We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, peaceful, organised”
Review of Bed Hostel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed Hostel Colombo
Ranked #21 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, peaceful, organised”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here only 3 week after the hostel had opened. Rooms and bathrooms were really clean. Really good kitchen for cooking and storing food. The manager is able to provide maps, menus and heaps of info. Bikes for hire. Grocery store and restaurants 2 minutes walk away. This hostel is MUCH nicer than some of the budget hotels I have stayed in in Sri Lanka, the perks are well worth sharing a room with other travellers. The hostel seems to be in a nice area of Colombo, decent walk to a couple of sights and a really beautiful park. Lots of indoor and outdoor space to chill out in during down time. Only negative was that my boyfriend was too big to fit under the mosquito net on the bottom bunk because it hangs a little low. He didn't mind this at all, just adding the detail in case. I'm sure they are working on sorting this out for the future as they are really keen on being mosquito-free! Thanks for a good stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks very much for the feedback. We are indeed looking into different mosquito nets for our dorm beds. So glad you enjoyed your stay :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    21
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
11
46
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The place was great, really welcoming and incredibly helpful staff! As soon as we arrived we were invited to the pub! The hostel has a cool decor and is perfectly clean. It has a very homely feel, we were supposed to only stay 1night and ended up staying 3! It's a great place to explore Colombo as it's in a great location, or it's a nice place to just hang out and meet people. We are planning to go back at the end of our trip we enjoyed it that much!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaM813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the review! See you guys again..... "power man!!!" ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

International staff were friendly and accommodating. Price is higher than other hostels and budget hotels in the area but the place is great to meet travellers or younger holiday crowd. The owners organised parties and trips into town whilst there is was always something going on from yoga to beer pong. Definitely a hostel with a twist!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SN8887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed the events! Thanks for reviewing :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hostel! I stayed here twice during my time in Sri Lanka. Backpacker places this good are hard to find in Sri Lanka, so stay here if you can! It's newly opened, so everything is clean, modern and fresh. The dorms are large and airy with plenty of fans. The common areas are just brilliant. I had a fabulous time here watching a movie, playing games, chilling in the garden, cooking and making good use of the communal computers and good wifi. All the freebies are just a great bonus- welcome drink, city map, toast and jam breakfast, tea and coffee, luggage storage, and bikes to explore! Just great! It's a great place to meet fellow travellers and fun events every night too! Couldn't recommend this place enough! Thanks to the manager Claire for an excellent stay:)

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for the feedback! Happy travels, and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for a few nights when visiting friends. As it's only 1300 rupees a night I wasn't sure what to expect but the rooms are bright, spacious and clean and the main reception is great with really good communal computers with free wifi! Would definitely recommend staying here there's always stuff on and the staff are friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was great having you here :) Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogndal
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hostel is just opened and is all new and shiny. You definitely want to stay here for your trip to Sri Lanka and Colombo! The standard is really good for the tiny price it costs you. Coming here is the perfect way to start of your trip as the staff are both helpful and very knowledgeable. They have masses of traveling experience and will both point you in the right directions and empower you to realize the full potential of your trip in your own way. In addition the guests are a great mix of fresh and experienced travelers that will gladly share tips and info. The freshness of the hostel creates an open atmosphere were newcomers are welcome and no questions are stupid. Sri Lanka is a surprisingly untouched destination and the best way to discover it is to start of here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertAOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review, Albert, and have fun in KL and on the rest of your trip! Hope to see you again. (Also, thanks for the music recommendations!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Bed. It's a new hostel and I found it very clean, safe and comfortable. Everyone was really friendly and the manager Claire was so lovely and had great recommendations. The location is perfect as everything is quite close by and it's easy to get around. They had free bike rentals which was awesome for exploring the city and was the icing on the cake for me. I'd definitely come back. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. Have a great trip, and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.4 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
750 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hangover Hostels Colombo
Hangover Hostels Colombo
#2 of 140 in Colombo
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel at Galle Face
Hostel at Galle Face
#3 of 140 in Colombo
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bunkyard Hostels
Bunkyard Hostels
#1 of 140 in Colombo
73 reviews
2.4 mi away
Colombo City Hostel
Colombo City Hostel
#4 of 140 in Colombo
84 reviews
3.4 mi away
Colombo Beach Hostel
Colombo Beach Hostel
#10 of 140 in Colombo
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed Hostel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed Hostel Colombo

Property: Bed Hostel Colombo
Address: No 17 17a, Park Avenue | Off Park Road, Colombo 05, Colombo 00500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed Hostel Colombo 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're BED. Not your average, run of the mill, everyday kind of hostel accommodation. 50 Bed hostel located in the heart of bustling Colombo. The contemporary design-led chill-out areas and bars make Bed the place to socialise with friends, old and new. With a range of rooms at competitive prices, great food, excellent security, free WiFi, Computers, Bike Rentals and friendly, knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bed Hostel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing