helpful in assisting us to park the car. But some other staff members got into the lift with us and didn't have the decency to wait till my 3yr old twins step out - they just walked out while we had to wait in the lift until they left. I guess they really need some training on courteousness!

In Colombo, the Hilton remains the best hotel with the best staff who understand guests rather than stick to stupid rules!

Cinnamon Grand - not so grand after all!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ShanakaRSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Any inconvenience caused to you on the policy of our dress code is much regretted. In keeping with international dining standards, Cinnamon Grand too follows the policy on dress code. This restriction is in force for diners only after 7.00p.m. and is followed by all our restaurants except the Cheers Pub.

Once again we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you on this and hope you will visit us again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days, and we loved it! Beautiful interior, great location, very clean rooms, free WiFi and excellent service. The staff was super supportive and we got all the attention we needed, despite hotel working in full speed at Christmas season and being full with visitors.
They arranged airport pick up and drop very well too. Check in/out was fast and with no problems.
We were told they have 13 restaurants, which is a huge choice to meet anyone's taste. We did try the cafe/bar at the pool and it was nice. They have a beautiful large pool with very nice surroundings.
Location is worth giving a special mention; just when outside, you go left and you pass by the presidential place. The street is usually closed for walking and the policemen politely ask you to cross the street. To your right out of hotel, at around 10 minute's walk is the old parliament building. Not to mention, that you can get to the beach side just in minutes (not sure though, if you can find a proper place to swim, but you can still walk around), and there are a lot of nice cafes and restaurants around the hotel. The mall just next to the hotel is a great idea. The ground floor has a food market, where we could buy everything we needed. Upstairs are quite expensive brand stores, we didn't really have interest to visit.
There is a cafe just outside the mall (can't recall the name) that served great food and coffee for quite affordable price. Service there was great too. We dined there more often than at the hotel, because of the hotel's policy asking the visitors not to visit the hotel's restaurants in flip-flops and casual clothing after 7 p.m. Since we were visiting for 4 days only on our way to Dhaka, we didn't bring any suitable clothing to follow their rules.
Overall, we loved Cinnamon Grant. Would go back, if we travel to Sri Lanka again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review and especially your recommendation of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your kind feedback on our service, facilities and especially our location. We are also glad to note that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy more of our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had our Xmas dinner at Tao restaurant which was extremely went well and enjoyed your delicious food varieties. All your staff were very helpful and efficient of their service especially outstanding customer service from mr amila makavita who work hard to reach our expectation accurately and promptly.. We will defiantly come back to this hotel again..

Darshi de silva

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darshide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your dining experience at the Tao restaurant at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your Christmas Dinner along with our cinnamon service.

It will be my pleasure to convey your commendation to Amila and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was our first stop in Sri Lanka after a flight from London and we stopped two nights before moving on to the middle of the country. Cinnamon Grand is a large city centre hotel but with some nice touches which differentiate it from similar hotels we have found around the world. The staff, whether in the cafe, or restaurant or from housekeeping and front desk were uniformly very pleasant and welcoming. The room was good but with a suqeaky aircon unit, which we had to turn off at night, but nicely furnished and perfect for a 2 night stay. The tea lounge is a great place for pre-dinner drinks or afternoon teas, and a good spot to watch the world go by. We ate in the Tao restaurant one night which was very good for food and service but the 'star' meal was a dinner at the Lagoon fish restaurant which was excellent. Superb red snapper and lovely whitebait (sardine). You will probably need to book a table at Lagoon because it was full the night we were there. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is a good base for travelling out into the city too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We appreciate your valuable and complimentary feedback. Indeed we are most delighted that you enjoyed your stay and especially your dining experience at the Lagoon. Thank you very much for your recommendation.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you for yet another memorable stay with us, on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a big city centre hotel, we arrived at 5pm on a Friday night to be told that despite check in being 1pm, our 2 room were not ready. After a lengthy check in we were given our key cards only to find that we did not have interconnecting rooms as booked! Another trip to reception rectified this.

Rooms are as you would expect, nothing special, but adequate and pretty standard for a hotel of this nature.

Then the real issue started, just after the kids went to bed at 8.30 the band outside by the pool started up, it sounded as if they were playing in our bedroom. Then to make matters worse a function started playing Music in the atrium, so we had 2 different sources of music turning our bedrooms into a disco. Management told u the music would stop at around 11.30 and they would ask them to turn the volume down, but of course nothing changed, we were left with 2 very exhausted children the next day.

Do not come here if you are looking to go to bed before 11.30

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English_Expat_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Whilst appreciating the time taken to post your review, we are very sorry to learn about the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us and will certainly take necessary action to ensure this does not happen again.

We do hope you would give us another opportunity to let you truly experience our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing