We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gorgeous affordable boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockwell Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockwell Colombo
Ranked #12 of 128 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gorgeous affordable boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at rockwell for 3 nights and loved it. Personal boutique hotel in heart of colombo. Very nice room and decor. The service was so good and the staff really charming and friendly. The chef was on holiday so a staff member cooked us spaghetti bolognese from a YouTube tutorial - so dedicated! The hotel is really new so the staff are training but they were already excellent. They helped us arrange transport free of charge. The aircon was quiet and effective. The room and hotel were peaceful and quiet. We recommend the Francisco room.
The only problems we had were poor wifi connection and poor TV signal, but these would not be issues for some travellers.
For midrange budget this is perfect.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    59
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
18
90
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Fantastic brand new property -heart of city which make travelers job easy most of well know locations are either walk able or can be reached by tuk-tuk.
To start with we have to appreciate and admire the efforts of Mr Madhawa and Mrs Eraandi who have tastefully done the place - Perfect to believe. Lovely couple who go out of way to treat guests as family- Rooms perfect -Super clean bathrooms -Staff always ready to help - Breakfast under mango tree - No words -Keep it up guys!!!

Room Tip: All six rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Udupasubbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Rockwell Colombo is one of the best boutique hotels in Colombo.

It is managed very well by the owners Madhawa and Erandi. The staff is really very courteous and go out of the way to make your stay comfortable.

The rooms are very neat and clean and the food is equally good.

As i am a business traveller i like going back to Rockwell every time.

To be precise its " A home away from home".

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raghav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

After overcoming the Jetlag I was truly able to enjoy this absolutely amazing hotel. Service was excellent! Staff was very attentive, efficient and unobtrusive but took a genuine interest in the guest. No just 'going through the motions' here. There were unexpected treats which are on the house such as tropical juice and melon brought out to the roof top lounge, Cakes, tea and coffee at all hours. Oh and the bar was very reasonable. I have much respect for the house chef, whom I think was named Adrian.

However, Before I could even bring myself to eat anything I had to take pictures as none of my fellow co-workers who travel like I do would believe there were hotels like this out there.

During this business trip and tour of Sri Lanka we stayed at a few places en route, many were more expensive but NONE provided the value or atmosphere!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jermaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

It came to me highly recommended and did not disappoint. Great place to stay, helpful staff, and owners take genuine interest in the guests. Very clean small inn with great breakfast, free wifi, what else can I say!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mangkaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.8 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.9 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 128 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwell Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwell Colombo

Property: Rockwell Colombo
Address: 14 Borella Cross Road | off Ward Place, Colombo 00800, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rockwell Colombo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is to introduce you to Rockwell Colombo – a boutique style small hotel off prestigious Colombo suburb Ward place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rockwell Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing