We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel. Maybe it tries too hard.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Maybe it tries too hard.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

A lovely hotel in district 4, just to the south of Colombo city centre. Good rooms although rather noisy in the morning, but it is in a city close to a main road. Restuarants were all very good. The pool area is cramped and lacks sun but ok for a city hotel. You get the feeling that the hotel tries a little too hard to please. Expensive by sl standards and equal to prices in London for food and drinks. Recommended but not maybe as good as some of the reviews make out.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanRossEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review of your stay at CASA Colombo. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you enjoyed what our restaurants had to offer you.

We hope you will be back very soon to visit with us again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    237
    61
    24
    30
See reviews for
102
560
50
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

As a regular visitor to Sri Lanka (with an apartment in Colombo), I was pleased to have the opportunity to stay at Casa as part of our honeymoon.

I had been to the hotel a few times as our company puts up short-term consultants in this hotel.

On arrival we were greeted lots of warmth, checked in without delay and our suitcases (4 large and 3 small) all brought in quickly.

The building is an amazing place to stay in, a 200 year old mansion with high ceilings and significant character which a new construction would simply not be able to offer.
The place has been refurbished to high standards, with a retro and funky twist to it.

Each suite is individually designed. The rooms, probably the best I have stayed in out of 75+ hotels, ooze comfort, practicality and style. Wow factors include the large free standing beds with underlighting, a large copper antique bath tub in the middle of the room, stone surfaces with nakamichi audio visual set up, macbook and a printer provided in the room (stayed in a corporate suite), plenty of plugs for charging stuff and lighting.

The bathrooms were different too, with double sinks made out of unpolished cement and stainless steel sheets acting as conduits for the water. The bathrooms still had some of the original floor tiling which added to the whole ambience. The only minor criticism was the cupboard could have been larger.

The restaurant and pool areas were also fantastic, with lots of designer touches including a giant ceiling fan, a pink swimming pool and lots of nice lounging areas.

Service was good and highly personalised. Each visitor was allocated a personal domo or butler who was a single point of contact for all things. Our domo was excellent throughout our stay. The only let down was our domo was absent during 1 morning. During this time, there was a breakdown in service and our breakfast arrived 1 hour later.

Breakfast choices and quality were good. One could order breakfast to be served in almost any part of the hotel including your own room.

Our only gripe was with dinner. Food was bland and the place felt like a desert town. A bit of soft or jazz music would have livened things up. Hence the reason for a "very good" instead of "excellent" rating.

The hotel did not have a liquor license. It suited us we able to consume our duty free purchases in the pool and dining areas.

A unique place that should be experienced if you have the opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi-Bandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
We are very grateful for your wonderful review of CASA Colombo. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review about us…. We greatly appreciate it. Your comments with regard to the design, décor and ambience of CASA Colombo made us very happy.

With regard to your other comments, please be assured that we will attend to these without delay.

We hope that we have been successful in making your honeymoon a memorable one…… and that you will be visiting us for many more years to come to celebrate and relive your very special moments, time and time again with us.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Fabulous hotel, great service. We had a wonderful stay made even better with a surprise upgrade to the Royal Suite which was a really stunning room with a creative mix of old and new and loads of space, a great deck and outdoor spa and lounger - Highly recommended! Arun really made our stay unforgettable. We dined out one night and later kicked ourselves as the food and surrounds are hard to beat at the hotel so kick back and relax. If you don't manage to get in here then I suggest you make a reservation for diner and have a look around the hotel - A lovely example of a restored colonial building with amazing italian floors and some cool fittings (check out the ceiling fans!)

Room Tip: Royal Suite was very impressive and is a real treat after a harrowing road trip. A massive space tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank placibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
The very fact that we have received a review such as yours makes us proud, because it means we have been successful in helping you to have an enjoyable and relaxing stay while at CASA Colombo. Thank you so very much.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the upgrade to the Royal Suite, and that you enjoyed the food we had to offer you. Your nice comments regarding the design of CASA Colombo brought a smile to each and every member of our Team.

So, are we going to see you again at CASA Colombo? We sure are looking forward to it….. and hope it will be real soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I arrived at Casa Colombo at 7 AM and didn’t have a reservation until later that same day. However, the staff was very helpful and invited us to rest on the hotels well-designed couches in the hotel’s garden. The style of the hotel is a combination of the old, Sri Lankan villa and a bold, modern ‘Barcelona style’ design. It’s fun! The architect has played with colors, materials, and light creating a myriad of different impressions and experiences. For instance, the washbasins in the rooms are free standing and water runs from a flat steel surface, not from an ordinary tap. Under the bed there is a bright red light (which you can turn off!) – but it gives a curious disco effect. Next to the small pool in the garden, there is a basin with steel balls floating on the surface – a small spring causing them to move in intricate patterns. Overall it is a well designed experience, maybe a little dated, but still it works. The staff is cheerful and helpful, the food is excellent and inexpensive. We felt comfortable and enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiljeKamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
The best part of being in the hospitality business is knowing that your guests have had an enjoyable stay with you, and this has been proved to us by your lovely review of CASA Colombo.

You may be interested to learn that the architect responsible for this beautifully restored and designed hotel, is none other than our CEO himself, and he will be very happy to read your wonderful comments.

Please come again and stay with us…… and let us pamper you in luxury once again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Without exception this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

The rooms are unbelievable, unlike other hotels, the pictures one their website are a true representation of what you get.

The service is excellent, professional and friendly.

I was honestly sad to leave.

Room Tip: Corporate Suites include, MacBook, printer, scanner etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_K_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
We too are sad when our guests leave us, especially since most of you become close friends to us during your stay at CASA Colombo. We always strive to give you the most personalized service that we can offer, and it is another feather in our cap if we have been successful in this.

Thank you very much for the review…… and please come again, we would love to have you back at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This place was almost too good to be true. Our mouths dropped open when we were shown our room, and pretty much stayed that way for the duration of our stay! The service is above and beyond what I've ever experienced before, and as we were missing breakfast for an early night, we were packed off with a breakfast box, and booked taxi, all arranged for us, even before we asked... The rooms were original, fun and luxurious, and worth every penny. This is a hotel I will remember for years to come :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonfrancoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you!! What a great review of CASA Colombo!

We are so happy that we have been able to make your stay such a memorable one, and hope that you will not only remember us for years to come, but will visit us again and again, and give us the opportunity to offer you that extra special treatment that is signature to CASA Colombo.

By the way, arranging a take-away breakfast and taxi for you was something we did from our heart, and anticipating your needs and catering to them is our way of showing you how special you are to us.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I'm a bit surprised at the level of service at the restaurant of this hotel. While I concur with the other reviewers rave reviews of this hotel and its facilities, the times we went to use the restaurant for lunch staff seemed to melt away, on one occasion we had to stand up and follow them around to get their attention ! We could have easily walked out without paying the bill and they would not have noticed. Very very long service times too.
Not very impressed with that.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NightWhispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Having read your comments about the good food makes us happy, but it is by no means good enough for us if we have let you down. A memorable impression can only be given if the service is right and as we strive to constantly excel in customer service, we have worked on the service lapses and rest assured that we are back to the service level we are known for.

Personally I hope I will see you again soon at CASA Colombo

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd | Bambalapitiya, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vantage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing