We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if your gona be in colombo here's why?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 4 nights then shifted to the hilton as part of a business trip

The hotel is great I stayed in an executive room which is worth the money with all the added benefits like free suit pressing and free in room breakfast etc... The usual perks with executive lounge and some more...

I didn't really like colombo as a city and would recommend any tourist that are coming not stay more than a night as there is literally nothing to see or do... But this hotel has a lot to do in it if your like me and looking to waste 2-3 hours n the evening

The rooms are much better than the hilton ... And the in room dining is great ... And the prices very reasonable ...

Were a group of 11 and so far the best rooms I saw were at the taj but the hotel itself is dead...

There is a lot of good things about the grand cinnamon as well they have a mall connected to the hotel which has a grocery store at the bottom great for travelers needing little things to top em off soap favors drinks snacks etc...

It's also a very busy hotels with lots of parties functions and weddings .. But I will say this as a general note to travelers to Sri Lanka don't experiment to much with the food .. 4 people in our group have stomach bugs including myself ... Not the way you wana go on a trip out here as bathrooms are definetly not going to be found (at least usable ones ) in this city outside your hotel... And don't forget to take the Tuk Tuk it's great !! And remember it's metered and about 30-50 rupees a kilometer don't let them rip you off !

Safe travels like my review if it was helpful ...

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalrasheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay on the executive floor with all the facilities that go with it and appreciate your compliments on our services and location as well as your recommendation.

We hope your travels will bring you back to Sri Lanka again, maybe in the near future, for yet another memorable stay with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,142 - 2,148 of 3,852 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

It is only traveling outside of Colombo that a traveler will discover how poor the country is and how below the Western standards even the best hotels are, but the Cinnamon Grand is a blessed exception. For a price which in the West would have been at least double we had a beautiful room on the executive floor which allowed us to register at a separate counter, have a superb breakfast on the ninth floor and enjoy complimentary cocktails in a separate area. Service was impeccable and the hotel has a great variety of restaurants, all of which of high level. We did not stay long enough to enjoy all the amenities offered by the hotel, but it certainly was the best welcome we could receive upon arriving in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Reserve and Executive Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We are very glad you enjoyed the facilities of the executive floor and appreciate your valuable feedback on our services. We look forward to having you stay with us again, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future, to indulge in more of our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

a very busy hotel, obviously very popular with locals as well. having said that, the associates still found the energies to be courteous and helpful, and yes, smiling at all times. The location is great, near the beach; the rooms are just right and their breakfast spread was awesome. i attended a wedding reception in the same hotel and must say that their banqueting was also top notch. Overall, a great and happening property..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sumenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review. We are delighted to note your comments and compliments. We are very glad that you enjoyed the location, services and breakfast spread in particular. Thank you for your words of praise on our banqueting as well. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to another memorable stay with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It's a bit tired but for the price is OK. If you like a quieter hotel this one isn't for you. It seems to have multiple functions and weddings every day. It has most of what you will need with lots of food outlets and a couple of bars. The gym is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the facilities and food offerings. We do appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcome you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed with friends for the first two nights of our holiday in Sri Lanka. We had executive rooms - worth the extra - separate personalised check in and great snacks and drinks in the evening. We ate a one of the restaurants which was extremely good value. Lovely pool bar - shame about the noise level of the children. Was a little shocked on our last day to find there was no alcohol available - hadn't realised alcohol was banned on public holidays. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose an exec room - we'll worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank balihiSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and services of our Executive floor and appreciate your compliments on them. We look forward to your continued patronage of the Cinnamon Grand and assure you of our best in service, facilities and hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Cinnamon Grand Colombo is a hotel that I have stayed in many times before, the hotel is in a perfect location as its near my home in Colombo but also near shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is well equipped with two gyms, I personally prefer the Angsana gym as it has newer machines, it has an amazing spa called Angsana Spa. Furthermore the hotel has a variety of restaurants to choose from, and it also has a nice cafe which is open throughout the day. The staff are very friendly and always helpful. This hotel has become my second home as I have stayed here around seven to eight times, and there will many more visits to come in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Umesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for staying once again at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We value your patronage and we are delighted that you consider the Grand as your second home. We appreciate your encouraging feedback on our facilities and dining options and look forward to welcome you back for yet another indulgence in our services and cinnamon hospitality.

With best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed for three nights, the hotel is very clean with very friendly staff
The hotel serves very good food through a big variety of restaurants (seafood and italian are highly recommended)
Breakfast was very good
I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hasan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review and your recommendation of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. It is a pleasure to note that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the services and facilities along with the dining options and food. We trust you will stay with us again, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future, to indulge in more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#11 of 55 in Colombo
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
2,269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 55 in Colombo
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £104 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing