We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big hotel that offers good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Big hotel that offers good service”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Cinnamon Grand is one of those very large and busy international hotels that you find in all big cities of the world. It doesn't have much charm, but it offers all the modern comfort you expect from this type of establishment - and in Sri Lanka where things can be a little hectic, it really matters. I don't think it's appropriately defined as a 5-star hotel, it lacks the luxury I would expect from such a place, it's more of a solid 4-star with good amenities and services.

We stayed 3 nights in 2 different rooms. The first one was in the newer, "premium" wing of the atrium, the second was in the older courtyard wing. While the 1st had a bigger bathroom with a separate shower and bathtub, the decoration of the 2nd one was more to our taste. Both had good beds and all the classic amenities, including an effective a/c unit.

The check-in process seems unnecessarily long, and while the employees at the reception were helpful, they also lack flexibility when it comes to check in times. We arrived around 11:30AM for the second part of our stay and were told no rooms were available until 2PM, and the free wi-fi would only become available to us once we were assigned a room. If you're gonna ask me to wait 3 hours in your lobby, be gracious enough to let me use the wi-fi!!

There are numerous restaurants in the complex, and all the ones we tested were pretty good although very overpriced for Sri Lanka (expect to pay the same for a dinner as you would in your home country if you are from Europe or the US). There's also a small mall attached to the complex, with a few interesting stores, so you can enjoy some shopping without having to endure the chaotic traffic and heat
There are 2 pools, the first by the "lagoon" on the bottom floor is the most crowded, but the other, on the roof of the adjacent spa building, was almost empty.
The hair salon was very inefficient - I was there for a wedding and like many other guests waited for hours for mediocre hair styling. If you need your hair done I would try my chance at one of the salons in the mall.

Employees were generally very helpful and polite, although none of them were smiling much, with the notable exception of the shoeshiner that operates in the courtyard wing, whose genuine smile was refreshing.
The big plus of this place is that they cater for all your needs and offer all kinds of services that make your life easier. They have luggage storage and can keep your bags if you go on a tour or to a beach town for a few days - that was very useful for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your review.

We are pleased that our restaurants and certain areas have exceeded your expectations, but we have lacked in certain departments, especially the front office. Thank you for bringing it to our notice and rest assured we will work towards improving the service.

Whilst thanking you for your constructive review, we trust you will stay with us on your next visit, to enjoy our improved services and experience the real grandeur of Cinnamon Grand.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,696
    1,221
    320
    123
    89
See reviews for
701
914
207
1,003
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fantastic, especially compared to the other option in Colombo. The two main issue I had were firstly, Colombo is going through a boom and therefore there are lots of construction sites / roadworks .etc. everywhere, including in front of the hotel. This results in dust and some noise. Of course this is not the fault of the hotel and that didn't affect the overall rating. The reason I only gave 4 instead of 5 stars is because of my other concern, which is staff responsiveness, notably in the breakfast area. There is always a couple of floor managers and several waiters, but there seems to be something with the staff that tells them when a customer asks for something, jut nod and say right away Sir and then you can forget about it immediately. Only act on it after they have asked three times. I had this on numerous occasions and it is a shame because the rest of the hotel was great...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nishalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your review.

We regret to note that you have not had a pleasant stay at our hotel, with the exception of our varied facilities and of course our shoe shine valet. We do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and poor experience faced by you. The issues you have mentioned are totally unacceptable and we assure you that corrective measures will be taken.

Thank you for bringing this to our notice and we sincerely hope this experience will not deter you from staying with us again, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a triple room here for about 160€! First they gave us a smoking room, which smelled very very very badly! Then after we complained, they wanted to give us the suite, because they said all rooms were fully booked! That would have been good customer service.
But then they changed their mind and gave us just another room. Now that room was a non smoking room but it was so unbelievable small! We didn't even had place to put our luggage or even to walk to the bathroom without bumping in to everything!
I never had such a bad service ever!!!!!!!!!
If you offer a triple room, you should be able to provide a room that is big enough for 3 people! This room was just tiny!
We called the manager and now he told us that we would have to pay for the suite extra! But the man at the reception told us that, someone just took the last suite (it was 5 in the morning)!
All excuses, the manger said that, the reception said something different! The really didn't care at all!
I would absolutely NOT recommend this hotel if you want to have a good room und good service!!!!!!!!!
Bad service, bad room standards!!!!!!! Never again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hachen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Whilst appreciating your feedback it is very regretting to learn that you were disappointed with our service and we apologize for the inconvenience that has been caused to you as a result. However we have taken particular note of the issues you have highlighted and will certainly have them rectified.

Please accept our sincere apologies once again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

have been a regular at the grand for the last 03 years. We always make sure we stay a couple of nights and relax before we start our holiday in Sri Lanka. Spacious and comfortable rooms with a very friendly and helpful team. All rooms have free wi-fi and good air conditioning.. we always make sure we have our first meal at the lagoon which is one of the best seafood restaurants in Sri Lanka. They also have a high end mall (crescat) which is next to the hotel. Have to mention the amazing service and attitude from the sweet customer service executive Tharangi who has been handling our bookings for the past 03 years. Very professional and always willing to assist. Prices are a bit on the high end compared to the other 5 star hotels in Colombo!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large with a better view of the surroundings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikon789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review. We are delighted to note that you consider the Grand as your "home away from home" and thank you for your patronage.

We appreciate your encouraging feedback on our rooms, amenities and services as well as your compliments to Tharangi. It is also a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your dining experiences at the Lagoon and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very good hotel and service. The price seems to be a little jacked up for a Sri Lankan Hotel. If you are a tourist on a good budget this is a great place. Very central and amazing service. Lovely spacious rooms and amazing room service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nildood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We appreciate your commendation on our hotel and services and trust you will stay with us again, if you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for around 9 days in August 2014. This was our second stay at this hotel. The hotel is well located close to shops, restaurants, etc. The room was clean well equipped, the bed comfortable, and the staff very friendly. Special mention needs to be made of the The Courtyard Restaurant where we had breakfast. The food on offer was varied and tasty and the staff were exceptional as they really put themselves out to please. The WiFi service available was good. The only downside if any was the approach to the hotel which was always busy but the staff on hand were able to handle it quite capably.

Room Tip: We were located on 9th floor. We were not disturbed by noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanthie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay on the executive floor.

We are also glad that you enjoyed the food and service at breakfast time and appreciate your compliments to the staff. They do work very hard to ensure guest satisfaction. We look forward to having you stay with us again, on your future visits to Sri Lanka.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here with my family in July 2014. It was off season. Rooms were well maintained and well air-conditioned. Some unsightly maintenance work going on outside, and the outdoor pool did not look great. But other than that, a good place to stay in Colombo City Centre!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are pleased you had a good stay with us and look forward to welcome you again for another memorable stay at the Grand.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
2,134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
750 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 52 in Colombo
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing