We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 days of fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 days of fun”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It is indeed a good hotel for both business, romance or family. They have different restaurants belong to the hotel, including italian, Chinese etc. The breakfast is great, and the pool is good too, have a drink by the pool in night is great choice.

Room Tip: Choose a quiter side, too many birds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhuzhu1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are delighted to note that you had 3 days of fun at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We appreciate your kind feedback and hope you would stay with us again on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,646
    1,202
    316
    120
    88
See reviews for
685
907
204
982
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having just written a review on the new Ozo hotel, I thought I would pen my experiences staying at the Cinnamon Grand last month.
The first impressions were excellent - minivan was waiting to pick us up at the airport and the transfer was smooth and fuss-free. On arriving at the hotel, we were whisked direct to our rooms - gratefully appreciated when you arrive at the wee hours of the morning.
We had an executive suite and an interconnecting room - the suite was huge with a dining and seating area separate from the sleeping area. For five persons this combination gives plenty of space. Had valets serving the room but did not need to call on them much - except for when the airconditioning suddenly decided to pack up at about 3am after the electricity failed. The valets got the engineer and the problem was sorted out quickly.
Good things:
1. Nice suite which seemed quite new - at least it certainly did not appear dated or worn.
2. Space aplenty for the executive suite. For the slightly extra price compared to an executive room - you get twice the size.
3. Lots of choice for restaurants
4. Big pool
5. This hotel had a pool table (good if your teenage son wants to have something to do)
6. Has a small kids room - main components were 2 TVs - which was at least some entertainment for my younger 2 kids
7. Bathroom comes with all the bells and whistles - bath and rain shower with good water pressure.
8. Big choice of restaurants. The Taprobane has a very affordable daily buffet.
9. Breakfast and snacks at the executive club had good range and quality. Not perhaps a huge buffet spread for breakfast but very ample and the ambience very good.
10. Crescat shopping centre literally next door does provide some shopping although it is not a large shopping centre. The supermarket downstairs is good for provisions and the Dilmah shop for gifts.
11. Location is central and grounds are large with a mock little village within the grounds too.
12. Transport is easy with 3 wheelers and hotel cars waiting to whisk you to wherever you may wish to go. If you take a 3 wheeler - remind them it's next to Crescat. I had a 3 wheeler driver who brought me past the hotel twice and for whatever reason exclaim 'Ramada' each time we passed the Ramada. After an unintentional (but nevertheless exciting) tour of the town, I managed to describe the location and he exclaimed 'Oh Crescat'.
13. Be aware there are 2 wings are I stayed in the newer wing. There is a courtyard wing which seems older and more dreary.
Not so good things:
Not a lot. Generally the service was professional and efficient as befits an established 5 star hotel. We all got sick after coming back and my wife wonders if we were allergic to the carpets.
Overall this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Executive suites do interconnect with rooms which provide great space for 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbunny35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your high recommendation of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. It was a pleasure to read your descriptive and encouraging feedback.

Indeed we appreciate you taking your time off your busy schedule to write such a comprehensive review. We are delighted that you and your family had a great stay and enjoyed the room and amenities as well as the dining options and service.

However, we hope you have all recovered and look forward to welcoming you back, if you do intend visiting Sri Lanka again in the future.

With best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations in terms of welcoming friendly smiles, impeccable service, superb food and overall ambiance. From the moment I was greeted on arrival nothing was too much trouble for any staff member I asked.
The room was lovely, the bed amazingly comfortable, it seemed a little firm but afforded great sleep!
I made use of the coffee stop as it was a great place to relax and enjoy the afternoon tea and snacks. The delightful chutney restaurant was awesome in the evenings especially their dinner buffet on Tuesday. The staff were warm and friendly and I enjoyed their regional cuisine from India!!!
Breakfast was a treat with copious amounts of food to suit many different tastes and it was fun to try many different choices on various days. Sad I only had only a few days here and will definitely be back on my next trip to Colombo. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review and your recommendation of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are so glad to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at the Grand. Your encouraging feedback on our rooms and hospitality, as well as our service and food offerings is greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to note that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to indulge in more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

When we were looking for a place to stay on Colombo; nothing really stood out - there were 3 or 4 hotels with good reviews in the area we wanted to be and we just decided to go with Cinnamon grand. Maybe I didn't read the reviews closely enough because when we checked on; I was unexpectedly wowed. The hotel is great. Great hospitality, nice rooms, convenient location, relaxing pool, and a good variety of restaurants onsite to choose from. We had a few hours to kill before our flight after we checked out; and exhausted after a long trip we decided to relax in the lobby and even that was delightful. We had a short stay but if I were back in Colombo I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay with us.

We appreciate your compliments on our hospitality, rooms, location and facilities and very glad to note that you will stay with us again, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After living in Colombo for seven years, beside the Cinnamon Grand hotel, I am compelled to write a congratulations note to some of the staff. The last week of our life in Colombo was spent in this wonderful hotel.Appreciations go to Merril (breeze bar), Upali (lagoon / tao), Ruwan (executive lounge), Denvir ( london grill), Namal (f&b), Kumara (lagoon), Damith (cheers) and the band at the breeze bar (Anno Domini) to name a few. Thak you all for your great service during our stay in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Buff60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your last week with us, and sincerely appreciate your loyal patronage.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for your felicitations to the members of the team whom you have specifically mentioned. It will certainly be my pleasure to convey your compliments to each of them. We look forward to welcoming you back to indulge in more of our services and cinnamon hospitality, if you do plan on visiting Sri Lanka in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Though a very busy and popular hotel in Colombo, we are given a room at a quiet end of the hotel, away from all the hustle and bustle. We enjoyed our stay there. Friendly & efficient staff and service, especially the concierge. Foreigners do not need to worry about eating out as there are a number of restaurants in the hotel serving different kinds of food. Crescat shopping arcade is also adcajent to the hotel. Another plus point for us as you can get anything you need there i.e. mini market, pharmacy, book store, art & craft stalls etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodHound_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary feedback.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your words of praise on our friendly and efficient staff and service; as well as our dining options. We note your special compliments to the concierge and look forward to welcome you again, when you do visit Sri Lanka next.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed overnight in a very well priced room with all facilities and extras. Service by reception and concierge outstanding - 5 star.

Breakfast room disappointing and food below par.

The best hotel outside swimming pool we have ever encountered with adjacent pool bar and many restaurants.

Highly recommended as a transit hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are glad you had an enchanting stay with us and appreciate your words of praise on our rooms, facilities and service. However, we have taken note of your comments, sincerely apologize for your disappointment and hope we would have another opportunity to serve you again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing