We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY place to stay in Colombo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to stay in Colombo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

I don't really want to tell you how much I love this place because then I might have to start sharing it! But, seriously, this place is so nice and the service so friendly that they deserve to be raved about. So much more than the boring old 'bed and a bathroom in a box of a room' that most hotels are - I find this place comfy, like coming home, but much more elegant. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is nothing like being taken straight to your room after a long drive or a dusty day in Colombo rather than having to sit around waiting to check-in. Great care has been taken to make sure your room is equipped with everything and the design is quirky and fun. The beds are so comfortable (Sri Lankan beds can be notoriously hard - even in good hotels) and I LOVE the bathtubs. This place is my little haven in Sri Lanka - I love it!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
We at CASA Colombo, were so pleased to read you wonderful review of your stay with us.

Your little haven in Sri Lanka awaits your next visit!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    237
    61
    24
    30
See reviews for
102
560
50
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

At best a two star hotel. Room filled with bugs, bed sheets were unclean (covered with hair), generally very dirty room. The bathroom was smelly and disgusting. But the worst thing was we were kept up all night by the loud thumping of the bass from the night club adjacent to the hotel.

The hotel Is a small boutique so most taxis won't know it or where to go.

The one redeeming quality of this place is the butler service, Arunn did gout of his way to give very personalised service. Though don't let the hotel arrange any tour guides for you. They got us one that cost five times the normal rate. We thought it would be okay to spend extra if we got a good guide but th one they gave us could barely speak English.

We regret not staying at the Cinnamon Grand Hotel instead.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ericandnadya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed in CASA for 3 nights on our trip to Sri Lanka during the the 2011 World Cricket Cup.

The rooms are stunning: ultra stylish, trendy with touches of Sri Lankan flair (I've included photos!). If you appreciate great design and architecture you'd love this place.

What amazed me was just how good the service was. The staff at this hotel are the most helpful and friendly people that you can imagine. Our domo, Kumara had us covered from getting World Cup tickets to booking taxis - an all-around champion bloke who always up for a good chat. He made us feel at home in Colombo.

An absolute gem and a memorable stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nopattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
We read with great pleasure your wonderful review with regard to your stay at CASA Colombo. The entire CASA Team’s single aim is to make sure that you have an enjoyable and relaxing time while at CASA Colombo. If we have been able to achieve this, then we have been successful in our endeavours.

We do hope that you will visit us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you with open arms and smiling faces!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Loved the casa colombo. The location is a little hard to find but in terms of access to Colombo its great.
The room was great. The layout and the facilities were excellent and the toiletries were really nice.
The butler service is great and very responsive. Was temped to steal him away...
The food is very nice and the breakfast is huge.
The only moan is that the suite I stayed in was close to a nearby club and the music from the club can be heard at night. So if you are a light sleeper the Jampettah Lane Suite is not the one for you.
That aside I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Not the Jampettah lane suite for a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msdemeaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
It is certainly a great pleasure for the entire CASA Colombo Team to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are here to serve YOU, our greatest asset, and if we have been successful in serving you to your satisfaction, then it is indeed a great achievement for us.

We are a bit concerned though regarding the issue with the loud music at night. We will certainly try to make this better, in order to give you a more relaxing stay at CASA Colombo.

We are already looking forward to your next visit, and hope that it will be soon!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

There is so much attention to detail in this hotel. You could spend your whole time looking around at how they have carefully restored the ceilings and floors. All the bedrooms are slightly different but they are all amazing in their way and the two that I've slept in were so comfortable. This time we had a corporate suite and not only was the bedroom heaven, with a really comfortable bed and swivel flat-screen TV, the bathroom was fabulous - huge copper bath and double shower.

The pool area is very tranquil with 3 double beds and several single sun loungers. The pool is a bit cold as it's in the shade but the mango tree in the middle looks so nice you happily put up with the water temperature.

Finally a mention for the staff who are all very friendly and helpful. You are assigned one member of staff who you can call anytime.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aevc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
We greatly appreciate your positive comments with regard to your stay at CASA Colombo. These will be shared with our entire CASA Colombo Team.

We always strive to offer our guests the unique “CASA experience”, and if we have been successful in this, then it is a great achievement for us.

We hope that you will visit us again in the future!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

As a business traveller I have to say what a fantastic hotel. The room was absolutely incredible, large and spacious including a computer to access the internet, and a lounge area with a large flat screen TV. A great touch was having the sound system in the room to attch your I-pod to.
The bed was large and comfortable, the bedding always clean.
The master bathroom featured a beautiful copper bathtub, a large walk through shower and some fantastic modern archetecural design.
The pictures on the website only tell half the story, because the service was just as fantastic, special thanks to Arrun Suseenthiran for his exceptional service and attention to detail. Ensuring that all my requirements were met during my stay. I have to say all the staff were a pleasure to talk to, and always there to help.
The food was also easily five star quality, some of the best dishes I've had anywhere.

I will be coming back not only for business, but also will be coming for a holiday with my wife. Which is something I'm truly looking forward to in July.

Not to mention the bill is easily a quarter of what I would expect to pay in any other country. It was quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at CASA Colombo. We will share your comments with the other members of the CASA Colombo Team.

We are delighted that you were pleased with the service we offered you, as a business traveler, and we are already looking forward to your next visit!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

After the tea country the second best thing that happened to me in sri lanka. Top notch and comfortable boutique hotel.
The staff is very polite and efficient. Our domo Arrun was there to help us in every way.

my suggestion to the management would be to add tea making facility and an iron in the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoKarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
We greatly appreciate your review with regard to your stay at CASA Colombo. Your comments will be shared with the entire CASA Colombo Team.

We have made note of your suggestions and will try to implement something very soon. In the meantime, we do hope that you will visit us again for the unique “CASA experience”!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd | Bambalapitiya, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vantage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing